We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic!!!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Buchan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Buchan Hotel to your Saves list
Buchan Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1906 Haro St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1H7, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Basic!!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Great area close to Stanley park and out of the city slightly, great for exploring the park. Unfortunately no ramp into the hotel, had to climb and carry up cases just to get through the doors to reception about 6 in all. Not good with heavy cases!!! Booking in was ok but then found out no lift so had to cart the heavy cases now up flights of stairs. Not fun and all, a bit of a work out to say the least.....Room very basic and in need of an lick of pain. No toilet paper provided in room (obviously overlooked)and no fridge and no coffee/tea making facilities- couldn't believe it..There was pot of coffee always on in the communial lounge area but would have been nicer in the room. Wouldn't take much.Unfortunately stayed there the night of the canucks riot so was fairly noisy in the street, could have been worse though could have been more in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    80
    54
    16
    8
See reviews for
32
90
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We had a great time here. The shared bathroom wasn't an issue as they have plenty on each floor.The staff are helpful and friendly. The location is perfect for every part of Vancouver and you're only 2 minutes walk from Stanley Park. The room was clean and had all necessary amenities.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

I stayed here for two when attending a conference in BC. It was a conference for teachers, so I was traveling on my own dime and was looking for the cheapest, convenient place to stay. The Buchan Hotel was definitely that. The room had comfortable beds with big pillows, a tiny TV, and a sink. No sign of bed bugs (the first thing I check). The room was small and we opted for a shared bathroom. While it was clean and there was never a line, I found it odd that the shared bathroom had no sink - just hand sanitizer - and you had to travel back to your room to wash your hands. The shower was clean and worked well. The building was a nice old building, but has no elevator, if you are concerned about accessibility.
It's a great location - really close to Stanley Park. If you aren't scared of aggressive raccoons and teenagers drinking "orange juice," it's a great place for an evening walk. We saw a skunk cross the sidewalk on the way up to the hotel and gave it wide berth. It really is right near the park. Everything was walkable - restaurants, the grocery store, library, even the Convention Center (if you don't mind a long walk in the rain). Parking wasn't so convenient, but we were traveling light and found a good spot to park above a mall on a nearby street. The walk was quick, but the price can add up. There is very limited street parking.
Besides the parking, the only issue I had was the bird that called outside my window for 2 straight hours starting before 5 am. I'd bring earplugs next time. Hardly the fault of the hotel, though. I wish I had known that there was coffee and tea in the lobby area next to the reception desk. I ventured out for a cup of tea only to find a hot pot and tea when I returned.
I would definitely stay here again - especially if I was traveling by train or didn't have to park a car.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Great place to stay,close to everything,two blocks from Stanley Park abd you cannot beat the price!!75 a night,it doesn't get any cheaper for a hotel in downtown Vancouver. It's an older building,and we had a standard room with shared bathroom down the hallway ,which was no problem,never had to wait ,bathroom and showers were always free!hotel is on a quiet residential street,so it was perfect,you don't even feel like you are downtown. The staff are extremely nice and helpful, they are great!!
Rooms are plain and simple ,but when you're there to see Vancouver,who cares about the room! You're only in it to sleep anyhow :). since it was an older building,you could hear alot ,like other people walking around upstairs,so if you're a light sleeper you may want to stay on the top floor. No air conditioners in the rooms,but we did have two fans,and barely needed to use them,was not too hot.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

When we checked in we were treated great. The woman was the nicest person I've ever delt with at a hotel. Finding a parking place was very difficult, so unless you are prepared to walk far and to drive long to find a place don't bring a car. We only needed a room for one night so this place was a good choice. However we found it hard to sleep since the bed was uncomfortable and our room was right by the bathroom so it woke us up whenever someone went to use it. The room was clean though, no dirty towels or bed bugs, and having a sink in the room helped. The location was great, can walk to a lot of places. The neighborhood was very nice and you felt safe there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Very dirty- came home covered in bed bug bites. Towels had 'crusties' on them. No phone, no alarm. And didn't feel at all safe. Shared bathrooms were marginally cleaner than the private ones.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

FIRST: KNOW WHAT YOU ARE GETTING INTO HERE. Charming? Um, that's not the word that comes to mind...

