We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD FOR A SHORT TRIP” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1B9, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 96 hotels in Vancouver
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“GOOD FOR A SHORT TRIP”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This hotel is just right if you want to be downtown at a reasonable price. Set towards the quieter part of Robson St it is perfect for expolring on foot what Vancouver has to offer.

Rooms are of an adequate size and quality and as the hotel is very high most have good views. Mine had an absorbing view towards the north, the harbour and the city's ski slopes.

I was pleasingly surprised by the hotel's rotating restaurant on the top floor where at the bar section I managed to get some hot snacks and a local beer late one evening whilst taking in the 360 degree city skyline panorama. If you are staying at the hotel you do not pay the cover charge which I think to non-residents is $11 per person. So, it is a popular venue on Fridays and weekend evenings for locals and tourists a-like.

On the downside, the hotel has an air of slight neglect/tiredness. This might have been due to my stay being mid-January and maybe the lobby area and ambience is better in other seasons? Check in was fine, but check out was a slow process with a long queue and only one receptionist who spent quite a while dealing with a couple of people who had problems and complications whilst the queue lengthened. Short of staff/economizing at weekends?

On balance; good value and will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    213
    144
    80
    50
See reviews for
58
177
65
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I recently stayed for a 5 night trip in Vancouver. The Empire Landmark was the hotel chosen by a conference I was with, so I chose to stay there as well. Prices were very reasonable, and the view was beautiful (for the couple hours the sun came out that week!).

The positives include a friendly staff, good location, comfortable beds, and decent TVs fridges etc.

The negatives for me were no pool or hot tub, parking was not included (I guess this is standard in Vancouver?!?), heating unit was noisy and some fan speeds didn't work at all.

I haven't tried other hotels at this price point so I don't know how it compares, but I will likely not be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We found this hotel well located for a walk along Robson Street and pretty handy to the inner city. It also had a nice room with a good view, the staff were helpful and everything worked so we were pretty happy. The only black mark was the overnight carparking for which we were charged C$15.

Room Tip: I should imagine most of the rooms have a good view as it is a very tall hotel. North looks over Sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here on our wedding night. The room was dated and our air conditioner was not working. We asked to change rooms but they didn't have anything available so they brought us a portable fan. It helped but we were not too comfortable. For the second night they did move us and upgraded our room so it kind of made up for the uncomfortable night sleep before.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Excellent location. We took the train to Waterfront from airport, hopped on a bus and were there in 20 minutes. Room is small but it was clean and staff helpful. There are nice restaurants and a liquor store nearby. Nice view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

There is nothing much about this hotel besides some great rates. Location is a little off the shopping area of downtown Vancouver. Hotel room is poorly decorated and amenities are standard budget hotel type. Parking available but I don't know how secure parking is.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regencos, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Very good hotel at a reasonable price in downtown Vancouver. Gorgeus view from room window and balcon. Excelent service and large super confortable beds. The point that could be better is the breakfast buffet quality / price relation. In any case highly recommended, Ramon Raventos Blanc, Barcelona, Spain.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors, I was on the 33rd facing sea and park and the views were specta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center

Also Known As:
Empire Landmark Hotel Vancouver
Empire Landmark Hotel
Empire Landmark Vancouver
Address: 1400 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1B9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 96 hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.