We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Century Plaza Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Century Plaza Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 Burrard St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y5, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We liked this place, but found some shabbiness in the rooms. Poorly repaired water damage, scuffs on walls and a "stain" on the chair in the bedroom. The arrangement of the furniture in the living area was awkward and bothered me. We got this at a discount price, so I didn't complain, but, this is not a four star hotel.

Room Tip: I would ask to see the room when you arrive. Make sure you write you observations and let the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Century-Plaza-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Century Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear WendyLou1,

Thank you for your comments and feedback. We appreciate you taking the time. We're glad that overall you were happy with your stay with us and the service we provided. We are a 3.5 star hotel, however it is our standard to provide that 4 star level of service and amenities which offers our guests a great value. We wish we would have known about your concerns while you were staying with us, as we would have most certainly provided you with another room. If you have a moment, please do contact us directly, as we'd like to know which room you had stayed in so that we may take care of it. Many of our guests enjoy the large size of our rooms, as it gives them the ability to feel the comforts of being home away from home, and that's what we aim to provide. Again, we thank you for your review and hope to see you again in the future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    850
    236
    92
    55
See reviews for
467
669
152
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Drumheller, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had a chance to stay at this fabulous hotel while attending the Paul McCartney concert November 2012. Our suite was beautiful and the area of the city we were in felt quite safe. There were nice touches with a balcony, and really nice spa quality soaps and lotions...wonderful. The staff were very accommodating and our stay could not have been better. I would go back there in a heartbeat...clean and quiet even though it is right downtown.

Room Tip: Our room was a suite and I really would advise that if possible. It was the size of a small one bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

we live on Vancouver Island and when we travel to Vancouver (not always) we have chosen the Century Plaza due to the bargain rates and large room.
This trip was no exception. We got a one bedroom suite with a full kitchen and small dining / living for $118 all in taxes included. Wow.
The beds are comfy and clean, there is free wi fi and we even got a $20 food voucher for the restaurant.
The hotel is located a 15 minute walk from the BC Place or Rogers arena so relatively close to the event we are attending.

Room Tip: There are some great views from the rooms on the 23rd or 24th floor of the harbour. Ask for a harbou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We chose to stay for 5 nights here because it was located in the CBD and within walking distance of the sights, shopping and restaurants. We had a suite which included a fold out couch in the living area and our only complaint was that this couch was old, dirty and in need of replacing. The rest of the suite had been upgraded and was clean. The kitchen was equipped well enough and the bathroom adequate. The staff, at all times, were polite and very helpful. The breakfast was great and the two dinners we ate here were quite good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay. Staff very friendly and helpful. Love the suites with lots of room and great views. We arrived at 10:00 and much to our pleasure our room was ready. Moved on to the four seasons for a conference and wished we had stayed at the century. Second time there and we will be back!

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you are staying in Vancouver for business,Pleasure or Medical reasons. The Century plaza Hotel and Spa on 1015 Burrard St. is close to all the action. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the newly renovated rooms are nice for the price with studio suites and 1 bedroom suites. the hotel is located right next to St. Pauls Hospital which is nice if you are stating for medical reasons. it is in walking distance of Granville and Robson Streets, if you are there for business there is a banquet room available and the 26 & 27 floors are made for corporate guests with a desk and all in one HP copier in each room, wifi is included.if your in Vancouver just for pleasure the hotel also has its own comedy club , renowned Spa and it is close to tons of restaurants and bars. The Scotiabank Theatre is only a few blocks down the street ith 9 screens available including 3d. and i think there is a bank close to a starbucks just up the street from the theatre.
My Family has stayed in this hotel dozens of times over the years and recommend it highly to anyone traveling to Vancouver B.C .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I headed over to Vancouver for a comedy show at Comedy Mixx inside the Century Plaza. We opted to spend the night and booked a room with a king size bed getting the CAA rate. Overall it was a great stay and we would book again in a heartbeat.

The lobby: Impressive! Grand! Clean!

The staff: Exceedingly helpful, very impressive.

Beyond Lounge: Overpriced cocktails, avoid at all costs.

Comedy Mixx: Fabulous staff, venue and show. We are excited to go again!

Room: 26th floor, AMAZING view, single pane windows so a touch noisy, bed was decent, pillows are a joke... way too soft. The room was crazy huge, I was surprised. Everything was very clean if a touch dated.

Amenities: The XL size robes barely fit my super skinny boyfriend so those were useless. Having a fan available in the room was really great, it was quieter then the AC unit and provided just enough breeze to sleep comfortably.

Check out was smooth and they were nice enough to hold onto our luggage for several hours while we walked the city and took in our comedy show. Overall the room cost $102 for the night and we look forward to returning!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Century Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 1015 Burrard St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#34 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#36 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#37 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Century Plaza Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Century Plaza Hotel & Spa is a landmark destination hot spot right in the centre of downtown Vancouver. From its award winning amenities including a world class spa and comedy club, to the kitchen equipped suites featuring spectacular ocean, mountain and city views, the family owned and operated Century-Plaza Hotel & Spa has implemented sustainable practices such as its 'Green Initiative' Program as well as the 100% Chemical Free Commercial Cleaning System reducing our carbon footprint to provide guests with the wonderful home away from home ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Century Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Plaza Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Century Plaza Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.