GOOD POINTS:
Okay, yes, the location of this hotel couldn't be better- off the main street two blocks, tree lighted and small park across the strett, in a beautiful and quiet residential neighborhood. The West End is a five minute walk, as is #1 English Bay Beach. A MILLION medium priced restaurants start 2 blocks away. Safeway, three short blocks, the library two. Bus connections to EVERYWHERE in Vancouver, just 2 blocks away, and Vancouver has STELLAR public transportation. Probably the best situated hotel in town for a tourist visitor.

Our room in the corner of the 3rd floor was quiet.
The staff was 24 hours, very friendly and helpful.


NOT SO GOOD:
1) No elevator.
2) No phone.
3) No hot water maker coffee pot in the small cramped room.
(Pay phone in lobby, coffee and hot water in lobby).
4) No air-conditioning
5) Slow Wireless Internet
4) Below average (or worse) room:
The bed was cheap, small, and firm, and not particularly big- Queen? Don't think so, probably a full.

The furniture is cheap college dorm, the bathroom adequate, but no electric next to the mirror even. The TV is small 18" flat screen digital BUT with analog signal 10 feet from the head of the bed- so yeah, small fuzzy picture. Enough to fall asleep to.

One wall outlet turned off along with the room wall switched light, leaving one hard to get at plug behind the TV. The bathroom heat could not be turned off, and no hot bath water at 3 AM. Was fine in regular evening.

No air conditioning, just a fan. Probably unbearable in hot weather. We lucked out. Needed paint and patch up of holes in bathroom wall.

The bed was cheap, small, and firm, and not particularly big- Queen? Don't think so, probably a full.

At night, if everyone is online in the hotel, the internet is useless. Slowwwww. I had to walk 2 blocks to an all night coffee shop to get work done one night.

This is not even a decent Motel 6 in regards to room presentation.

For us, I had to return a broken TV to exchange for a good one, toilet paper roll fell apart (we managed to fix). I would imagine in hot weather, the room would be unbearable- no air conditioning.

SUMMARY:
Are you vacationing for the hotel room or the city?

For us, the room was nothing more that a place to crash in after a full day of activity outside the hotel. So it worked. It was a nice place to stay- once we left the room- because the location is indeed perfect. However, the room isn't a place you want to do anything but fall asleep in. It ain't pretty.

The Silvia is a better place, albeit more money a few blocks away with most of the advantages of the Buchan's location, although the Silvia is a stones throw from the main street one block over, and might not be absolutely as quiet with traffic. I'm guessing Siliva has phones and elevators, and revamped rooms at a little more money. Price them both out. You get what you pay for.

Frankly, I think the Buchan is still overpriced for what it delivers. As I understand it, this hotel is run by a bunch of Dentists-- and they are cheap arses to not put a little more money into this place. I mean, come on, paint it even.

I've seen better college dorms than this-- fortunately, the quality of our vacation hinged little on the quality of our room at the Buchan. Probably the cheapest deal in town for a good located hotel. So, take your pick- this or the Silvia for a bit more money.

Only Recommended with strong reservations about the quality of these accommodations.

In hot weather, I think I would pass, just because of lack of air conditioning-- but how hot does Vancouver get, and when? Don't even know if the Silvia has air....

CHECK DETAILS.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buchan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buchan Hotel

Address: 1906 Haro St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1H7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Buchan Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buchan Hotel is an economically priced 3 story walk up hotel ideal for travelers seeking clean, quiet, and comfortable accomodation. The Buchan hotel is located in a residential area of Vancouver's downtown West End, one block from Stanley Park, and three blocks from English Bay Beach. The Buchan hotel is 100% non smoking to ensure your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Buchan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buchan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.