We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cheap, clean hotel in a lovely neighbourhood” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buchan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Buchan Hotel to your Saves list
Buchan Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1906 Haro St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1H7, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
U.K.
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“A cheap, clean hotel in a lovely neighbourhood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I think that you get what you pay for here. The rooms are basic and in need of renovation but they are very reasonably priced ,and are clean with plenty of hot water and soft towels.The common room/lounge is very nice and has lots of helpful literature on Vancouver and free tea and coffee. We found the front desk staff to be helpful and friendly. There are no phones in the rooms so a wake up call is a knock on the door which works just as well.
The area that the Buchan is in is lovely being close to Stanley park,a wide variety of restaurants and interesting shopping too. It is also handy for public transport. English Bay is a short walk away.
It is a budget hotel but is perfectly adequate for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    80
    54
    16
    8
See reviews for
32
90
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This hostel-like hotel is 2 block from Staney Park. The rooms are very spartan but clean. Beautiful area, and again, 2 blocks to Staney Park, with the 9 Km sea wall to wak or run along, bike trails, beautiful gardens, restaurants, outdoor theatre - lots to see and do.

Room Tip: If you don't mind walking across the hall to the bathroom, you can get a Main floor room for $65...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

This hotel is located close to Stanley Park, close to downtown and great restaurants, bars, ocean front and the sea wall. At 70$ a night, it's pretty good. I got in early on Friday morning and didn't expect to be able to put my things in my room but the room was ready so I was quite happy with that. I was able to freshen up and change because heading out to explore the city.
The room is a good size, with your own basin but the bed spread is old and the mirror was old...I couldn't even see myself properly. The walls are pretty thin but there wasn't too much noise going on. I didn't get much help from the front desk nor did they ask if I needed any. I had to ask for a map.
All I needed was a place to rest my head at night, in a safe neighbourhood and that would be a great location to be able to walk about and see what I wanted to see so it did the trick for me.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Super location and very good price for central Vancouver. However, could do with a little TLC.
Very basic room. Bed was clean and comfortable. Furniture was old. No phone. No elevator.
No complaints. Good for sleeping but wouldn't want to spend too much time in the room.
Great restaurants just five minutes away.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Rooms in need of a re-vamp. Service is friendly enough.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Rupert, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This was a better deal than staying at either Jericho or SameSun hostels. It can be difficult to find a quiet hotel room anywhere in Vancouver, but THIS IS IT! Finally a place where I can sleep like a baby without hearing a party going on in the street below.

The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, the shower down the hall was clean and had great water pressure and hot enough water. Downstairs there's a nice living room area with couches, a bookshelf full of travel and other books, free coffee and (I think) wifi. The desk staff was courteous and helpful. We were able to leave our bags for several hours while we wandered around before our flight left the next day. Stanley Park is also very closeby.

I am the first to complain if there are problems. Buchan exceeded my expectations!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I got a room on the first floor and it was nice, clean and comfortable. I used the shared shower (which no one ever used but me it seems!) but had a toilet and sink in my room. The toilet was a convenient suprise as I payed for only the basic room. It was also more reasonably priced as I stayed there in the off season. The West End is a lovely area. Wireless provided for a reasonable fee (around $2 a day).

Provides free tea and coffee in the morning and there are lots of pamphlets and suggestions of things to do. It's close to Stanley Park and Robson St and not too difficult to get to other attractions in downtown Vancouver.

It might be just me but I found the bus system a little difficult at first but that has nothing to do with the hotel.

Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buchan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buchan Hotel

Address: 1906 Haro St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1H7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Buchan Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buchan Hotel is an economically priced 3 story walk up hotel ideal for travelers seeking clean, quiet, and comfortable accomodation. The Buchan hotel is located in a residential area of Vancouver's downtown West End, one block from Stanley Park, and three blocks from English Bay Beach. The Buchan hotel is 100% non smoking to ensure your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Buchan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buchan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.