We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully clean & modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   711 West Broadway | @ Heather Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V5Z 3Y2, Canada (Fairview)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #39 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderfully clean & modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

What a surprise! Modern, clean & affordable in Vancouver. On a trip to visit UBC we stayed at the Holiday Inn, what a treat! The hotel has recently been redone. Beautiful lobby & great rooms. The bathroom is large and modern. Great balcony that looks up broadway with view of the bay.

Room Tip: Room 711- two queen beds, pull out couch & balcony. Huge room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear nebemom,

Greetings from the Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre!

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

I would also like to thank you for your comments on our beautiful lobby and great rooms.

Please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything else we can assist you with in the future.


Best regards,

Danny
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    135
    54
    12
    11
See reviews for
74
87
32
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights recently. As others have pointed out the location is very good, a short walk away from the West Broadway/City Hall SkyTrain station and so very convenient for both the airport and downtown Vancouver. There's also a number of buses that run along W Broadway and Cambie that go downtown too.

Our room rate did not include breakfast and we felt that the restaurant attached to the hotel looked uninspiring and so had breakfast elsewhere each morning. This isn't a problem as there's a lot of places to eat in between the hotel and the SkyTrain station. There's a couple of supermarkets, including the excellent Whole Foods market (great breakfast muffins), close by on Cambie too.

Unfortunately we had one bad night with noise from screaming children in an adjacent room, the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful and kindly moved us to another room and organised for all our luggage to be moved too. Rooms are a good size and beds very comfortable. All in all an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear TimeZoneHopper,

Greetings from the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre!

I am happy to hear you find our location very convenient. And I would like to thank you for your comments on the transportation near the hotel.

I am sorry to hear you find our hotel restaurant uninspiring as it is newly renovated and we offer standard Holiday Inn full breakfast buffet in the morning. Of course, you are still able to order from the menu.

Please do not hesitate to let us know if you have any concern about our restaurant.


Best regards,

Danny
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Went to visit my daughter and needed a centrally located, on transportation, reasonable hotel with name recognition. This was it! Staff were great, especially when I kept having problems with my door key, they helped me out and even gave bonus points for my inconvenience. Great coffee shops and restaurants in the area, nice boutiques and the bus right in front!

Room Tip: stay away from the elevator and if you don't want metric, ask for a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear hbednarsh,

Greetings from the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre!

Thank you very much for your comments on our central location and great staff. Please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything else we can assist you with in the future.


Best regards,

Danny
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Love the location, many great restaurants within walking distance, short walk to Skytrain! Hotel has been renovated, rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Staff at the Hotel are friendly and courteous, have stayed here many times and have always had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Sue-Laurence B,

Greetings from the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre!

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! And thank you for being a royal guest at our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.


Best regards,

Danny
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located for anyone requiring some of the specialized medical services located nearby or visiting someone hospitalized at Vancouver General. The route to UBC is direct as well and there is reasonable on-site parking included. The wifi was problematic when we stayed there as it kept cutting out and was extremely slow when it was working.

Rooms were clean and staff pleasant. Beds reasonably comfortable. Would not recommend the on- site breakfast buffet especially if you are a later breakfast eater as food was not fresh, waffles and pancakes soggy. Best to order from the menu if you choose to eat there.

Room Tip: West broadway is a busy street so a room higher up away from street noise would be better. Can'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear 837SherryM,

Greetings from the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre!

I would like to thank you for your comments on our convenient location and reasonable on-site parking.

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy our breakfast buffet. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss this further.



Best regards,

Danny
Guest Services Manager
dhuang@hivancouver.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Good Points:

The hotel was only two blocks away from Broadway Station (Canada Line) and about a 5 minute walk. Handy station for both the airport and the city centre.

Check in was efficient and my room was ready for me on my arrival.

My room was clean, of a good size and more importantly, the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable!

Bathroom was clean and there were plenty of towels available.

A number of supermarkets, coffee shops and restaurants are in the neighbourhood so you don’t have to walk far to grab a bite to eat.

There was a good selection of food available each morning in the Breakfast Buffet (included in my room rate). I particularly liked the bacon and pancakes and the fresh fruit selection.


Bad Points:

Wifi was slow. I didn’t realise just how slow it was until I connected to the Wifi at Vancouver Airport which was super quick in comparison.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Smileyglobetrotter,

Greetings from the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments on our comfortable bed and pillows and also convenient location.

I am sorry to hear you had trouble with our WIFI connection. Please do not hesitate to let us know in the future and we will certainly have one of our internet specialists assist you on getting a better connection.

Best regards,

Danny
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Just a few blocks off the subway, this hotel is very conveniently accessible from downtown locations. Staff were very courteous and welcoming. We stayed 3 nights at the hotel and had a very pleasant and enjoyable stay. Clean rooms with comfortable beds and not so crammed bathrooms. Staff in the front office were very prompt in giving us directions and getting us a taxi when we needed one. Tim Hortons, Mcdonalds, and many other restaurants are within walking distance, so are many cafes and sushi joints.

Will definitely recommend for a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Chose the newly renovated 11th floor with rooms away from the main st Broadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear koplkatacool,

Greetings from the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre!

I am happy to hear you enjoyed staying with us. I would also like to thank you for your comments on our courteous staff and convenient location.

As you mentioned in your room tip, all of our guest rooms are newly renovated. With double-glazed windows, heavy traffic west Broadway doesn't seem to be that busy anymore.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.


Best regards,

Danny
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre

Address: 711 West Broadway | @ Heather Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V5Z 3Y2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#36 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#49 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre Hotel (Broadway) welcomes you to vibrant Vancouver Canada. Our newly renovated hotel's location is convenient to Vancouver International Airport (YVR) and the Pacific Central Train Station, as well as the Canada Line SkyTrain Station.From business to leisure, you will find a variety of attractions and landmarks near our hotel such as Granville Island, Science World, Stanley Park, Vancouver Aquarium, University of British Columbia, Vancouver General Hospital, City Hall, Chinatown, Rogers Arena, BC Place Stadium and much more!All of our guestrooms feature contemporary décor, complimentary high speed wireless internet, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair-dryer and a large working desk with an ergonomic chair for your comfort. With 5,700 square feet of meeting space we can accommodate events from 15 up to 300 people. Our professional and experienced catering staff members will attend to every last detail of your small meeting, large conference, or wedding and social function, so that you can sit back and enjoy your event. Unwind at our refreshed Stages Bistro & Lounge while you enjoy our new menu selection or stay active at our upgraded fitness centre, indoor swimming pool and 24 hour business centre.Start making plans for your next stay to relax and settle in to a whole new look. We look forward to welcoming you to Vancouver and the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.