We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second stay. Would use again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5T 3J5, Canada (Formerly Comfort Inn) (Mt. Pleasant)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #46 of 97 Hotels in Vancouver
British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Our second stay. Would use again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We first used this hotel when we saw Ron Sexsmith at the Rio Theatre. On our second stay we were in town to see Harry Manx. If you are going to an event at the Rio this is a great place to stay as it is a short cab ride away. Also conveniently located next to the hotel is a Buy Low supermarket which is handy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, its always a pleasure to hear that our hotel and the service we provide has earned us a loyal customer and we look forward to seeing you in the future, whether it be for shows at the Rio or other reasons.

Thank you,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    199
    56
    11
    11
See reviews for
89
175
37
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Saanich, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Due to a medical emergency, we picked this facility because it's relatively close to the Vancouver General Hospital and an adjacent medical clinic. To begin with, the front office was extremely accommodating us and those who might be considering this hotel because of medical appointments that require overnight stays might wish to call the hotel directly when making a reservation. You will find them most helpful.

We have always found the Best Western name to be consistent with reasonably priced accommodation, clean rooms and overall good service and this hotel certainly met all expectations and perhaps a bit more. The rooms are a good size, well appointed and were immaculately maintained. We would add the beds were extremely comfortable as well. The Kingsway in Vancouver is a very busy thoroughfare and we were surprised how quiet the room was to the extent that except for one siren, we heard no traffic noise. Like most Best Western facilities we have stayed at in recent years, there us a continental breakfast included in the room charge and while not spectacular, it is certainly adequate and met our needs.

The location is both a positive and a negative. There is great access to virtually all points in Vancouver including downtown by public transit on Kingsway, as well as Main Street and Broadway which are less than two block from the hotel. The negative is that this area, while not grotty in the strictest sense of the word, does not have a lot of positive aspects in terms of amenities like parks or walking paths. It is in the middle of a commercial area consisting of numerous shops and strip mall businesses. There is a small shopping mall immediately across the street to the north with a major pharmacy, a grocery store and a number of specialty stores but by itself it would not be considered one of Vancouver's premier shopping malls.

So far as the hotel proper, it is very good value for money and priced well below others in the area and certainly as well or better appointed than most. The hotel does have a parking garage but be aware that it is small and very constricted. While there would be no real challenge to parking a sub-compact or compact vehicle in most of the stalls but drivers of mid-size and larger vehicles may find it a real challenge if the upper stalls are filled. You might wish to advise the hotel if you do have a larger vehicle at the time you make a reservation.

There are any number of restaurants in the area but none directly in the hotel itself. A small restaurant featuring Italian cuisine is located a few metres to the east of the hotel entrance and we felt it offered very good fare and superb service at extremely reasonable prices. You are in walking distance of any number of restaurants elsewhere in the area.

Would we stay there again? Under the same circumstances, most definitely. Given the relatively high prices for accommodations in much of Vancouver, this facility is very good value for the money. It location is both a positive and a negative depending on one's viewpoint. Those who are used to the Best Western brand and standard will find this facility will meet their expectations if not actually exceeding it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide such an in depth review of our hotel, I am always happy to hear when a guest has enjoyed both our hotel and service. Considering the circumstances of your visit it pleases me to hear that we were able to make your stay with us as comfortable as possible.

Once again thank you and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I love this hotel, staff friendly helpful, rooms very clean and comfortable. Breakfast exceptional ! Coffee great. Close to all amenities. Would highly recommend this ! Close to bus lines, Ferry to Granville, a wide variety of restaurants, coffee shops. Shopping a short bus ride away. Hotel situated across the street from a small plaza, featuring grocery store and pharmacy. Can't say enough about this hotel and its area. Always look forward to being able to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were able to have fun exploring our city and the neighborhood of Mount Pleasant. We look forward to your future stays with us.


Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This are one of those places perfect if you wish to stay close to the main attractions, with plenty of transportation options. Close to the Train station to the airport, bus to everywhere.

This is a simple hotel. But, the rooms have good size, very clean, quiet, good mattress, towels, good breakfasts, correct and kind service.

I think they are finishing a total renewal, my room was a brand new one!!!!!

Also, you don't need to pay for a cab, from/to Airport at Vancouver.
Use the train! 4 minutes interval, 8 minutes to Broadway station. it's fast, cheap CAD $9.00. And, if you need to get bus to another place, the ticket is usable for the period of 90minutes.
Perfect!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and thank you for your travel tips to help our future guests.

Sincerely.

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We've stayed several times at this hotel over the past 8 years. There have only been 2 times when there was an issue and the hotel staff dealt with both issues promptly and proffessionally. We will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
I am always happy to hear from a loyal guest and we are happy to have earned your repeated business over the years. Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review and we look forward to your next stay with us.


Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a basic no frills hotel that provided me with a comfortable overnight stay, a good example of how a hotel of this type should be - clean, quiet, courteous staff, fair pricing, and well situated for access to nearby downtown or for heading to other parts of the city. The typical continental breakfast could use a little boost with a reno to the tiny room it is in and maybe a few more interesting food items(hint: HIE draws a lot of people in with their unique cinnamon rolls) but I digress. I would definitely stay here again, a good choice for when visiting Vancouver.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing Kingsway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you very much to your review of our hotel, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for the advise. We have had cinnamon rolls in the past though they were not overly popular at the time, we will give it another try and see what the people response is as we make it a constant effort to improve our breakfast. As for renovations, many have already taken place in the public areas and we will continue to over the coming months with other small projects to enhance the rooms.

Thank you,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langley, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Want to stay close to downtown Vancouver? This hotel is well run, clean and super value. Good parking available, buses to anywhere are nearby and so is Skytrain. We had 4 rooms with our guests for a family wedding, everyone was happy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel and for the kind words, I am happy to hear that we were able to make your stay with us a good one and we hope to see you again in the near future.

P.S. Congratulations to the newly weds.

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel

Address: 205 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5T 3J5, Canada (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Mt. Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#44 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#44 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#48 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.