We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I think this hotel is great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1B9, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“I think this hotel is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Bit pricey and a bit too far down Robson, but this is a fantastic hotel albeit a bit older now. Rooms are spacious for the area. Beds are very comfortable, pillows fantastic. Rooms looked a bit older. Surprised by the cathode ray TV still in the closet. Bathroom was clean but a bit dated. Wifi was faster than I thought. Beautiful views from the rotating restaurant on the 42nd floor. Service was great downstairs, check-in/out efficient, concierge was knowledgeable, even helping with a road map to drive to Washington. 5/5 overall.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    210
    145
    80
    48
See reviews for
62
189
68
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the Empire Landmark and i'm happy that we didn't stayed longer in this accommodation. the location is really central and good for discover the city by feet. the view from our room was awesome and the bed was huge and comfortable. unfortunately the bathroom is a little old. we had problems with the sink and shower, after using them the floor was flooded.. for the price we payed i think the WiFi should be for free or at least possible to use more than 1 device and also the receptionist should be more friendly and motivated..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel is a real find! It is situated at the top end of Robson Street, close to shops and restaurants. The service is really attentive and the staff are helpful and knowledgeable. Superb concierge service also! The rooms are well upholstered and furnished. Although they are not state of the art "glass and chrome" finished type of rooms they are classical well appointed- including the rather quirky showers (variable temp but fixed flow rates!). The rooms also feature a full sized refrigerator and a real coffee making machine (pity about the creamer supplied, instead of milk containers, though!).
To top it all, there is the cocktail bar and Cloud Nine Restaurant, situated on floor 42, where drinkers and diners revolve at a statley pace of 360 degrees per hour!

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony and views of the downtown, Englsih Bay, Stanley Park or North Vancouver (mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here before and after our Alaska Cruise. Great location close to main shopping belt,eateries and Stanley Park. Great location as a base when exploring the town centre. With a car this will not be convenient. Cheaper place outside town and free car park especially if intentions is to get out of town.

Room Tip: Great for 2-3 days for exploring Vancouver downtown on public transport. Bus stop just outside the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the Empire Landmark for 3 nights. I can't comment on value for money here, as we were given this hotel free of charge when our flights were rescheduled.
The rooms are fairly basic but they had all we needed. What makes this hotel special are the stunning views. We were on the 36th floor facing Stanley Park. We were thrilled with the rooms we were given for this reason.
The location is excellent, close to shops and restaurants and also the park. The check in staff were very helpful. We had drinks in the bar on the 42nd floor, which was very nice, but we didn't eat there.
The only reason I am not giving this hotel 5 stars is that we had to pay for wi-fi. I don't know how a previous reviewer got wi-fi for free, we were charged $9 a day for it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

I've recently had a 5 day stay at this hotel. Well located on the Robson street, which has many restaurants and shopping centers nearby. In front of the hotel, there is a bus stop, from there you may get to the city center within minutes. The hotel has free wifi service even in the guest rooms, which is a big positive. Our room was clean, well designed with large beds and a very nice view (30th floor). Overall, I recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning to visit Vancouver.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Excellent location at the top end of Robson Street close to Stanley Park and a 10 minute walk to English bay with the Hop-on Hop-off city tour stopping outside. Our room was clean and comfortable located on the 36th floor with great views looking out over English bay towards Grouse Mountain and Stanley Park – TIP when booking request a high level floor.
The staff are nonchalant, surly and unfriendly – there was only one person on the desk when we booked in who was left to check-in a whole coach load of visitors!! The revolving restaurant at the top of the building is worth visiting just to admire the views but not to eat as its over priced for what is average cuisine at best. The décor is dated as is the uncomfortable furniture with ripped coverings and scratched tables – shamefully neglected as it has so much potential.

Room Tip: If you don't suffer with Vertigo request a high level room for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 1400 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1B9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Landmark Hotel Vancouver
Empire Landmark Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.