We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worn but convenient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1B9, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worn but convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Convenient Robson Street location. Great views from my high floor room. The room was plain but large and the bed was comfortable. Public areas in definite need of refurbishing - exteriors to room doors badly scuffed, etc. The only real negative was a very noisy heater in the room. Room amenities were sparse with the bathroom towels clearly having been through the laundry many too many times. Checkin and checkout were inefficient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    288
    204
    95
    56
See reviews for
95
248
86
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kelowna
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I can honestly say one of the worst hotels I have stayed at. Anyone marking it must have had a vastly different room to me. I asked for one bed, thinking a Queen size. No, I got two doubles. This bed was very hard. I had to take the quilt from the other bed in the middle of the night to make some type of cushion between myself and the mattress. The light switches were filthy. The bolt that swung across the door was just about falling off. Wallpaper was old and the bathroom.. tiny. Housekeeping was fast but gave me a dirty look. TERRIBLE

Room Tip: Inspect the room first and don't be afraid to return to front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Firstly let me state that this was booked for me by work. Rooms are massive and comfortable. Views from the rooms are awesome. However, it is a bit dated inside, but if you can overlook this then a good value base for Vancouver. Took a while to get hot water in the shower but came eventually. Excellent food options nearby, and the revolving bar on the 42nd floor is a great place for a nightcap. Probably wouldn't stay here again on my own back unless there was a really good deal, but wasn't a bad stay by any measure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops
Level Contributor
110 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel is very nice although a little rough around the edges as it needs to be upgraded due to age. It's close to all amenities right downtown Vancouver. We asked for a room on a high floor and got one on the 27th storey with a beautiful view of Stanley Park and English Bay.
It was a very standard room with a balcony, king size bed, coffee machine, quite large fridge, and bathroom. It was half of the price of many of the hotels downtown, very comfortable and the view was outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I staid for 6 days in this hotel, hotel location in best place in downtown (Robson street) near from Stanley Park, from beach, from Vancouver Lookout, all of them you can go by walk.
Hotel's rooms are clean, The lobby is very nice to set and had coffee.

The view from balcony was awesome (view on Stanley Park and ocean).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
241 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Bit pricey and a bit too far down Robson, but this is a fantastic hotel albeit a bit older now. Rooms are spacious for the area. Beds are very comfortable, pillows fantastic. Rooms looked a bit older. Surprised by the cathode ray TV still in the closet. Bathroom was clean but a bit dated. Wifi was faster than I thought. Beautiful views from the rotating restaurant on the 42nd floor. Service was great downstairs, check-in/out efficient, concierge was knowledgeable, even helping with a road map to drive to Washington. 5/5 overall.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the Empire Landmark and i'm happy that we didn't stayed longer in this accommodation. the location is really central and good for discover the city by feet. the view from our room was awesome and the bed was huge and comfortable. unfortunately the bathroom is a little old. we had problems with the sink and shower, after using them the floor was flooded.. for the price we payed i think the WiFi should be for free or at least possible to use more than 1 device and also the receptionist should be more friendly and motivated..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 1400 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1B9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Landmark Hotel Vancouver
Empire Landmark Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.