We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5T 3J5, Canada (Formerly Comfort Inn) (Mt. Pleasant)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #45 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Charlotte, North Carolina, Usa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This Best Western is a great place to stay. It is easy to get to. The room is very clean with a comfortable bed. The free breakfast was very good. The employees at this Best Western are great, very helpful and always cherry.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel and thank you very much for the compliments, we are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    266
    72
    11
    12
See reviews for
131
219
51
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Really impressed with the reciption and check in, this guy kept things very simple and very friendly . . . even though he was very much flat out . . . very impressed. Vanc is always nice and the proximity to resturants is cool too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and for the compliments, I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

A great location not too far from public transportation. Near some excellent restaurants, a wide variety of ethnic choices. Great pastries at breakfast. Oddly shaped rooms, nice view.

We experienced some issues as a water line was replaced and leakage caused a fire alarm in the night. The staff handled things extremely well, apologies by letter and a comped room appeared first thing in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a review and top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of the hotel, I am happy to hear that you were pleased with the staff and our reaction to the incident with the water line. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Hotel is in Uptown within walking range to Skytrain and bus is near. Accomodation is excellent very high quality and the breakfast is all that you need , mainly continental. Rooms are quiet and very appealing for the price. We walked into central Vancouver which too about 50 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

I made my eight day paid in advance reservation with some trepidation as the reviews in TA were normally glowing but without details or hated the place but appeared overwrought. Overall its a clean and comfortable hotel in a kinda weird area and with a odd configuration.

Admittedly Vancouver brought a lot of things from Europe when it was build. Inadequate roads, high gas prices the french, and the plans for the Uptown. About half the rooms are normal sized rectangular rooms, some are quite a bit smaller and several are in odd configurations. My first room didn't have a fridge or microwave but the very nice front office staff was happy to move me. If you booked this hotel in London at these prices you would be tickled pink. If you are expecting normal american sized rooms you wont be happy.

the beds are semi firm but soft enough, large flat screens and crazy fast 30 mb wifi speed made it a deal for me.

Breakfast didn't vary much but there was enough to change it up day to day. four kinds of cold cereal, a nice pastry counter, breads, a hot meat, normally turkey bacon or sausage and pre made scrambled egg pucks. make it your self waffles and yogurt along with various beverages.

Yes the parking is crazy tight and weird pillars and angles make it difficult for all but the smallest of cars. my favorite became the space by the cardboard recycler dumpster, which gave you enough space to get out of the car. Some places the cement and bricks don't come together right and there is a parallel hall on the first floor, the narrow stairwells smell of carpet glue and the 16 foot ceilings on the forth floor that make you think the building was refurbished from the 30's but it was built in the 90's over a old taxi stand.

Overall its well cared for, comfortable and clean with a very friendly and helpful staff. It's in a mixed use area, light industrial, residential, a small mall and expensive condo units along with dive bars and the occasional hippy that talks to his dog, but overall i felt safe and comfortable (during the day) and the hotel was a great deal. I would stay again. Book a king or double room for the bigger rooms.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you very much for providing such an insightful review of the hotel, surrounding area and the city of Vancouver, I am happy to hear that your stay with us was pleasant and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromont, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We picked this place using frequent flyer miles and did not expect anything out of the ordinary. This is a no frills hotel with breakfast included. Our room was just spacious enough, our queen bed was comfortable, the place is clean and very quiet (no noise from the corridor or the street - even if it was full the whole time we were there). The staff is friendly and helpful.

Considering that we were not downtown and without car, we were a bit worried about location, but this was not an issue once we figured our way with the well organized public transit system in Vancouver. At the corner of Broadway and Kingsway/Main, the major advantage of this hotel is being close to main bus lines (for those who don't visit by car). You get wherever you want on the East-West axis using 009/099, the Canada Line is two bus stop west. It is a short 20 minutes ride to Canada Place, Gastown, City Centre via bus 019 or 008. There is also BC Cycle Rentals on Quebec Street/6th, a 10 minute walk from the hotel where you can rent good quality city bicycles and visit the city on two wheels (we highly recommend this safe option).

The only down point is the breakfast room. The continental breakfast choice is fine (eggs, sausage, bacon, pastries, yogurt, bread, bagels, cereals, fruits, juices and coffee) and well tended, however the room is a bit too cramped for its success. There was always some elbowing in the morning. A couple more square feet would help reduce the tension before the first coffee.

Room Tip: Third floor was very quiet. There is no ice/vending machine on this floor - so you don't get ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide such an informative review for our guests, I am very happy that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you found the location to be very convenient. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I was only here for 3 nights. I booked this hotel through priceline. The price was reasonable and the location was what I was looking for. We had a room on the first floor. Nothing fancy. The room (and bathroom) was clean, had internet and tv, and overall met our basic needs. They served breakfast every morning and had enough options to pick from so you could get through the morning.

The hotel is right off Kingsway, which is a pretty busy road, but the noise wasn't too bad. I really liked how you could just walk over to the restaurants/shops on Main Street in 5-10 minutes. There's an underground garage if you have a rental car, but parking was pretty tight down there.

Overall, average hotel experience with a good location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, in the near future the hotel will be undergoing a lot of changes and we hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we may have the opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Thank you,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Fairview
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#44 of 96 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#57 of 96 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
#49 of 96 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 815 reviews
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#15 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel

Address: 205 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5T 3J5, Canada (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Mt. Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#38 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#41 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#41 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.