We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK stay-a little cramped” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostelling International Vancouver Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hostelling International Vancouver Central to your Saves list
Hostelling International Vancouver Central
1025 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L4, Canada (Formerly Royal Hotel) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“OK stay-a little cramped”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Room was incredibly cramped and not really cleaned properly. On arrival, we were informed they didnt have our reservation. Good breakfast though; cereal, fruit, muffins, bagels, breads, scones. Good location, close to shopping and bar/clubs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    77
    43
    13
    9
See reviews for
5
39
73
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

the people at front desk are so bad at customer service one in particular so rude. Dont even bother about asking for help and ideas walk across to samesun hostel for that. Apart from the rude staff who are always on face book and their phone the hostel in awesome location clean as bathrooms are nice clean and private and hostel is quiet to. also good security on doors all rooms include larger lockers

Room Tip: was in 4 bed girks good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCTHostelManager, Manager at Hostelling International Vancouver Central, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
I'm very sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience with customer service at our front desk. We strive to give excellent service to our guests, but it sounds like we failed badly in this case. I've messaged you privately to discuss this further. Glad to hear that you did find us clean and secure, and that you liked our location. Kind Regards, Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here late August for my final days of my cross Canada trip.
Must say I can't complain about much, but the room sizes are just unacceptable. Having stayed in many hostels this surprised me.
The lockers are tiny as well, and due to small room there is no other storage cabinet.
Did also not like the sink in the room which was dirty most of the time.
However, did love the rich breakfast and the atmosphere.
The location is excellent too, right in the heart of Vancouver's night life, within easy reach of all downtown attractions.
Staff are helpful, knowledgable and friendly.
Make great recommendations as to what to do. The hostel also organises its own events which are great because some of them involve going to the Hi Downtown which makes it easier to link up with people. The pub crawls are fun and so are the day trips!
Would recommend and will return, but hopefully they will get new carpets and increase room sizes.

Room Tip: Try to get a private room, as they are much bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We booked a private room but the rooms really needs to be rebuilt. The hostel is quite old and is a little bit dirty, The kitchen for breakfast is tiny and it smells very bad. The best thing is that the location is really good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Don't expect luxury, or nice decoration, or little commodities. This a youth hostel. You will get bare walls (recently painted though) and no furniture. But do expect cleanliness and a gorgeous included breakfast: 3 kind of cereal, milk, juices, coffee, buns, 2 kinds of muffins, fresh apples...

It is in the best possible place for youngsters. Right in the middle of everything. Granville Street is the core of Vancouver downtown. Fridays and Saturdays bars and disco-pubs sizzle. Packed with shops and places to eat. You can walk almost anywhere from there: 5 minutes to Davie Street, the spine of the West End, 5 minutes to Yaletown with its glamorous brickwalled restaurants and posh cafes, 10 minutes from the train station that takes you to the airport, 15 minutes from the docks at Canada Place and the bus that takes you to Stanley Park...

Kindness of staff varies: we had a very helpful and nice guy, a meek guy not very helpful at all, a stiff woman who at least was able to give useful advice...

Shared bathrooms were complete units, which was convenient and were cleaned very often. Rooms had a washbasin, also very suitable.
Every room had lockers but you need to bring your own padlock.

Another plus is that it has an elevator... which is luxury in most budget accomodations, especially after have carried heavy bags around for several days.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Great location, clean, safe.... but boring as hell.


Stayed here a couple of times over winter and I've never known such a drab boring hostel... and on every occasion was the same deal.
Stayed here to avoid the noise/party across the road at the Samesun but not entirely sure which I would recommend over the other.
If you aren't looking for anything too exciting this is your place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Location: Right on the main street of shops, resturants, bars, clubs and other entertainment. Easy to catch public transport as its close to bus and train stations. Can walk to the waterfront in 15mins. Great pizza place on the courner is cheap and perfect for late night cravings.

Staff: Super friendly. Able to help with everything we needed and assisted us beyond the expected. Fun activites are offered every day at the hostel.

Rooms: Very comfortable. Clean. Good bathrooms, however some do not lock properly and its hard to tell that until someone accidently walks in on you. Good common rooms. Very easy to meet other travelers and make friends. The kitchen is small but the free breakfast is great and endless.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostelling International Vancouver Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Vancouver Central

Address: 1025 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L4, Canada (Formerly Royal Hotel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smack dab in the middle of Granville Street's pub and club district, we're one of the newest Vancouver hostels -- and if you're angling for access to all the partying and good times you could want, without compromising on security, comfort, and cleanliness, then we're where you want to be!If you're looking for the fun of a hostel, but still want privacy, you'll love our ensuite private rooms (cable TV included!) and our two-bed dorms. These are our most popular room types, so make sure to book in advance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hostelling International Vancouver Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Vancouver Central Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostelling International Vancouver Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.