We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good hostel if you're not picky” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostelling International Vancouver Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hostelling International Vancouver Central to your Saves list
Hostelling International Vancouver Central
1025 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L4, Canada (Formerly Royal Hotel) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Pretty good hostel if you're not picky”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed at the hostel for 4 nights and here's what I found out:

1. Breakfast is served beginning 8 am, so if you've booked a day tour (like I did on 2 days) and have to leave the hostel before 8 am, I suggest you pack some sandwiches/bagels the evening before. I tried asking the person in charge of serving breakfast whether I could pack some bread since I had to leave before 8 am, I received the rudest response ever.

2. There are quite a few pubs and shops selling sex-related stuff along the street, it isn't called the Granville Entertainment District for nothing. There were also quite a few homeless people who slept on the streets near the hostel. If you're not comfortable with this, either get back before sunset, or make sure you have company.

3. Generally, the staff are nice people.

4. The hostel has an elevator, so don't worry if you have heavy bags or luggages. The locker in the room is big enough for a 60L backpack, just remember to bring your own lock.

5. Best of all, you get free wifi, and it could be detected in the room, which means you don't have to sit in the lounge to access your own wireless device.

6. There is a bus stop just outside the hostel, and the Granville train station is about 15 minutes away. Canada Line, which you have to take to the YVR Airport, is also about 12 minutes away.

Room Tip: If you sleep lightly, you could ask for a room that isn't facing the Granville Street or adjacen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    86
    47
    15
    11
See reviews for
6
44
82
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had a nice four nights here. We booked a private room with en-suite. The room was neat and tidy and quite for a hostel! We didn't expect alot for theprice but were pleasantly surprised. Breakfast was a spartan affair but that was fine - we had no expectations of anything special.

Room Tip: Couple should go for a private with own bathroom. The top floor (4th) is a good choice despite the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Good place, situated in the center of Vancouver.
The staff was really nice : had some problems because the lift was broken when we needed to bring our 4 heavy luggage from the 3rd floor to the entrance at 5 AM because we had our flight. They came to help us carrying, was really nice !
The private room was ok and clean for a hostel.
Breakfast was also ok but not the best I had.
A bit too big in my opinion but as we are in a big city, I guess it's normal. I recommand it if you are looking for an easy and safe place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This hostel was fine, I paid a bit more for a 2 bed dorm and was surprised by how quiet it was being on a main street. The hostel is in 'backpacker central' with many eateries, shops and internet places and easily accessible to downtown and transport.

Room Tip: try and get a room away from the main street. side alley side was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

It's pretty much what you would expect from a hostel. I stayed in a 4 dorm bed, the beds are ok and there are good sized lockers to leave your stuff in. The room was facing the main Granville Street though which gets very noisy at night, particularly weekends. Added to that you have people returning to the room all through the night, it makes for a pretty noisy stay. You can pick up free ear plugs from reception though which work wonders, problem solved! The staff are super friendly, definitely one of the best things about this hostel, they even let me leave my bag in the lock up on the day I left which was great. Free wi-fi is a bonus. The area of the hostel is a bit sketchy, sex shops galore (superb if that's what you're into?), bars and clubs directly below hostel, bit its very close to the main shopping streets and Canada line train, so its not all bad.

All in all a decent hostel, bit noisy, but definitely one of the better ones I have stayed in!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the street, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the hostel during a short trip to Vancouver last year. The hostel is clean and well maintained and the staff were friendly and helpful. Overall i found the hostel to be good value for money for those travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Grungy, but here's the thing. It is in a transportation hub and has the possibility of a private room with private bath, has an elevator and the central location making it an easy walk to historic Gastown and lovely Chinatown. We opted for those amenities and stayed 3 nights. It was old, dirty, worn, dim. Paint was battleship gray, other dreary colors and dim lighting. Furniture was dirty and worn. Breakfast, kitchen uninspiring. Our room was OK. Neighborhood sketchy - nightclub with siesta rooms in the next block, but top-chain hotels, large Sears and other serious retailers in other adjacent blocks as well as evident revitalization of the area by the city. The Skytrain and all bus routes are handy. The hostel staff was excellent. Nightlife is on our street, but the pretty full hostel was quiet, really. Vancouver is proud of its safe streets and though you might wonder when you get there, there is enough activity to feel safe walking on the hostel's street. Met some nice travellers here.

Room Tip: Private room with private bath was a welcome change. We had one on the fourth floor but the hostel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostelling International Vancouver Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Vancouver Central

Address: 1025 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L4, Canada (Formerly Royal Hotel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smack dab in the middle of Granville Street's pub and club district, we're one of the newest Vancouver hostels -- and if you're angling for access to all the partying and good times you could want, without compromising on security, comfort, and cleanliness, then we're where you want to be!If you're looking for the fun of a hostel, but still want privacy, you'll love our ensuite private rooms (cable TV included!) and our two-bed dorms. These are our most popular room types, so make sure to book in advance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostelling International Vancouver Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Vancouver Central Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostelling International Vancouver Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.