We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1B9, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 97 Hotels in Vancouver
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great location. Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I have been going to Vancouver for 25 years and have been wanting to try the Empire Landmark on Robson Street, but had not until the last trip.

We arrived in Vancouver @ 7:00 AM off a cruise ship and needed a hotel for one night. The Landmark was reasonably priced for Vancouver, and is often fully booked so we tried it.

We arrived very early, but pre-registered and were able to check our baggage without any problems. We returned around 1 PM and the room was ready and we were quickly wisked to the room on the 16th floor with a great view of English Bay.

Everything was in good order ( the kitchenette was not fitted for use beyond the fridge/microwave) and comfortable. WiFi was good but a bit weird as it was set up for use by floor and we were unable to use it from the lobby prior to physically checking in.

Apparently this is a popular hotel for the cruise ships. We like it becaise we like to be on Robson and close to Stanley Park.

I would absloutely use the hotel again. Very often the travel sites indicate this as being unavailable, but in future I would call directly, as room might still be available.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    235
    162
    84
    52
See reviews for
74
204
73
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is in a good location. A few steps from the busy part of Robson, but still easy to get around.

The rooms are big and roomy, but looking worn and tired. The beds were not comfortable and I had a spring that kept poking me.

The balconies do give a stunning view of the city :)

all in all.. we got the $80 pricetag we paid for the room.

Room Tip: the higher up, the better the balcony view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Convenient Robson Street location. Great views from my high floor room. The room was plain but large and the bed was comfortable. Public areas in definite need of refurbishing - exteriors to room doors badly scuffed, etc. The only real negative was a very noisy heater in the room. Room amenities were sparse with the bathroom towels clearly having been through the laundry many too many times. Checkin and checkout were inefficient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelowna
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I can honestly say one of the worst hotels I have stayed at. Anyone marking it must have had a vastly different room to me. I asked for one bed, thinking a Queen size. No, I got two doubles. This bed was very hard. I had to take the quilt from the other bed in the middle of the night to make some type of cushion between myself and the mattress. The light switches were filthy. The bolt that swung across the door was just about falling off. Wallpaper was old and the bathroom.. tiny. Housekeeping was fast but gave me a dirty look. TERRIBLE

Room Tip: Inspect the room first and don't be afraid to return to front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Firstly let me state that this was booked for me by work. Rooms are massive and comfortable. Views from the rooms are awesome. However, it is a bit dated inside, but if you can overlook this then a good value base for Vancouver. Took a while to get hot water in the shower but came eventually. Excellent food options nearby, and the revolving bar on the 42nd floor is a great place for a nightcap. Probably wouldn't stay here again on my own back unless there was a really good deal, but wasn't a bad stay by any measure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel is very nice although a little rough around the edges as it needs to be upgraded due to age. It's close to all amenities right downtown Vancouver. We asked for a room on a high floor and got one on the 27th storey with a beautiful view of Stanley Park and English Bay.
It was a very standard room with a balcony, king size bed, coffee machine, quite large fridge, and bathroom. It was half of the price of many of the hotels downtown, very comfortable and the view was outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I staid for 6 days in this hotel, hotel location in best place in downtown (Robson street) near from Stanley Park, from beach, from Vancouver Lookout, all of them you can go by walk.
Hotel's rooms are clean, The lobby is very nice to set and had coffee.

The view from balcony was awesome (view on Stanley Park and ocean).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 1400 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1B9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Landmark Hotel Vancouver
Empire Landmark Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.