We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1B9, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel was great. When we decided to go to Vancouver, we did not anticipate the high cost of hotel downtown. Our only other option was to stay near the airport which was very inconvenient. Luckily I came across the Empire Landmark. This hotel doesn't have all the nice amenities but it does have a great location. On one side, there's all the shops on Robson and then on the other, there's all the Korean/Chinese food. It's a great location if you don't have a car and want to just explore downtown Vancouver. It is also a short walk to Stanley Park and Canada place. We had a room on the 15th floor and had a wonderful view of the water.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    245
    169
    85
    53
See reviews for
79
209
75
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I booked this hotel through lastminute.com and I think it was the cheapest hotel I could find without a shared bathroom! It proved to be great value - it has a wonderful location, the view from our room on the 28th floor was terrific, and happily our room was also very clean. The hotel is admittedly rather dated but it would take considerable investment to turn that around and that's probably not going to happen anytime soon.

One criticism would be that the staff weren't great. As a treat we decided to visit the breakfast buffet on the top floor (more for the potential view than anything else). We were however unfortunately treated in quite an off-hand manner, despite it being 10.05am - 25 mins before the advertised end of breakfast. The message was "what you see is what you will get and more food won't be appearing" but it could have been delivered in a far friendlier fashion. We decided not to bother and went to The Templeton on Granville St instead (which was superb).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was my 3rd trip to Vancouver and decided we wanted to stay close to Stanley park and the other end of town to explore more of what it has to offer.

When we checked in there was only one check in agent who was rather slow and the line was very long. It took ages to be checked in and sent to our room.

Our room was on the 35th floor and the lifts worked really well not much waiting around. The room is dated and the beds were hard and you only got 1 pillow on each bed (we stayed in a twin room) I have never seen that before in a hotel. The rooms were clean (except for one window of the room that had the blinds pulled over it and was never opened) and the view was really nice over the water from the balcony however the bathroom was rather small and very old.

There was a fridge in the room which was good and also the towels were really soft for a hotel which I like.

We did go to the hotel on level 42 for breakfast, it was decently priced with great views but I did not really like all of the food.

I would not stay at this hotel again unless they did a refurb and updated the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with water views if you do decide to stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We started off our honeymoon here and were quite disappointed with two things.
The first was the lack of modern amenities at the hotel. Room service was not available. Rooms were very spacious and had decent views.
But on the topic of views, I'd not reccomend the resturaunt at the top. Sure the views nice, but the food is ridiculously small portions and the drinks are bloody expensive. Not to mention you cant order any food past 10pm. We waited one night for an hour and five minutes for our bill, and the waitress seemed highly irritated at our presence there.

Bad form empire landmark, bad form!

Room Tip: Don't go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

10 of us started our 14 day vacation with this hotel. Some of us got a view of the water--where there was fireworks show that night. Beautiful view from our balcony. Hotel was nice, nothing special but all we wanted was a clean room as we only stayed 2 nights. It was walking distance from various restaurants. I would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The hotel is in a great location and the bed was comfortable. However the reception staff were very rude and unfriendly, the hotel has the air of terminal decline and the restaurant prices are laughable for the quality provided even with the discount voucher provided by the hotel. Just smile your way through check in and check out and eat in any of the good coffee shops and restaurants nearby and the hotel provides a good base for central Vancouver

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

I called this hotel after being charged incorrectly on our credit card. We had called to check on a hotel room that overlooked the parade, pride weekend. We were told that a Robson street view could not be guaranteed. After some discussion the staff member we were speaking with said she would talk to her manager about guaranteeing that we would over look Robson. We gave her our old credit card number without expiration since it was expired. We were told to call back in the morning if we were going to take this room, with our new expiration date. At this time we would get a confirmation number and details regarding our room. We decided to book somewhere else and never did return that phone call. We were charged anyways! When I called to explain the situation and ask why we were charged the woman who answered the phone was the most ignorant and arrogant person I have ever spoken to. I told her the situation and she interrupted and told me "too bad, you are paying for it" and basically told me I was a liar. I had asked for a manager and was ignored, at the end of this conversation the staff member actually hung up the phone when I was still talking. Disgusted with the customer service here. And charged for something without permission. I will be contacting visa since obviously the hotel is rude and unreasonable. I sure wouldn't give these people my credit card information, they had to guess my expiry to charge me, since I never gave them that portion. Theft is a crime......

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 1400 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1B9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Landmark Hotel Vancouver
Empire Landmark Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.