We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Go To place for events in the area.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5T 3J5, Canada (Formerly Comfort Inn) (Mt. Pleasant)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #45 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Our Go To place for events in the area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I am reviewing this hotel again simply to state that for the several times we have stayed here that we continue to experience consistent quality and value. Check out the "Added Tip" comment too as it details a noise issue on the first floor.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor as the screeching of the breakfast area chairs on the floor can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, I am very pleased to hear that we have gained a loyal guest. And thank you for your room tip, the Queen Ground floor rooms are booked as a separate room type so you can book a queen upper floor room and not have to worry about being placed on the ground floor. Thank you and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    208
    59
    11
    11
See reviews for
94
185
39
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel is a little way out of downtown but provided a relatively cheap but comfortable one night stay prior to joining an inside passage cruise. The room was well appointed and comfortable with quite a good restaurant next door. Across the road is a small shopping center which has a supermarket, chemist, etc. From memory, it was about a $40 taxi fare from the airport and around $20 to the cruise ship terminal. I would highly recommend it for a cost effective layover

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Great value, great service. We have stayed here multiple times. Only issue is the WIFi is far from reliable - hopefully they will sort that out soon!!! I am told they are doing renos during this next year, so perhaps they will address it then.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, I am very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your multiple stays with us and we hope to see you again in the future. In response to the issues with the wireless internet, we are always looking to improve in this aspect, recently we added several access points to problem areas and also changed the password in an effort to prevent unauthorized usage. If you continue to have issues during future stays please contact the front desk and we can have out technical support look into the system immediately and have the room number on file so that we can add more access points to better serve our guests.

Thank you,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We knew nothing about Vancouver or where to stay. We searched for a decent place to spend 3 nights before our cruise. We searched Tripadvisor and found this place. We booked our reservations and prayed <LOL>. We were not disappointed by the choice either. It was a great value. The hotel staff were great and so very helpful. We rented a car and the staff helped us get around so easily. So much better than the directions that the car rental place gave us.

The staff was so friendly and helpful in every aspect of our stay. I'd stay there again when in Vancouver.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side would be quieter since the front of the hotel (south side) is on Kingsway wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel, and especially thank you for the kind words in regards to the staff. I am very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that we were able to provide you with great service and quality accommodations, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, Usa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This Best Western is a great place to stay. It is easy to get to. The room is very clean with a comfortable bed. The free breakfast was very good. The employees at this Best Western are great, very helpful and always cherry.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel and thank you very much for the compliments, we are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Really impressed with the reciption and check in, this guy kept things very simple and very friendly . . . even though he was very much flat out . . . very impressed. Vanc is always nice and the proximity to resturants is cool too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and for the compliments, I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

A great location not too far from public transportation. Near some excellent restaurants, a wide variety of ethnic choices. Great pastries at breakfast. Oddly shaped rooms, nice view.

We experienced some issues as a water line was replaced and leakage caused a fire alarm in the night. The staff handled things extremely well, apologies by letter and a comped room appeared first thing in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a review and top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of the hotel, I am happy to hear that you were pleased with the staff and our reaction to the incident with the water line. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel

Address: 205 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5T 3J5, Canada (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Mt. Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#40 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#44 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#44 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.