We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in the middle of Vancouver city.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmana Plaza

Save Saved
You added Carmana Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carmana Plaza
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1128 Alberni Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R6, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in the middle of Vancouver city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel for two days before joining our tour of Canada Alaska and one day on our return from our cruise and both times the accommodation at this hotel was terrific.
The hotel is more of an apartment type accommodation. The apartment we had both times was clean and fresh and roomy. With a separate bedroom, lounge area, small dining table and chairs, a small but functional bathroom and a kitchen area with full size fridge/freezer, microwave, dishwasher and even a coffee machine we had all the creature comforts of home for the three days we stayed there. They also have a laundry in the hotel (I think it was on the 3rd floor). There was even a small balcony overlooking the city street below.
The bedroom is a little small in comparison to the rest of the apartment but the bed was very comfortable.
There is a small grocery store directly over the road called "Urban Fare" where you can pick up any groceries you need. Joe Forte's Seafood and Chop House is literally around the corner and is definitely worth going there for a great seafood meal.
There is building work going on next door which is a long way off being finished, but our room was on the other side of the hotel so we had no problem with any noise at all. Make sure you ask for a room on the other side of the hotel to the side of where the building work is going on just to be sure you have a quiet room.
We had a delicious cooked full breakfast a few doors down at A&W Burgers. It doesn't look like much from the outside but inside you could not fault the service and the food was delicious and at a great price.
Would definitely stay here again if we ever go to Vancouver again. Certainly would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner suites have corner balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    103
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
86
87
13
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just what we needed! Great location, and really spacious and clean apartment which became our home away from home. The staff was really great and very courteous. There were tons of restaurants around, as well as supermarkets within walking distance.

Room Tip: Right now there is some construction going on, so if you're picky, ask for a room that's awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Pros:
-Downtown central location
-Full kitchen
-Large rooms (Bedroom, Living room, kitchen, sun room)
-Reasonable rate in comparison to some of surrounding hotels
-Solid quality
-Good service

Cons:
-Beds may be softer than what you desire

Overall: This is a great centrally located hotel. Although they may not have all the bells and whistles of a 5 star hotel, everything you'd expect (& need) to be there is present. The end result is that you'll get a large, relatively cheap bedroom that's in good shape and clean.

Room Tip: The side facing Thurlow street is currently under construction (2013) and although I was never woken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Spacious modern apartment with large kitchen, bedroom good size with plenty of closet space.
The location is great...close by to Robson St shopping area and there is a large supermarket with plenty of organic produce right across the street. Secure car parking for $25 a day if needed.

We are able to cook our own breakfast and dinner which is great if we desire.
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: The rooms are all suites here. 1 or 2 bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashtead
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We arrived yesterday direct from London and when we got to our room found ourselves in a home from home. The 1 bedroom suite is as bigger than most flats and well fitted out. After a long flight it was a comfortable bed awaiting us.

Directly acroos the street is a supermarket that serves good food and it is in the centre of Downtown. Friendly and heplful staff for us are making it a superb base to explore Vancouver.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We checked into this Great Hotel overnight ,on our way to Alaska via Celebrity Cruises,the location is ideal,within easy walking of numerous restaurants,shopping and the Waterfront.
The Suites are very well equipped,with a comfortable bed,sitting area,with modern Television ,a kitchenette,comprising of ,Microwave Oven,fridge freezer,oven,washing machine,coffee maker,sink .
Our suite had a balcony,with a table and chairs,affording us great views of the City.
Underground secure car parking is available,which is essential,as car parking is difficult in this very busy location.

Room Tip: Best suites at the rear facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ten Boer
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I had picked Carmana Plaza initially because of the location and the in my eyes reasonable prices (hotels in Vancouver are expensive!). But when I entered my room I was in for a nice surprise. Bacause when you book a room, it is not so much a room that you get but a small apartment or suite. With a master room, a small dining soom, a kitchen, a separate bed- and bathroom. Everything clean and with complementary WiFi. Not bad.
The location is ideal with both the harbour front and Robson Street on walking distance. Actually, Robson Street, the main shopping street, is only one block away.
There is no restaurant attached to the hotel, so you will have to provide for your own breakfast. And other meals. Which in itself is no problem as there are a number of restaurants in the vicinity and a grocery store/supermarket just across the street.
There is one thing to take into account. Next door, on Thurlow Street, a new sky scraper is being built. And although I had no noise problems I cannot guarantee so for the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmana Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmana Plaza

Address: 1128 Alberni Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#36 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmana Plaza 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Carmana Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmana Plaza Vancouver
Carmana Plaza Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmana Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.