We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful suite. BUT… very overcrowded breakfast and lift noise in some of the rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1234 Hornby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1W5, Canada (Formerly Cascadia Hotel & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #14 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
London, England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful suite. BUT… very overcrowded breakfast and lift noise in some of the rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked seven hotels as part of a big USA/Canada trip and found Vancouver to be ridiculously busy and expensive at the time of our booking (Sept 2013). We’d normally book something nicer than a Marriott but found it to be one of the few hotels at a barely reasonable price in Vancouver and it included breakfast which we prefer.

The room was well beyond expectation. The one bedroom ‘suite’ was on a high floor and included a full kitchen and balcony. The standard of the room was exceptional – clearly it was newly refurbished. We were certainly pleasantly surprised!

However… the hotel has two serious issues which let it down and explained it’s ‘competitive’ price…

1. Lift noise. Our room was next to the lifts and we could hear the operation of the lifts whenever they were used. This was quite annoying, especially early in the morning.

2. BREAKFAST WAS CHAOS! The overcrowding and chaos in the breakfast room was really unpleasant. There was often a lack of tables. Breakfast items often ran out with staff scrabbling to replenish them. The quality of some breakfast items was also not great. It really spoiled our perception of the place. There are just too many people sharing the breakfast. The hotel could easily help the matter but expending breakfast hours beyond the stingy 9am (9.30am weekends) end-time.

Bearing in mind this option was cheaper than most competition at the time of booking it’s not a bad hotel, especially given the quality of the room. But would we stay again? Probably not. We’d rather pay more and get better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
I'm delighted to hear that our hotel and your suite well exceeded your expectations. I'm sorry to hear about your experience at breakfast and will review your comments with the team. We have taken several steps to address the volume concern, including providing signage for additional seating on the patio and downstairs.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    179
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
184
188
29
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Enjoyed a night at the Marriott Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown. Very clean and comfortable room and friendly staff. While it looks difficult to park at first glance, the underground parking is very easy to access. Needed laundry facility mid-vacation and Residence Inn had what we needed. Only complaint is the breakfast service REALLY stops promptly at 9:00a. There were at least a dozen or so disappointed guests who arrived at 9:02a and missed it...including us.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Its always great to hear that our guests enjoyed their time in the hotel. I'm sorry to hear your comments about missing breakfast, as we never close the buffet while there are guests still waiting. The buffet does not get cleared until 9:15 or later during the week and closer to 10am on the weekends. I will ensure our team is made aware of your comments.

Thank you for choosing Residence Inn.

Kind Regards,

Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed with my husband at this hotel for 2 nights during my short stay at Vancouver after my vacation in Banff.

The lobby is tidy with simple but basic facility. There is a mini-kiosk where you can grab drinks & snacks, and also micro-wave food. Necessities for traveller are also available there. Several desktops & printer are free for the guests to use.

My room is spacious with a mini-pantry where all basic electrical appliances are in good condition for use. Utensils are available which provide you an option to prepare and enjoy the meal in the room.

Free breakfast are provided to all guests which reasonable variety of food & drinks. The food quality is good. The dining room is spacious where you can get a seat without any problem.

The front desk is helpful to provide information about the local tours, transportation in response to our queries . They also help us to book the tours and arrange taxi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for the great review. So glad to hear you enjoyed our Lobby Market, the business stations and enjoyed breakfast!

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We were very happy with the standard our our hotel room with kitchen for our 3 night stay. Two double beds for 2 adults and 2 children. Balcony was large. Kids loved the pool and we put the gym to use while using the guest laundry. Bonus was the included buffet breakfast. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Bar and restaurant downstairs however you are walking distance or a short cab ride to many great restaurants too. 7 eleven on the corner and a 10 min downhill walk to the riverfront. We followed the path along to Elizabeth Bay. Easily accessible to public transport too. Would definitely recommend for business or leisure.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Sounds like you had a great vacation and hit all the high spots! Thank you for the information and review and for choosing to stay with us!

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south west
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during our brief stay in downtown Vancouver. Overall I was very pleased with this hotel: free breakfast, nice comfy king bed, balcony with a great view, central location and walking distance to Granville Island ferry, restaurants, train station, and 7-11 across the street where you can buy day passes for public transit. Excellent place to stay for the price, and will definitely consider this hotel again next time we visit.

Room Tip: Better view from the top floors. Definitely worth the extra small bit of money for a room with a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
So glad to hear you enjoyed your time in the hotel and in Vancouver. Please do come and stay with us again!

Kind Regards,

Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were in Vancouver for a few days prior to leaving on an Alaskan cruise. Since I was traveling my parents and my own family, I needed a place that was family-friendly and decided on the Residence Inn. First off, I was not charged with the rate that I booked with, which is a government rate that I inquired eligibility for prior to booking. Instead, I was given the "other government rate" that was a bit more than the rate I initially booked under. I was not happy, but it was a long weekend and I did not want to be stuck looking for other accommodations during my trip.
The cab ride tot he hotel from the airport was about $37, plus tip. The hotel itself was a bit old, but had been updated. Our room had a full kitchen with everything you need to prepare a meal, except the food! Since I was traveling with family that has dietary restrictions, it was a life saver, although, there are a TON of places to eat within walking distance. The room was clean and spacious. The only downside was that we were near an elevator (literally across from it) and I could hear the bell go off if it stopped on our floor.
The free breakfast is very convenient and the selections were good. My advice would be to get there early because the line was running down the hall when I tried to grab something to go prior to them closing and things got pretty hectic.
Check out was smooth and the Port was only a few blocks away. If you are traveling light and are in good shape, I would say its a pleasant walk. But since I had a child and packed heavy, we took a quick cab ride down.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the elevator. The constant "dinging" will keep you up at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
So glad to hear you loved the hotel, location, breakfast and services. Please contact me directly regarding your concern about the Government Rate.

Kind Regards,

Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Charles,Missouri
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

What a delight to arrive from the cruise ship dock in under 10 minutes and under $10.00! The hotel is very well appointed with metallic accented floor tiles, warm fireplace, and friendly staff. Our balcony on the 17th floor provided a nice view of the city, and the secure entry key cards are a plus.
There are several good restaurants close by and a very nice wine shop as well, which works when you have a spacious room with a beautiful sitting area! The included breakfast allows for a full day of sightseeing, and the kind staff will provide an umbrella for the rainy days!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and your suite. We DO have excellent restaurants nearby, so if you're a foodie - come on down!

Kind Regards,

Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown

Address: 1234 Hornby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1W5, Canada (Formerly Cascadia Hotel & Suites)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#13 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#15 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn(R) by Marriott Vancouver Downtown, located on Hornby Street, is the only branded all-suite hotel in Downtown Vancouver. The Residence Inn by Marriott is designed to provide travelers with everything they need to thrive on longer stays with special features including enhanced work desks, ergonomically designed chairs and luxury bedding. Hotel amenities include an indoor heated pool and an outdoor terrace garden equipped with a BBQ grill and fire pit. This extended stay hotel offers spacious suites ranging from 420 sq ft to over 800 sq ft with fully equipped kitchens, free WiFi and in-room high-speed internet access, and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascadia Hotel And Suites
Cascadia Hotel Vancouver
Residence Inn Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.