We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and tacky” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Vancouver Suites

Save Saved
You added Delta Vancouver Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Delta Vancouver Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1L6, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dated and tacky”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stared here Dec 21, 2012, what a disappointment.... Old dated room, peeling wallpaper, wine stains on curtains old dirty uncomfortable chairs. Not what I had experienced at other Delta hotel in Victoria the night before. Some very friendly staff some not so helpful . Beware sketchy neighbour hood. Felt like a 2 star hotel......

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan M, Manager at Delta Vancouver Suites, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to read that you did not enjoy your time with us. I will be sure to pass on your comments. Rest assured that Downtown Vancouver and Historic Gas Town are very safe areas and are safely enjoyed by millions of people every year.
Thank you again,
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    393
    272
    49
    20
    9
See reviews for
119
241
52
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

From the valet/doorman to the check in desk our arrival was warm, genuine and helpful. (And, a special shout out to our doorman who was cordial and most helpful.) This hotel has trained its personnel on how to treat guests and do so in an informal yet very professional manner. Upgradng to the Club Level is well worth the few extra dollars. Our "suite" was comfortable, good view, and great bed. Access to the Club Level hospitality suite is well worth it. Nightly delicious tid bits to enjoy before going out for the evening with an honor bar. Certainly, the continental breakfast in the morning is convenient and just right. This hotel hits just the right note of comfort, luxury, service, location and fair price.

Room Tip: Definitely select a Club Level room. And, if booking directly with the hotel, say hello to Coco. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne P, Director of Sales at Delta Vancouver Suites, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Hello the_melv (Seattle),

Thanks for sharing your comments with us and other travelers. I'm glad you enjoyed interacting with our team members; they genuinely love what they do and appreciate those opportunities to engage with our guests.

Thanks too for your "tip" on staying on our Signature Club level. It is a convenient and cost-effective way to have a healthy breakfast or end of day snack.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed in this fabulous Downtown hotel last year for a birthday weekend and had an amazing time! The staff helped me set up a few surprises for my partner and were extremely accomodating and helpful. The corner room (1809) is well worth the extra money. Laying on your bed, surrounded by windows, being able to see the city scape at night is indescribable. Very close to a tim hortons and the sky train. Signature lounge food was yummy :)

We live in the Lower Mainland but we had a nice night away from it all....a vacation in our own back yard!

We loved it so much, we've already booked a corner suite for Valentine's weekend! Can't wait!

Room Tip: There are only 3 or 4 of them, but the corner suites are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNagra, Revenue Manager at Delta Vancouver Suites, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Delta Vancouver Suites. It's always great to get away for a night in you own city and enjoy all the surroundings. The 09 rooms are also my favorite I love that natural light you get with the floor to window ceilings and the city view at night is incredible. We look forward to welcoming you back in February.

Thanks
Gurpreet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Had a great experience at the Delta Vancouver Suites on a recent business trip. The deluxe corner room was soooo worth the extra few bucks. The “sanctuary bed” is aptly named. The staff was responsive, helpful and cheerful. The location from YVR via the train is awesome and the variety of local shops and small business’s nearby offers a great community atmosphere. I’ll do it again

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe corner room King Bed, it is worth the few bucks more
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan M, Manager at Delta Vancouver Suites, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
A great review. We are always happy to read about a great experience. When you return to us in the future please let us know what we can do to make your stay even better. Getting that 5th star is always our goal!
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Modest looking hotel which is made great as a result of the views from the rooms on higher floors. Spectracular views encompassing the snow covered mountains, huge passenger liners docking in the port and the city of Vancouver. Surrounded by bars and restaurants and a short stroll to the city centre and park, this is a great base hotel. Breakfast is a modest buffet style occassion and we did not stay for dinner, however the views make up for any deficiencies with the food.

Room Tip: The higher the better and facing the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orianna K, Manager at Delta Vancouver Suites, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
I'm so glad you got to enjoy the views, its a beautiful time of year on clear days. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and hope to see you back one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed here on a trip with friends for which someone else selected the hotel. I did not take photos but can tell you that the photo's depicted here over represent the exterior of the hotel. The interior is fine and relatively clean and new -- but has an end to end feel as having been decorated by the same people who decorated all the Air Canada lounges. Clean but institutional. Wisely with tile at the entrance to avoid wear and tear over the years. There are other hotels in the down town area which are far more attractive. However I would agree with one reviewer that if you plan to venture into Gastown it is certainly a place from which to launch without staying in the less pleasant section. This alone would not be sufficient for me to stay here again. I'd walk the couple of extra blocks from a hotel with nicer look and feel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLDeltaDVS, Manager at Delta Vancouver Suites, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback, we value the opinions and feedback of our guests as we strive for continuous improvement.

Salesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

You are probably unlikely to spend your wedding night here, but a good clean hotel in an excellent location for investigating Vancouver, restaurants and shopping. Jump at it for a good price. Recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orianna K, Manager at Delta Vancouver Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Glad to hear you enjoyed your time exploring around our hotel. Hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Delta Vancouver Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Vancouver Suites

Address: 550 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1L6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Vancouver Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delta Vancouver Suites is an all-suite hotel located in the heart of downtown Vancouver and within a block of the Canada Line rail system. Delta Vancouver Suites is within walking distance to many local attractions including Stanley Park, art galleries, theatres and Rogers Arena and BC Place Stadium. The hotel is within minutes of the Vancouver Convention Centre, the city's central business district and government offices. Enjoy shopping the Granville Street mall, Robson Street and take in the vibrant dining scene and nightlife of Gastown and Yaletown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Delta Vancouver Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Delta Vancouver Suites Hotel
Delta Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Vancouver Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.