We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel chosen for location only” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Buchan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Buchan Hotel to your Saves list
Buchan Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1906 Haro St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1H7, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hotel chosen for location only”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This venue is not for the hotel connoisseur – the whole building is very out of date and not particularly clean. It is also unsuitable for people with accessibility requirements or significant amounts of luggage, as there are steep steps to enter the building and no lifts. I’ve stayed here twice (at the beginning and end of a round-trip), and on both occasions the rooms were cramped and had malfunctioning lights and power outlets. The carpets are dirty and worn out, and the wallpaper and paint is peeling off of surfaces (this refers to the rooms and the lobby/corridors). The sole reason for staying at this hotel is for the location – it is less than 5 minutes from Stanley Park, Downtown and a key area of the English Bay beach, and has good restaurants nearby. Other hotels in the area are more expensive as you are paying for quality as well as the location; the Buchan is merely a roof over your head at night and a place to leave your suitcase whilst you explore beautiful Vancouver. Only stay here if you’re willing to sacrifice luxury in order to get a prime location.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room with an en-suite bathroom. The stairwell is hard to negotiate - try to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanhotel, General Manager at Buchan Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. This coming winter, in fact, 1 month from today, we're going to be giving the Buchan a good paint job, brightening the place up. As well every winter we do replace as many worn carpets as we can. The Buchan being 90 years old does require a constant eye, and I do apologize if your room missed mine this time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    73
    53
    16
    8
See reviews for
30
83
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duncan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel is old enough to be charming, quite clean enough to be comfortable and with a location to die for - quiet but incredibly close to beaches, parks, restaurants....

The staff were pleasant and helpful and barring loud landing doors, it was perfect.

We'll go back in a heart beat and recommend it to friends with confidence.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are ensuite, in future I'd be "brave" enough to try one of those too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanhotel, General Manager at Buchan Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Regarding the landing doors, I've just insulated (last week) all of the landing doors, so I'm hoping they'll be much quieter on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

With all hotels in vancouver being jammed packed the weekend we had to be there, there was one room left at the buchan! We were kinda weary about staying there, but as soon as we arrived they let us check in 3 HOURS EARLY!!! the staff was so friendly, sweet, nice and caring! We went upstairs to find they put an extra fan in our room, the room was also very tidy, clean, and fresh! The hotel had lots of character, and charm. For $150 a night you get what you pay for, along with the staff making you feel right at home!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanhotel, Manager at Buchan Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. As the General Manager I'm proud of the staff at The Buchan Hotel and I know how hard they work to make our guests comfortable, but it's always nice to hear it from guests.

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here on a Saturday for my birthday weekend. (Also during Festival of Lights) everywhere near granville street was completely booked up and way overpriced. So I googled up this little place, only an 8min cab ride to granville. We retired that night to sheets that smelt of B.O. and must...my boyfriend and I woke up the following morning to find tiny little bite marks surrounding our ankles, and several on either of our arms and neck in a linear line. (Bedbugs) never would I stay in this place again. Dirty, and unhygienic. I had to completely disinfect, boil etc. all my clothes & belongings. Not to mention these unsightly contagious looking bites all over us...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanhotel, Manager at Buchan Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. I would like to make a few comments though. As you may have heard bedbugs have become a very common problem in hotels around North America. In response to this the Buchan Hotel has a very strict procedure we follow regarding bed bugs. First, our housekeeping staff have been trained to identify signs of bedbugs. If there is any indication in a room we immediately take that room out of service and a certified commercial pest control company inspects not only that room, but any rooms adjacent. If confirmed, the room is treated, and then kept out of service until a follow up inspection can be made. Once we have received an "all clear" from our pest control company (Orkin) or we have acted upon any recommendations the inspector might make, we will not rent that room.

Additionally, we have monitoring traps in literally hundreds of locations around the hotel. we have invested in mattress and boxspring covers recommended by professionals to prevent bedbugs.

This is the first report of bedbugs we have had at The Buchan Hotel this year, and all of our inspection reports are available for anyone to see upon request.

I am sorry you have had this experience, but I can assure you it was an isolated case and that The Buchan Hotel takes all measures regardless of cost to prevent this from happening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is the second time we stayed at the Buchan Hotel, and loved it both times. Once with a family of four, and once as a couple. It is located in a residential area with easy access to Stanley Park, food on Denham and shopping on Robson. We rented a tandem bike and enjoyed Stanley Park. The accomodations are spartan without frills, but the staff is friendly and helpful. There is no air conditioning, but there is a great sea breeze on the third floor. There are some longer term residents there, and you feel less like a tourist and part of the neighbourhood.

We will return every time we go to Vancouver!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanhotel, Manager at Buchan Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We do have fans available in all of our rooms, sometimes the room attendants put them away and they can't be seen in the rooms. I'll have a talk with them and make sure, especially on hot days, that the fans are easily seen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

As other reviews have said, it's a great location. We walked to First Beach, Stanley Park, and Harbor Park, as well as to shops to rent bikes. There are tons of restaurants on Robson Street and Denman Street. The location and appearance of the hotel was quite beautiful and lush. The rooms feel old, which is fine, but it was also a bit smelly, there were a couple stains on the carpet, and the bed wasn't the most comfortable. All in all, it was a great price for people who are going to be spending considerably more time enjoying the sites of Vancouver than in their hotel room (and don't mind stairs/shared bathrooms)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanhotel, General Manager at Buchan Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your review! I'm aware of your concern about the smell, one of the problems of an old wood building is that it can sometimes hold odors. Regarding the carpets, we do have a professional carpet cleaner in 12-15 times a year, I'll have our housekeeping look at that room and see if I can address it ASAP.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed there in June for 3 nights in a first floor room with private bath. Chose it for both location and cost and were not disappointed. As we were traveling without a car, we loved the quiet, residential street, with easy access to Stanley Park, the restaurants on Denman St and English Bay. The room was clean and comfortable, but spare and perfectly adequate. We were worried about possible noise from the restaurant just outside our window, but it was quiet by 10:00 pm, even on a weekend. We would definitely stay there again if visiting Vancouver!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanhotel, Manager at Buchan Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments! I agree with you about this neighborhood, I've lived nearby for nearly 25 years and I can't imagine living anywhere else.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buchan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buchan Hotel

Address: 1906 Haro St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1H7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Buchan Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buchan Hotel is an economically priced 3 story walk up hotel ideal for travelers seeking clean, quiet, and comfortable accomodation. The Buchan hotel is located in a residential area of Vancouver's downtown West End, one block from Stanley Park, and three blocks from English Bay Beach. The Buchan hotel is 100% non smoking to ensure your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Buchan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buchan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.