We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Uptown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5T 3J5, Canada (Formerly Comfort Inn) (Mt. Pleasant)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #46 of 97 Hotels in Vancouver
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Western Uptown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Hotel is in Uptown within walking range to Skytrain and bus is near. Accomodation is excellent very high quality and the breakfast is all that you need , mainly continental. Rooms are quiet and very appealing for the price. We walked into central Vancouver which too about 50 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    190
    55
    11
    10
See reviews for
86
167
37
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

I made my eight day paid in advance reservation with some trepidation as the reviews in TA were normally glowing but without details or hated the place but appeared overwrought. Overall its a clean and comfortable hotel in a kinda weird area and with a odd configuration.

Admittedly Vancouver brought a lot of things from Europe when it was build. Inadequate roads, high gas prices the french, and the plans for the Uptown. About half the rooms are normal sized rectangular rooms, some are quite a bit smaller and several are in odd configurations. My first room didn't have a fridge or microwave but the very nice front office staff was happy to move me. If you booked this hotel in London at these prices you would be tickled pink. If you are expecting normal american sized rooms you wont be happy.

the beds are semi firm but soft enough, large flat screens and crazy fast 30 mb wifi speed made it a deal for me.

Breakfast didn't vary much but there was enough to change it up day to day. four kinds of cold cereal, a nice pastry counter, breads, a hot meat, normally turkey bacon or sausage and pre made scrambled egg pucks. make it your self waffles and yogurt along with various beverages.

Yes the parking is crazy tight and weird pillars and angles make it difficult for all but the smallest of cars. my favorite became the space by the cardboard recycler dumpster, which gave you enough space to get out of the car. Some places the cement and bricks don't come together right and there is a parallel hall on the first floor, the narrow stairwells smell of carpet glue and the 16 foot ceilings on the forth floor that make you think the building was refurbished from the 30's but it was built in the 90's over a old taxi stand.

Overall its well cared for, comfortable and clean with a very friendly and helpful staff. It's in a mixed use area, light industrial, residential, a small mall and expensive condo units along with dive bars and the occasional hippy that talks to his dog, but overall i felt safe and comfortable (during the day) and the hotel was a great deal. I would stay again. Book a king or double room for the bigger rooms.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you very much for providing such an insightful review of the hotel, surrounding area and the city of Vancouver, I am happy to hear that your stay with us was pleasant and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromont, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We picked this place using frequent flyer miles and did not expect anything out of the ordinary. This is a no frills hotel with breakfast included. Our room was just spacious enough, our queen bed was comfortable, the place is clean and very quiet (no noise from the corridor or the street - even if it was full the whole time we were there). The staff is friendly and helpful.

Considering that we were not downtown and without car, we were a bit worried about location, but this was not an issue once we figured our way with the well organized public transit system in Vancouver. At the corner of Broadway and Kingsway/Main, the major advantage of this hotel is being close to main bus lines (for those who don't visit by car). You get wherever you want on the East-West axis using 009/099, the Canada Line is two bus stop west. It is a short 20 minutes ride to Canada Place, Gastown, City Centre via bus 019 or 008. There is also BC Cycle Rentals on Quebec Street/6th, a 10 minute walk from the hotel where you can rent good quality city bicycles and visit the city on two wheels (we highly recommend this safe option).

The only down point is the breakfast room. The continental breakfast choice is fine (eggs, sausage, bacon, pastries, yogurt, bread, bagels, cereals, fruits, juices and coffee) and well tended, however the room is a bit too cramped for its success. There was always some elbowing in the morning. A couple more square feet would help reduce the tension before the first coffee.

Room Tip: Third floor was very quiet. There is no ice/vending machine on this floor - so you don't get ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide such an informative review for our guests, I am very happy that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you found the location to be very convenient. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I was only here for 3 nights. I booked this hotel through priceline. The price was reasonable and the location was what I was looking for. We had a room on the first floor. Nothing fancy. The room (and bathroom) was clean, had internet and tv, and overall met our basic needs. They served breakfast every morning and had enough options to pick from so you could get through the morning.

The hotel is right off Kingsway, which is a pretty busy road, but the noise wasn't too bad. I really liked how you could just walk over to the restaurants/shops on Main Street in 5-10 minutes. There's an underground garage if you have a rental car, but parking was pretty tight down there.

Overall, average hotel experience with a good location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, in the near future the hotel will be undergoing a lot of changes and we hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we may have the opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Thank you,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I left after 3 hours and went to another hotel even though I prepaid for this dump. Run down, room and stairway smelled like 3 families of cats had been urinating there for years. The room I got on the 2nd floor was right above a very busy street with a traffic light and even with earplugs in and a pillow on my head was so loud I couldn't even imagine sleeping through. Do not stay here unless you are deaf.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Good day KevinCanada,

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy our hotel, we realize that our property is not the optimal accommodation for everyone. However we take pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and often receive compliments on how well kept it is. I would appreciate if you could provide me with an email detailing the issues you had incurred with our hotel so that I may look into these problems personally and have them corrected. As far as I know your only complaint made with the General Manager was due to the traffic noise from Kingsway for your troubles you were provided with a full refund despite the fact that you had booked a non-refundable reservation.

Our main goal is always guest satisfaction, as such we always do our best to be upfront with all of our guests. We do not deny that Kingsway is a major corridor in Vancouver, the hotel experiences advantages and disadvantages of its location on this street. However if a request is made in advance of check in and in most cases at the time of or shortly after check in we will gladly assign a room that is quieter for you. We have 66% of our rooms situated in the quieter regions of the hotel as such this allows us to address such requests at a fairly high success rate.

Thank you very much, we hope that you will continue to use Best Western for your accommodation needs in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

6 nights: This hotel was recommended to me by a Vancouver friend, and it was a great recommendation. I lost most of my eyesight on the flight in and by my first morning was pretty much blind. I spent a week here and the staff was nothing short of spectacular in helping me with my unexpected impairment, getting me to appointments and a couple of day surgeries, finding me another room and moving me when my stay had to be extended before I could fly home, etc., etc. They did everything I needed or wanted, and I felt like I was with professional people who looked out for me. My room(s) were a good size and quiet, and the hot breakfast was very enjoyable and I liked the ambiance- you could sit by yourself or converse with others. Room rates are very good and the location handy for most things too. I'm sure it was clean, but I couldn't really tell ;>) Best hotel experience ever.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, it pleases me so much when a guest feels that the level of service we provided was outstanding. I am very happy to hear that all the staff was more then helpful especially considering your circumstances. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegar, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Every time I come to Vancouver, I stay at the Uptown. The staff is fantastic. Great quiet rooms and good breakfast! The location is convenient to public transportation or an easy drive from all directions. I highly recommend the Uptown!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you very much for the very kind words, I will be sure to pass on the compliments to the Front Desk staff. I am always happy to hear such reviews from repeat guests and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel

Address: 205 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5T 3J5, Canada (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Mt. Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#42 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#44 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#47 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.