We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and definitely creepy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vancouver Police Museum

Vancouver Police Museum
240 E. Cordova Street | Gastown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6A 1L3, Canada
604-665-3346
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 335 things to do in Vancouver
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in Vancouver's former city morgue, this museum displays thie history of crime and law enforcement in Vancouver. Displays include historical crimes, tools for scientific (forensic) investigation and more.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Interesting and definitely creepy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Small museum that can be seen in detail in about an hour, a must see for those interested in true crime and police history. Interesting part of Vancouver's colorful past and I particularly enjoyed the history of women in the force. Good exhibits of seized weapons, drugs, and a very good (if small) collection of guns. Very graphic (but sadly too small) section on true crimes and unsolved murders in Vancouver that features real crime scene photos and other physical evidence. The morgue is fascinating and graphic, with an exhibit of various organs and cause of death. Not for young children, our daughter is 11 and some of the imagery was too much for her. It can seem pricy for such a short trip, $12 for adults and $10 for children over 6. Dodgy neighborhood, be aware of your surroundings but most people on the Downtown Eastside are more of a danger to themselves than anyone else.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    43
    12
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Liked it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We took some teenagers and we all found it very eerie. The past was very interesting. In a creepy part of town but we thought it was worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Maybe not for younger kids”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This smallish museum was very quiet and uncrowded, a welcome change from the larger attractions. The back rooms became a bit gruesome, showing frightening weapons confiscated by VPD, the morgue, and autopsy samples. It would be grand for aficionados of these things, but was too much for me, and the weapons sent my 9 year old boy running for the exit.
Beware also, it is in a very sketchy neighborhood--Go midday! And take a cab.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a fantastic little museum that's a must for anyone interested in criminal history etc. I was the only person there on my visit, though I could see how it could get easily crowded. The museum offers a detailed history of Vancouver policing with a section dedicated to women in the police force and how their roles changed.
The morgue and unsolved crimes area were a definite highlight.
If approaching on foot, I'd recommend walking through gastown, and aim to avoid East Hastings, especially if you have young children.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Museum Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Museums can be dull. This one is not dull. This one is real and scary and important and better than most reality shows. Reality is its backbone. Get there on a rainy day. Great vibes somehow. Not what I expected.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vancouver Police Museum also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Vancouver Police Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vancouver Police Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.