We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, Yet Clean and Working” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1B9, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Old, Yet Clean and Working”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is definitely an older one, but everything was clean and in working condition. You can tell that even though the base infrastructure belongs to a by-gone era (narrow hallways, tiny rooms), money has been invested to keep things nice. The room itself was nicely furnished. Yes, the bed was a boxspring, but I had no problem falling asleep on it after a day of wandering. And the pillows and sheets were every bit as nice as more expensive hotels. I was unable to get the ancient heating/cooling system to push in much fresh air to the room, but I solved that problem by just leaving the door to the balcony open.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    320
    219
    101
    60
See reviews for
113
275
89
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed on a recent overnight business trip. Hotel is in a great spot on Robson Street - even managed to find a surprisingly delicious dinner (gotta love the short ribs) at a small Korean restaurant a half block away after 12:00 midnight! Hotel is very central to anything you might need in Vancouver, public transport is everywhere, so no car needed if you have central downtown or West end business. Staff was helpful and pleasant. Nice decor. Room was small but clean, quiet and functional. Balcony is very nice extra if you don't have fear of heights :):) Views of the city were terrific. I was there on an extremely cold Spring evening and the room was heated to the perfect temperature, kept me snuggly without overheating all night long. Awoke refreshed and ready for my day. The beds are on the harder side, so if you like a really plush pillow top mattress, this is not the case. I don't mind a firm bed though, so was fine. Overall, would definitely go back and would be happy to stay for more than one night. Good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Very nice and helpful staff. Hotel could use a renovation, but overall not too bad. We were on the 11th floor. The rooms were clean but dated. For the price we paid is an excellent value. Close to Stanley Park and to Downtown close to all amenities. We did not go to the restaurant on the 25th floor, but I think the view will be splendid. Lots of shopping and restaurants around the hotel. I would stay there again.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitecourt, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I spent four nights here in March 2013 to attend a conference at another hotel nearby. The Empire represents good value and an excellent location for anyone visiting Downtown Vancouver. Its on Robson Street which is the heart of the shopping district and is four blocks (about 10 minutes walk) from the Bayshore.
The rooms are basic and some are in need of an update, but given the location and price its well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I think this was a "good deal" hotel. Centrally located to shopping and just a few minute walk to beautiful English Bay. This hotel was clean, bed was adequate, and the view from my 36 floor was wonderful and expansive (180 unobstructed view of the city, and the ocean). I have to say the room was noisy as it howled with the wind through out the night (I must say it was very windy that night). Overall, this hotel was a great value at $87 with the taxes. The staff was very nice and very accommodating. When I checked in, they told me I would get an upgrade, "triple upgrade" he said. The room had a coffee maker, a fridge and a sink. The shower was good, I usually find Vancouver water pressure to be a bit on the anemic side, but this room seemed to have that extra little burst of power to make the shower enjoyable. the bathtub was longer than most hotel bathtubs which made it nice to have a bath. They even gave me complimentary bubble bath with my room. Very nice touch. The property is on the older side, and could use a make over... But overall, it was a bargain if you consider the location.

Room Tip: Try and find the room with that ends in 01. In other words.. you want to be facing West. or North...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Nice hotel, good location. Rooms were clean, if a little basic, could do with a little more storage space. Great views, especially from the restaurant. Reception were helpful with booking taxis and giving information.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Emilia-Romagna, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Central location and great view for affordable prices. You overlook the whole city with harbour and Englisch bay, breakfast is served in the roof top restaurant, which also has a lounge area (don´t miss to see Vancouver by night!). The rooms are just standard, nothing special, but clean and o.k. Walking distance to almost every sight seeing spot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver
Downtown
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#69 of 96 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
#60 of 96 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#40 of 96 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Downtown
Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street
Greenbrier Hotel
#65 of 96 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 1400 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1B9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Landmark Hotel Vancouver
Empire Landmark Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.