We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 10 more sites!
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1B9, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 96 hotels in Vancouver
San Diego, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It's all about location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here for New Year's weekend, and was very happy about being close to Stanley Park, the waterfront, 005 Robson buses, Burrard Station, a Safeway, and a million restaurants. The service was also very professional, and the front desk was ready to take on what admit to be many requests by my group. The room itself was about average, with the best feature being the small outdoor patio and spectacular view of the Vancouver skyline. I would recommend this hotel for business guests who want a fine central location without paying an arm and a leg.

Room Tip: Rooms facing North or East will have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    214
    145
    80
    50
See reviews for
58
177
65
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Empire Landmark for 2 nights during a spontaneous trip to Vancouver from Seattle. Considering we booked the hotel 12 hours before we arrived and got a nice discount on Expedia, we were satisfied with the accommodations and thought we got what we paid for. It's by no means luxurious, but it's not priced to be. The room is average size with dated features, but it's clean and we had a spectacular view of downtown from our room. The hallways are small, and the elevator to the parking garage seems a bit sketchy, but again, decent for what we paid for. Also, nice location as it is walking distance to downtown, Granville, Davie street, etc meaning you don't have to spend all your time in the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. The room (and the hotel in general) was worn and dated. The beds were comfortable, but there were stains on the threadbare carpet, and everything seemed a little dusty. Our room had a little wet-bar, which was a nice surprise. There are some nice views from the upper floors. Generally quiet. Amenities are sparse. There are balconies, but they aren't spacious or comfortable to spend time in.

Location is alright - a quiet part of downtown. Easy walk to Stanley Park (10 mins), English Bay (15 mins), and Robson Shopping (10 mins). A few restaurants and cafes nearby (many of them Asian-themed). A little hard to get to by public transit (not near a skytrain station, need to take a bus or walk 20 mins).

In essence, it's a budget hotel at a budget price. Doesn't really stand out in any way. Too bad - you can tell it's seen better days.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a little weekend trip. Based on other reviews I thought it would be a good central place to stay.
Since we traveled in the winter the price was pretty low and there was not as much to do around the hotel. It is right on the main street with some shops near by.
We parked our car in the parking garage and took the elevator to our room. When we checked out of the hotel we tried taking the stairs to our car but there is a lack of labeling to indicate a floor or which way to parking versus the lobby.
The room had an okay bed and bathroom. Everything was clean and tidy. It had a good size HD tv but the room did not include Wifi internet (additional price). I was a little disappointed at that. There is a internet cafe across the street for those who do not want to pay a lot for in room wifi.
For amenities, it has a cool revolving top floor restaurant and bar. On a clear day there is probably a great views of the city that change as you eat or drink. Unfortunately, it was foggy when we were there. The drinks at the bar are tasty and worth the price. Also the hotel has a fair workout room. If I had to choose though I would rather have a spa/hot tub over a workout room.
Overall this hotel is good for the price and in the summer is probably a little more fun. Along with the rest of the city. It is pretty central to the city and is brief walk or easy taxi or car ride to many of the downtown shopping or attractions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My friends and I held a birthday bash for our friend here and had a great time. We chose the hotel for its value, but it was also clean, roomy rooms (lol) and a great location. Right on Robson! And pretty close to Granville, so we had a good time going out!
The views were pretty amazing as well, overall it was a ton of fun!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This hotel is just right if you want to be downtown at a reasonable price. Set towards the quieter part of Robson St it is perfect for expolring on foot what Vancouver has to offer.

Rooms are of an adequate size and quality and as the hotel is very high most have good views. Mine had an absorbing view towards the north, the harbour and the city's ski slopes.

I was pleasingly surprised by the hotel's rotating restaurant on the top floor where at the bar section I managed to get some hot snacks and a local beer late one evening whilst taking in the 360 degree city skyline panorama. If you are staying at the hotel you do not pay the cover charge which I think to non-residents is $11 per person. So, it is a popular venue on Fridays and weekend evenings for locals and tourists a-like.

On the downside, the hotel has an air of slight neglect/tiredness. This might have been due to my stay being mid-January and maybe the lobby area and ambience is better in other seasons? Check in was fine, but check out was a slow process with a long queue and only one receptionist who spent quite a while dealing with a couple of people who had problems and complications whilst the queue lengthened. Short of staff/economizing at weekends?

On balance; good value and will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I recently stayed for a 5 night trip in Vancouver. The Empire Landmark was the hotel chosen by a conference I was with, so I chose to stay there as well. Prices were very reasonable, and the view was beautiful (for the couple hours the sun came out that week!).

The positives include a friendly staff, good location, comfortable beds, and decent TVs fridges etc.

The negatives for me were no pool or hot tub, parking was not included (I guess this is standard in Vancouver?!?), heating unit was noisy and some fan speeds didn't work at all.

I haven't tried other hotels at this price point so I don't know how it compares, but I will likely not be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center

Also Known As:
Empire Landmark Hotel Vancouver
Empire Landmark Hotel
Empire Landmark Vancouver
Address: 1400 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1B9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 96 hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.