We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff very helpful and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1234 Hornby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1W5, Canada (Formerly Cascadia Hotel & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #13 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
GreenLeadersGold level
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Staff very helpful and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Front desk staff were excellent! They were happy to help with questions and always greeted us with a smile. The complimentary breakfast was a nice surprise and was very appreciated. The hotel appears to be newly renovated and was very clean.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for recognizing our great team! They work extremely hard to ensure all our guests have the best stay possible.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    161
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
165
169
21
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tierra Verde
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Two nights at this hotel who provided us with an early morning check-in after getting off a ship. Rates were fantastic for this newly renovated hotel in the downtown area close to everything. Room was a mini suite with kitchenette and small balcony on the 17th floor. Staff could not be more accommodation. Weak link was the complementary breakfast but there's a great little bakery on the corner. This is a trolley stop for the Hop Off/Hop On Service.

Room Tip: The higher in the building the better for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Great to hear you had such a great stay. Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelBzh, UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

this hotel was a real pleasure to stay at. ideally located next to the lively Davie street but still decently quiet. We had a little studio so we could have cooked dinner but all the amenities were so close that we did not use it. Rooms are so spacious. staff was very friendly and helpfull
the only negative point could be breakfast. when we stayed the hotel was full and there was a bit of panic over providing the decent supply for breakfast. Very quickly every thing was missing and the staff did not seem to b able to cope, the next day we only came a bit earlier to ensure we had fist choice. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thanks so much for the great information on our location and the wonderful comments about our team. Breakfast does get busier towards the end on the weekends, so coming a little earlier is the perfect answer!

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carefree, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Just returned from 4 nights at this quiet hotel which is located in downtown Vancouver. We enjoyed the central location and the staff couldn't do enough for you. Won at the front desk gave us excellent recommendations and directions whenever we asked him. What surprised me was how friendly the servers in the Dining Room at breakfast were--they smiled and told us to have a nice day every day that we were there....we felt very welcomed. The hotel has a good Fitness Center. The room was very comfortable and spacious for 3 of us, the city view side of the hotel was very nice. Very walkable to Granville Island, bus and sky train stops are close.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you so much for recognizing the great work Won and our Gatehouse Servers do for all our guests!

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria Heights, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This hotel was a great find in the center of Vancouver and within walking distance of many things. And, though the hotel is superbly located it is surprisingly quiet and peaceful.
We had requested a handicap accessible room and were very pleased with the room. The staff is very friendly and very helpful.
The complimentary breakfast buffet goes above and beyond. Would, fully recommend this hotel to anyone.
Quiet peace restful says it all.

Room Tip: Our street side room was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
So glad to hear you loved our location, breakfast and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Vancouver.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We have just spent two weeks at this hotel and cannot speak too highly about it. The staff have all been exceptionally good throughout, with friendly dispositions and attentive to all our needs. The room is very comfortable, quiet and serviced by staff who pay attention to small details.
The hotel is well situated in the city with easy access to downtown, Granville Island and English Bay. We felt very much at home here and will definitely return when we are back in Vancouver.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing west with balcony give views towards English Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Superb Review! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Vancouver.


Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton Alberta
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We recently stayed for 7 days and found the staff very helpful to our every request. Without execution they were friendly,polite and very helpful in giving us destination information and recommendations for restaurants in the area. They even supply umbrellas if required. You are in walking distance to many of the attractions in Vancouver, We stayed on the the 21 st. floor and found the bed very comfortable, the room was very modern with everything you could possibly need, We had a fully equipped kitchen as well as a large balcony which afforded us a great view of the city. Everything was spotless and housekeeping made sure it stayed that way during our stay. The second floor has a pleasant area where the free breakfast offers a wide variety of food. They also have a well equipped exercise area as well as a swimming pool and hot tub. We really appreciated that they took the security of the guests seriously with the key cards on the elevators. We will be back next time we are in Vancouver.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
I couldn't agree more! Our team is totally committed to ensuring our guests have the best experience possible. Thank you SO much for recognizing that! And thanks for sharing all that great info about the hotel.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown

Address: 1234 Hornby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1W5, Canada (Formerly Cascadia Hotel & Suites)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#13 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn(R) by Marriott Vancouver Downtown, located on Hornby Street, is the only branded all-suite hotel in Downtown Vancouver. The Residence Inn by Marriott is designed to provide travelers with everything they need to thrive on longer stays with special features including enhanced work desks, ergonomically designed chairs and luxury bedding. Hotel amenities include an indoor heated pool and an outdoor terrace garden equipped with a BBQ grill and fire pit. This extended stay hotel offers spacious suites ranging from 420 sq ft to over 800 sq ft with fully equipped kitchens, free WiFi and in-room high-speed internet access, and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascadia Hotel And Suites
Cascadia Hotel Vancouver
Residence Inn Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.