We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Vancouver” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5T 3J5, Canada (Formerly Comfort Inn) (Mt. Pleasant)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #45 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in Vancouver”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel is located a few miles south of the downtown area. If you are wanting to visit downtown or Stanley park you will need to drive or I recommend using the bus system. The parking is extremely limited and very difficult. Make sure you have small car to park in their garage. I also recommend parking your car and leaving it in the parking garage or you will lose your place and half to park on the street. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The staff is pretty helpful. Vancouver is a very pretty city to visit. Canadian folks are very friendly and helpful. We traveled all over the city and always felt safe.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Good day,

I am very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable visit to Vancouver and that you were pleased with our hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to provide your insite regarding our hotel and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    209
    59
    11
    11
See reviews for
94
186
40
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

I had read the reviews and saw most was Ok but parking was small. Man he wasn't kidding, but that wasn't the worst. We were in the room right behind the front desk. It was small and I mean small, loud, and not private. We constantly heard noises throughout the night, people walking by, sirens, workers moving chairs, the breakfast area. It was not relaxing at all. The parking lot was the smallest I've ever seen. The area didn't look safe to walk around and find restaurants or shops. If you decide to stay here for the price, make a request of a higher floor! But I would not recommend this hotel unless there is absolutely nothing else available.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
I am sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy your stay with us at the Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, we strive to proved the absolute best customer experience for all our guests. However we do realize that some of our properties limitations do not please all of our customers. It is true the underground parking is very small and this is just one of the reasons we do not charge for parking, we also provide parking in the evening from 9pm to 9am in an adjacent lot if you are not comfortable in our underground lot. As for the ground floor rooms, we have a seperate room type to specifically book the ground floor rooms and when we book these rooms we do notify the guest that they are booking a ground floor room when we take a reservation direct at the hotel and on our websites you would choose a standard Queen room or a Queen Ground floor room, unfortunately if you book via a 3rd party they will book you a bed type not room type so they will offer you a Queen room but this means you can be booked into the ground floor room with out your consent. The Area itself is very nice some of the surrounding buildings may be a little bit weathered, however we are seeing a big shift in this neighborhood with many condominiums being built or planned it is indeed an area in transition, off the main streets you will find very quaint tree lined residential areas that consist of very little commercial business.

Once again I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, though I hope you will continue to use Best Western for your accomodation needs in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed early October 2011. Close to some very good restaurants and bus routes. Took bus to Sky Train then Sky Train to airport. Rooms may be small but who cares if you're just sleeping there. Very clean. Breakfast included. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armstrong, BC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here in March and again in September. In March I wrote a review that said our room was extremely small however this time we had a room that was very spacious with a microwave and fridge (which our March room did not have). Nice to have when staying four nights. We faced the courtyard so it was quiet. Only complaint would be that they didn't have spikes over every window for the pigeons so we couldn't open our window far because pigeons were on our sill around our window, over our window, etc. If cigarette smoke is an issue, the courtyard does attract the smokers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your review, I am happy to hear your second stay with us was even more pleasurable then your initial stay, the room type you had likely booked for your first stay was a Queen room, and they are the smallest in the hotel and do not come equipped with a fridge and microwave (this option is always on a request only basis for our King rooms and double rooms)

As for the pigeon problem, this is an issue we have been trying to solve for sometime, unfortunately many of the solutions have had limited or temporary success and we would prefer not to have the entire building covered in spikes which in many applications would prohibit the opening of windows in our rooms. We hope to have this issue under control in the near future and will continue to work with outside sources to find a solution.

Thank you,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed here with my partner for 4 nights whilst we explored Vancouver. In terms of location, it is worth bearing in mind that it is a good (we're fast walkers) 15 minute walk to the nearest SkyTrain station (uphill all the way back), but it is on some main bus routes if you don't fancy it. The hotel is busy and the number of rooms means that it feels a little squeezed, eg rooms are relatively small, there is only one (very very slow) elevator, and the breakfast room is very small for the number of guests using it. However, it is reasonably priced, clean, and the staff are friendly. The breakfast offering, although in a small room, is excellent considering it is included in the room price. Not many restaurants nearby, although the excellent La Petite Cuillere tea room is on the route into Downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you in the future.

And the next time your in Vancouver, we would love to reccomend you to some very nice dining options in the neighborhood.

Thank you,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire,England
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
239 hotel reviews
Reviews in 225 cities Reviews in 225 cities
361 helpful votes 361 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

attracted by the price, a grotty looking area but actually has super expensive cafe, restaurants, bards all quite near and just a few minutes trolleybus ride from city centre. Very small rooms and breakfast a travesty of the concept, North America at it's worst but as a budget option we slept well . Can't think of much other than budget, lack of affordable options, hell in breakfast place, so little fresh produce, yes it is cheap, looked cheap etc. You get what you pay for. Cannot imagine where some of the other reviews came from, remember Best Western is not a chain but a franchise so quality varies all over the world, I've found few that excel.

Room Tip: Unless you are very confident in poor looking areas avoid a room in this hotel although it is better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, I am sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We understand the challenges of providing a complimentary breakfast in such a small area, and unfortunately that is one hurdle we simply do not have the space to overcome, we have tried to alleviate as much of the congestion as possible by extending the breakfast hours by 1 hour, and have arranged the counter space to have a more natural flow. As for the product, we are very happy as most are with the product we serve, our pastries are baked fresh and delivered just prior to the set up of the breakfast each morning, we also offer fresh waffles, scrambles egg patties, and either bacon or sausage aswell, we also offer 3 fruit options (bananas, apples and oranges) and both hot and cold cereal, yogurt bagels and english muffins.

Thank you,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Vancouver is expensive for lodgings. This is a little gem just outside of downtown Vancouver.

The design of the hotel maximizes space in the busy but cool residential part of town just south of downtown. As such our room was a bit awkward in layout BUT it had it all. Microwave, fridge, comfy double bed, a nice big comfy chair, a desk, and a nice bathroom.

The location is great. You can be downtown on foot in half an hour, or on a bus in a matter of minutes. You're not that far from a Skytrain either. You can enjoy the neighbourhood you're in too, with a lot of boutique fashion places, and loads of independent eateries, a few closeby specifically vegetarian.

There is a very generous breakfast in this hotel. Hot food--scrambled eggs and bacon or a sausage patty. Waffle maker. Bread, bagels, croissants, danishes, muffins, apples, bananas, yogourts, coffee, tea, milk, cream, lemonade, apple juice, orange juice, hot cereal, cold cereal, water... The only thing was that the place was packed with guests :)

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

There is complimentary parking too. The spots are tight but hey, you can get rid of your car and just enjoy Vancouver on foot, on bike, or by city transit.

Room Tip: It is handy to stay right on the first floor, to get a fridge/microwave room, to be close to the kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your very indepth review I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and in Vancouver, we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel

Address: 205 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5T 3J5, Canada (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Mt. Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#41 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#44 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#44 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.