We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welcome Oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greystone Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greystone Bed & Breakfast
2006 West 14th Ave, Vancouver, British Columbia V6J 2K4, Canada (Kitsilano)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 63 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
“A Welcome Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

What a gem! Location, comfort, fine food and gracious hosts. It was a pleasure to meet Graham and Lee. They provide a place to relax and enjoy their hospitality and the company of the other guests if you so desire. Their knowledge of Vancouver and area can be indispensable. Their home is a step back to another era in a quiet, central, friendly neighborhood within walking distance of many attractions.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    24
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
64
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greer, South Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

First the good news - Graham is an excellent host and does a fantastic job making his guests feel welcome and was especially helpful during our entire stay. Furthermore, his ability to provide a scrumptious breakfast to start your day is unrivaled. The breakfast is the star attraction, with multiple selections of breads, muffins, cereals, fruits, juices, and Graham's cooked choice of the day. Totally outstanding! The bad news is that while our basement was somewhat adequate for our family of five, it still seemed a bit cramped perhaps because the ceiling height was shorter than a normal 8-9', and there was only one bathroom designed for one occupancy only. Bed and pillow quality was average. Having a kitchen in this unit and and access to WiFi was a plus, but there were too many accessories cluttering the walls and countertops. Finally, the strong smell of air freshner as we entered the unit seemed to be covering up what might have been previous pet habitation, a concern for someone like me who is allergic to pet hair, but alas, I'm happy to report that I didn't have any adverse reactions during our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Graham managed to organise a delightful stay for us, in a large downstairs apartment for 2 of us for 4 days, and then my wife in a smaller (and cheaper) double upstairs for 4 days. It is a really welcoming B&B,with comfortable beds and rooms, and lovely breakfasts. It is situated in a lovely, quiet, tree lined street in Kitsilano, but just 5 to 10 minutes walk from a large number of nice restauramts. Graham and Lee have a list of recommended restaurants, after years of research, which is well worth following.
With conversation at breakfast with Graham and the other guests, and red wine happy hour in the evening, it is a nice place to meet other people, and there are many chances to learn more about the surrounding area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Wonderful breakfasts (thanks to Graham's coking) and the fruit plate is fabulous. Great hosts - sharing a glass of wine with Graham and Lee prior to going out to supper is something you don't get in a typical hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at Greystone while we waited for our cruise and did some sightseeing in Vancouver. The rooms are comfortable, and relaxing after a day of walking around Vancouver. The breakfasts were the best and the eggs benedict was more delicious than what we had on the cruise ship. Graham provided excellent directions for the sights we wanted to see in Vancouver. My daughter and I will be returning to Vancouver and will stay at Greystone again. We enjoyed the fruit and chocolates left in the room-a nice surprise. We have stayed at several B&B and Greystone was by far the best!!!

Room Tip: We loved our room because it had a private balcony that open to the garden area. My daughter and I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Graham is a delightful and responsive innkeeper. His communication with me was excellent right from the beginning when I would e-mail him with questions right through to the end of our visit. The accommodations were comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious (wonderful homemade muffins and a different hot entree each day). The B&B is in a lovely neighborhood and it's just a short walk to the bus stop that will take you to downtown Vancover is about 20-30 minutes. Graham often did little extras to help accommodate and welcome people in my group. Everyone enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, New Brunswick, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Based on their website I thought the Greystone Bed & Breakfast would be nice - but the reality far exceeded my expectations. I spent a wonderful ten days as a guest of Graham and Lee while vacationing in Vancouver and visiting family and friends. The daily breakfasts were delightful as was the ambience of this charming home away from home. My room (Kitsilano) was clean, comfortable and cosy.

I definitely plan on returning and staying at the Greystone on all of my future visits to the city.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Greystone Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystone Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2006 West 14th Ave, Vancouver, British Columbia V6J 2K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Kitsilano
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 1910 home in the very safe and quiet Kitsilano neighborhood of Vancouver. We have 2 rooms with en suite bathrooms and a 2-bed suite that sleeps 6. Rooms have TV- WIFI and queen size beds. A full and delicious breakfast is included. Close to buses and downtown and the major tourist spots. Good times + Good value = Greystone B&B ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greystone Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Greystone Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list