We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When we go back to Vancouver, we’ll stay at Carmana again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmana Plaza

Save Saved
You added Carmana Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carmana Plaza
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1128 Alberni Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R6, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
Barendrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“When we go back to Vancouver, we’ll stay at Carmana again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

The Room: We had a standard suite with a Modern Interior (room no 804). We really liked it: it is clean, light and everything you need is provided (great kitchen!). We could imagine that some travelers find it a little sterile, but Carmana also offers a more traditional suite. The big plus of the room are the “top-floor” windows and the view (see pictures). A little dissapointing is the fact that you have to pay almost $10 for one day internet...

Location: The hotel is located at Alberni st. (a very short walk from Robson st.). Parking your car in a parking lot will cost you an add. $15. There is no breakfast room or restaurant, but…. your in Vancouver: so go out and search for it! If not: there is a Supermarket across the street and a BC liquor store nearby. The downside of the location (in the middle of a city) is the noise early mornings (trucks unloading, trucks emptying garbage containers)

Staff: The staff is courteous and helpful.

Conclusion: When we go back to Vancouver, we’ll stay at Carmana again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    94
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
79
81
13
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, B.C. Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Very good location in central downtown Vancouver. This is a clean well run hotel. Although the checkin seemed somewhat impersonal. The underground parking lacked signage, so one could find their way back to the lobby and elevators.
The rooms were very spacious, and modern with full kitchen suite facilities. The parking was $15. per nite.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

Perfect location for exploring the City and close to the Canada Line for airport links. Tour buses and public transport nearby as well as Sky harbour
Rooms were large and perfect for a family with access to two bathrooms. everywhere was spotless though sparse but hey, how much time do you spend in a hotel room anyway. Could have done with some more pictures on the walls though.
Gym and laundry facilities were spot on and the deli opposite provied a good range of food stuffs including cooked meals to take out.
The staff were very helpful and friendly and helped deliver our 'lost' son back to the right floor with a minimum of fuss despite the tears.
Overall this is much preferable to a hotel room. My only complaint was the exhorbitant charge for internet access (but the front desk recomended a cafe nearby with free access in any event)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

Family on holiday for three nights with two yound kids (7 and 4). Two bedroom apartment on 29th floor. Absolutely great stay. Slept so well. Apartment is a great size and well appointed. Very good kitchen which we cooked in all nights. Plenty of space for everyone. It was a corner apartment with amazing views of the city too.

Great location. 20 minutes walk to Stanley Park. <5 minutes walk to various forms of transport and city. 10 minutes to Canada Place. Great supermarket across the road and a liquor store next door. Heaps of restaurants.

Front desk staff were great - really went out of their way to help. Room cleaning staff were a little slow. Came home at 4 pm one day and they were just starting our room and wanted it for an hour! But I am nitpicking.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

The hotel is cheaply constructed, poor soundproofing and the street noise at night is terrible. the room fit out is sparse, and basic. Staff are generally smiling but indifferent to your needs, the hotel has limited resources, and other than the location, there is nothing to recommend about this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

We just came back from Vancouver yesterday for the Winter Olympics and had a great time at the Carmana Plaza. All the rooms are suite like, with a full kitchen, dining area, living area, bathroom, and separate bedroom.

The best part of this hotel is the location. It is right in the middle of downtown Vancouver and we were able to access all the restaurants and high end shopping within a block or so. The view from the hotel overlooked downtown and the water - excellent location.

We needed an extra cot and the hotel set up the cot in our room and it was quite comfortable. Rooms were well appointed to daily.

The staff were friendly and were very helpful with directions and guidance.

Also this hotel had internet available in the room with no charge and provided bottle water daily. No complaints from me, the Carmana Plaza was a nice experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
426 helpful votes 426 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

And here's another hotel I won't be staying in again. The Carmana Plaza is based in central Vancouver and is very convenient for business/tourism. The rooms are more like suites, with large beds and a kitchen and a separate living area. Great, I thought, until I was dynamited out of my sleep at 6 am on the following day, a Sunday. I looked out of the window and there was a man with a large water compressor cleaning the sidewalk outside the grocery store opposite. I went downstairs and asked the front desk whether they could ask him to stop. "He has nothing to do with us," was the surly response. "But you must be concerned when people in your hotel can't sleep beyond 6 am on a Sunday, surely?" I asked. They didn't bother to answer me. Business must have been good.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carmana Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmana Plaza

Address: 1128 Alberni Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#37 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmana Plaza 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Carmana Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmana Plaza Vancouver
Carmana Plaza Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmana Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.