We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff saved the day!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1B9, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Staff saved the day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Mom and I were on a trip to Seattle and I decided to drive her up to Vancouver for a day/night since she'd never been to Canada. I booked the Empire Landmark hotel on a whim thru an online booking site. I knew it was right on Robson Street and close to English Bay. Perfect location.

Apparently, I didn't read the fine print because we arrived to find that the electricity was going to be shut off for 6-8 hours due to some construction. The hotel had decided to do so in the middle of the night which sounds fine except there would be no heat and it was about 35degrees (F) out. My facial expression must have given away my shock because the front desk person immediately asked if I wanted a refund. I told him that this was mom's first visit to Vancouver and I wanted it to be nice. He said he would do his best and offered a room with a view and high floor (away from construction), free breakfast, extra blankets, flashlights and then told security (right then and there) that they should patrol our floor every 20 - 30 min. We took the chance. I'm glad we did. Our view of the bay was wonderful. The room was a bit dated but clean. We went up to the revolving restaurant for dinner and had a wonderful meal with an amazing view of the city. We didn't even notice the power outage as we slept thru it (12midnight to 6am). The breakfast was decent. Then we strolled Robson Street again before moving on to more siteseeing. Everyone at that hotel was cordial and accomodating - securtiy, front desk, cleaning crew, store clerk....everyone. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    265
    186
    89
    54
See reviews for
88
227
77
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We have been there and wanted to stay for one night in Vancouver to explore the city, what we got was the most terrible experience we ever had.
First we asked for a space in their parking lot, the receptionist told us that we should take all our belongings with us and leave nothing in the car. This sounded a bit strange to us since the space is 40 Dollars per day but we where convinced that this warning is necessary. When we drove in the parking lot which was winding and barely lighted we saw a lot of odd peoples hanging around, some looked homeless and some where Asian, sitting on the floor (god knows why) eating.
Next Highlight was the room, there where a lot of stains on our duvet cover and while the shower was broken, we where welcomed by some silverfishes and other insects. Also there was a strong urine-smell.
To put things short: if you wanna stay in a hotel without the danger of getting really sick, stay away!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The rooms are old, the beds uncomfortable and the bathroom had black stains all over the counter top. The view was amazing from Cloud 9 but the food wasnt worth half what we paid for it.
I only took my credit card out once in Vancouver, to pay for this hotel and subsequently $2,500 was fraudulently charged to it. I have no proof that the hotel stole the information but it seems awfully likely to me. So this is a note of caution for future travellers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Empire Landmark is a bit on the tired side but benefits from a superb downtown location. We stayed in a double room with another couple which was very cozy - no queens, only double beds. There was crazy loud sounds from the plumbing in the walls at random hours. We brought earplugs given the propensity for snoring among our group so this didn't bother us through the night (but would have w/o the plugs). Was very annoyed that ice is only available between 8am-10pm in a locked room (along with laundry and a vending machine). 10 is pretty early. Views are amazing, staff was very pleasant. Highly recommend reflexology treatment available in the Te-ate "spa" in the lobby. Had an amazing treatment from "Mr" - cured my sore feet (from too much shopping) and my indigestion (from too much indulgence). Probably wouldn't choose this hotel again - and only if able to stay in a room with larger beds.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ND
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I spent 7 days at the Empire Landmark in Nov 2013. From the advance reservations (thru Amtrak), to the room rate, to the lobby/reception area and final registration the facility and service were outstanding. The location is on a main street and central in a large city. Taxi, Limo, rental services are readily available. Our room on the 28th floor was very comfortable and clean with a glass sliding door wall and balcony overlooking the city and harbor! Superior view at a superior rate! The only room negative is the dated carpet and heat/A-C fan 24 hrs a day! The beds are comfortable. The revolving top floor dining facility serves excellent and plentiful evening dinners in a clean and efficient environment at prices comparable to any fine dining facility. And the views are spectacular! About the only thing we would like to have seen is a main floor cafe' for breakfast and lunches. There are numerous choices within 2 blocks! Mostly Asian cuisine however. Free WiFi would be nice - but also nice to be away from it!! Parking is not free, but reasonable, however it is in the building and exceptionally convenient with elevators too! (PS: Room comes with seagulls on the rail for wildlife entertainment!) On registration you will need to provide a credit card and photo ID or deposit for phone or other room charges if used. We highly recommend this facility for the price.

Room Tip: The higher the better for views. Secure elevators and rooms with electronic card reader.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Its well located Central downtown, they charged 200 USD deposit, room had old toilet and carpet. View from the room(22 floor) was breathtaking. Restaurant was too old at the top floor. Not a bad stay for the duration, location and price

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, BC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Our room was large, 3011, I love the fact that older hotels have balcony's and sliding doors to open and get real air, the bed was fine with nice cozy comforters. Yes it could be updated somewhat but the price was amazing. Location is excellent, Friday night was noisy with young people on balcony and hall and people slamming doors, but Saturday night was peaceful. Now here is the funny part, we just got into our room and literally the door fell off the top hinge, screws sticking out and all, but it was fixed immediately. We couldn't get the TV to work, realized no room service but you can always order from restaurants close by. Next morning the toilet wouldn't flush, which was fixed when we returned. And the shower could use a new head, not a big expense, it was like holding your head under the tap, but it was a hot shower, We just laughed at it all. The View was to die for, love downtown Vancouver. We were there for a trade show, so didn't spend much time in the room. A friend had another smaller room next door.
Front desk service was great, don't take Jock too serious, he has been there for many years, and inside that man is humor, we just smothered him with it. Thanks Jock

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 1400 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1B9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Landmark Hotel Vancouver
Empire Landmark Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.