We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmana Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Carmana Plaza to your Saves list
Carmana Plaza
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1128 Alberni Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R6, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ballarat, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent room and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed at the Carmana Plaza for two weeks in a standard suite located on the 8th floor. The lounge room was huge and the suite included well equipped kitchen which included a coffee machine. The fridge was huge but a little noisy at night.

The bedroom had a large wardrobe with adequate drawers and quality wooden coat hangers.

Normally the litmus test is the state of the ironing board and iron - both were spot less.

The bathroom had great water pressure good and the hot water was hot, just the way I like it. I am not however a fan of shower curtain though it was very clean.

The room had a small balcony which was great to open up to feel the breeze.

A supermarket is located across the street, so cooking isn’t a problem or alternatively there are numerous eating out options available within walking distance. A bottleshop is located at the end of the block and arond the corner.

The clothes washing facility is located on the 3rd floor and machines and dryers are in good condition. Washing powder is available at reception in single wash packets.

The gym doesn’t have a lot of machines but I prefer free weights so it was adequate. Treadmills have LCD screens fitted on the wall in front of them.

The reception staff are both friendly and helpful.

Will definitely stay at the Carmana Plaza again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    119
    17
    4
    7
See reviews for
99
101
17
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We were travelling with my university aged children and required two separate bedrooms and bathrooms so we chose to stay at this apartment style hotel. The apartment was very spacious with a full kitchen, living room, dining room and storage room. A daily supply of coffee, tea and bottled water was provided. The dining room had floor to ceiling windows which overlooked the downtown area and the Vancouver harbour (we were even able to see the July 1 fireworks from the comfort of our living room!).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

I just got back from my trip to Vancouver where I stayed at Carmana Plaza. Thanks to fellow TA writers, I was led in the right direction to this affordable (for Vancouver) and spacious hotel.

Carmana Plaza is a great spot for people who want to be centrally located to a lot of fun things near Downtown and are not necessarily looking for the "standard" hotel experience. Carmana actually was even nicer than we had expected it to be. First off, the hotel staff were very helpful during our entire stay, and the room was both clean and well sized. I knew going in that this was an apartment style hotel, and was pleased to see that they had taken care to provide little details like plates, silverware, etc. I also appreciated that my request to be on the side facing the water was taken into consideration and accommodated (that side faces Alberni, which is also more quiet).

As other travelers have said, the grocery store *literally* across the street, Urban Fare, is a nice gourmet shop to bring home some food in case you would like to eat in. There is a separate dining area in the room with a table and chairs to better accommodate meals as well.

Carmana Plaza offers a bag check and has gated parking ($15/day) that is key-card access (as are the elevators), which offers an extra sense of security. That being said, we went out at night in the neighborhood and it felt perfectly safe. Also, one note about the parking - you have to enter from an alley that is between Alberni & Robson, and it is underground. Look for the Carmana Plaza sign.

I will definitely consider staying at Carmana Plaza the next time I'm in Vancouver. Go Canucks Go!

Room Tip: Their own website has competitive pricing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
154 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

A number of my colleagues stayed here for a full week for a conference taking place at the Vancouver Convention Center, and I really liked the Carmana a lot.

Most of us were sharing the 2-BR standard suites with 3 or 4 to a suite. While the small bedrooms were tight for 2 people (two single beds, like twin beds), the living space was perfectly adequate and spacious. The balcony was really nice, and I also liked the fact that there were a number of windows you could open, both in the living area and in the bedrooms. Bathrooms were fine, nice, very clean. Kitchen space had everything you need, although the bowls were barely bigger than a paper plate.

The Carmana is also a great choice because it is between Robson and Georgia, which are the two main busy streets and Alberni is much quieter with a lot less traffic, particularly at night. There is a wonderful Urban Fare grocery store right across the street (think Canada's version of Whole Foods) where you can groceries, flowers, organics and they have a similar coffee bar and hot food counter like Whole Foods.

You can easily walk to the waterfront or convention center in about 10 minutes, and there are plenty of shops and restaurants within a very short walk. Lots of coffee places as well close by.

I also think the staff was great, very professional, courteous and helpful. Their concierge was also extremely helpful and friendly, with anything we needed including calling taxis.

It's about $35 CAD from the airport via taxi (20 mins or so), but the new Canada Line light rail is also about 3 blocks away and a lot cheaper, so if you don't have a lot of luggage it's a great alternative.

I would definitely stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Get a high floor - there are 32 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Otago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

This Hotel was a lovely surprise, so spacious. We arrived early from a cruise, and a room was available. This is a suite Hotel, so everything, even a little dining room, good kitchen, comfortable lounge furniture. Huge bed with quality bedding, and excellent pillows ,something often overlooked.Very clean. Across the street form a very good Deli/Grocery and Food outlet,and many other restaurants nearby. Minutes from Robson Street, and a short, very nice walk from the Harbor and Stanley Park.Porters so very helpful,and friendly, even offering cold water when we returned , after check out, to collect our luggage. The rates are very reasonable as well. We would recommend to anyone and return another time.

Room Tip: The front of the building had a nice outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Stayed here for three nights and can't believe the value for money this place offers.
Rooms areapartment style with a small bedroom, bathroom, living room with floor to ceiling windows, fully equipped kitchen, a storage room and a small office type room with a desk. Now whilst it's not modern in styling, it is well looked after and spotlessly clean. Free wifi as well. Couldn't fault the room.
Last time we stayed in Vancouver we stayed at the Opus, which is a great (read better) hotel, but it's also more expensive and not in the centre of town. When we go back to Vancouver we will stay here for that reason.
Top tip. Book a premium room on the 29th and 30th floor or a Carmana room on the 31st floor. No matter what side of the hotel you are you will have a brilliant view. It's worth paying the few extra dollars to guarantee the view!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Make sure you call in advance to know exactly what you are getting. When I arrived I expected a two room apartment, but received a one-room instead. We changed to a two room but had to pay extra. The manager was very stern with me on the phone and hard to get on the phone. It took hours to get in touch with her and when I did she did not respect my situation or point of view.
I would not return to this hotel based on that as there are many other hotels with better amenities for the same price in the same area.
I was very upset during my stay. Communication between staff was bad as well.
The manager gave us our parking for free, but we had to wait all day to be refunded because when we checked out none of the staff knew about it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Carmana Plaza, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
We are very saddened that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that we will take the necessary steps to ensure that guest satisfaction remains a constant priority.

We are in touch with the company under which your stay had been booked and we are working towards making sure that our suite information on their site (as well as with other booking portals) is accurately portrayed to other guests.

Once again, we truly regret that you’ve had this experience with us and we are hopeful that you may give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves in the future.

If there is anything at all that we can assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Carmana Plaza Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmana Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmana Plaza

Address: 1128 Alberni Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmana Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carmana Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmana Plaza Vancouver
Carmana Plaza Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmana Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.