We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy but very well maintained and spacious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmana Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Carmana Plaza to your Saves list
Carmana Plaza
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1128 Alberni Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R6, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy but very well maintained and spacious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Spend 3 nights at the Plaza last week on 2 different occasions (beginning and end of a 10-day trip in BC), so We had the chance to try 2 different rooms. The location of the hotel is great, it's right in the middle of downtown and walking distance from all the action (restaurants, shopping, etc).

This is a condo-hotel concept so the rooms are basically one-bedroom apartments, so they are quite spacious and have a complete kitchen. The rooms are very clean but expect a '90s look inside the unit.

I recommend if you are looking for a place that's centrally located and that offers a good value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    119
    17
    4
    7
See reviews for
99
101
17
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Carmana Plaza is in a great location - right in the centre of the Robson Street shopping precinct and within walking distance of Stanley Park, the waterfront and around the corner from the free shuttle to Capilano. The suites are also spacious with plenty of natural light. Not the cheapest place in town, but good value. The biggest problem we had during our stay (several nights) was communication with the front desk. The hotel appears very popular with Japanese tourists and is staffed as such and with English as a second language it can be challenge to get the message correct. No problem though - we simply made greater user of the excellent concierge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barendrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Back in 2010 we wrote: “When we go back to Vancouver, we’ll stay at Carmana again”. And we did go back to Carmana Plaza; four times after our first review :-), this should tell you enough.

The Room: The first time we stayed at Carmana we had a standard suite with a Modern Interior (room no. 804). But the other times we took the executive one bedroom suites. These rooms were located between the 18th and 23th floor; primary reason for this: they are located on higher floors than the standard suites (see our remark about the location; the additional features are nice (see the website of the hotel), but not important for us) and the additional cost is acceptable.
All the rooms we stayed at are clean and there is a kitchen with all the basic utensils, dishwasher et cetera. So you don’t have to go out every evening for dinner. The rooms are Modern and really basic. We liked it, but that’s personal (maybe you recognise some of the furniture, the nightstands for example are from IKEA)
Some of the rooms have a balcony (it’s nice, but windy) and the views depends upon the site of the hotel (duh…).The City view is by far the best (see the pictures), so if possible and available: ask for a City View room when you check-in. Besides that: there are some minor differences in the lay-out, but nothing that is worth mentioning here.

Location: The hotel is located at Alberni st. We’ve looked for other hotels or private rentals (within the same price range of course) but it is hard to find another location with a comparable view and on this location. There is no breakfast room or restaurant, but you’re in Vancouver: so that isn’t a problem! Besides that there is a Supermarket across the street and a BC liquor store nearby.

Remark: The downside of the location (in the middle of a city) is the noise early mornings (trucks unloading, trucks emptying garbage containers). But during our last stays on the higher floors there was no noise (besides the standard city sounds).
During our last stay (Aug 2012) they were breaking down the multi-storey car-park that is located directly next Carmana Plaza. We didn’t hear a thing but maybe it’s smart to ask about the status of the (de)construction work when you make a reservation.

Staff: The staff has been courteous and helpful during all our stays and we had no problem at all during the reservation process.

Conclusion: It isn’t cheap (but what is in Vancouver…) but: we will go back to Carmana when we go to Vancouver for a couple of days! Questions? Send a message!

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a very well located hotel. The suites have a kitchen, which is great if you don't want to eat out every day. There are great restaurants around the corner. It's very close to the Waterfront Canada Line station so it's fairly easy to travel to/from the airport.

It's not the fanciest hotel, but the suites are spotless, the beds are comfy and the service is excellent. I throw my clothes everywhere and they would be folded! Very friendly front desk staff. A real gem in downtown Vancouver.

There's also a balcony and the views from the higher floors can't be missed!

The only odd bit about the hotel is that there was a small room in my suite that I think is supposed to be for a washer/dryer unit and there's a very loud unit in this room (A/C maybe?), but you get used to it.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of the city, mountains and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Clean, comfortable, good central location and nice to have the kitchen facility as there is no restaurant on site. Only negative was that our room was not ready when we tried to check in at 4.15pm and the staff could not give an estimate of how long we would have to wait.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This charming hotel is situated in the bustling area of Alberni Street, close to Robson Street and just a short walk to the business core of downtown. Lots of restaurants in the block offer you a plethora of international cuisines. The staff are extremely pleasant and efficient.
My suite was on the 30th floor with a great view of the city and the bay area. The suite was well appointed with a lounge, fully equipped kitchenette, office, bedroom and bathroom. The decor is minimalist modern and very pleasing. Air conditioning and heating. Free WiFi. The biggest TV I have ever had in a hotel, with superb HD reception and sound system. This hotel is truly luxurious! It is ideal for family or business visitors. Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Go higher! Better views and quieter for a good sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

You just can't beat their prices for getting a suite in Vancouver. You not only get the convenience of your own kitchen but now you have the Urban Fare across the street and the Signature Liquor Store a block away. Very convenient for when you are staying longer than one night.
The beds are very comfortable plus you have a TV in your bedroom plus in the living room so if you are feeling extra lazy, just lay back and enjoy your favourite show while your spouse can watch whatever they want in the next room.
We happened to rent the room when the first Celebration of Light evening was on the 28th and we go to see the fireworks over English Bay from our 23rd floor unit - spectacular! What a wonder surprise and bonus!
We have been staying with the Carmana for about 10 years and their service just seems to get better as time goes by - give it a try, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmana Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmana Plaza

Address: 1128 Alberni Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmana Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carmana Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmana Plaza Vancouver
Carmana Plaza Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmana Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.