We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Go-to Hotel in Vancouver” 5 of 5 stars
Review of YWCA Hotel Vancouver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added YWCA Hotel Vancouver to your Saves list
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   733 Beatty Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2M4, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“My Go-to Hotel in Vancouver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

This is my second stay at the Y, having spent a week there in Feb. 2010, during the Olympics. Once again, I was not disappointed. The friendliness of staff, cleanliness of rooms, great downtown location, and bargain prices make this hotel a sure bet. It continues to be my first choice for a stay in Vancouver!

Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    285
    54
    3
    4
See reviews for
113
164
158
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

This hotel is sooo cool! I would say the best rate in town for the location and the experience. We stayed here quite a while back and then again last year and both experiences have been postive. I like the shared bathroom - makes so much sense! and I love the fact that you can leave your clunky room key at the front desk while you go out shopping or dancing.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

I stayed in a private room which was like a splurge since there are a lot of dorm rooms and shared bathrooms. It was totally clean and had what I needed, though not the most up-to-date decor or anything. That's okay. Staff was friendly (a little slow at the desk) and the location is unbeatable. A great and affordable place to stay in downtown Vancouver! I will certainly stay here again. It is too bad that parking and internet cost extra (but hey, it's the city).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

What a great deal. Not for luxury or perks. Who cares, though? Man, with the cost of hotels, this clean, friendly place in the heart of downtown is NUMBER 1.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamloops
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

I love this place, its so clean! wish they had free wifi though, throughally impressed with the cleanliness and nice to have the cooking facilities especially with costco across the street. Excellent location!!!! parking $12 extra. Disspaointed they raised thier rates though. Stayed at the comfort inn on granville and this one is soooo much better. BOoked a room with five beds!!! which was much bigger and much nicer then the two dinky beds comfort inn had.
Definately would stay here again. If your a YMCA member anywhere else you also get a discount

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

This was my first trip solo where I didn't have family waiting for me on the other side. I can't say I had too many expectations, but I am very satisfied with my experience. The room had all the commodities (actually more) than I would deem necessary. I'm a student, thus on a budget, so I was only really looking for a simple room to sleep in. I was greeted with a clean room, roomy spaces, air conditioner, wifi, mini fridge, and a folder with information such as phone numbers of my surroundings. The staff was friendly and the overall price was good (student discount). My overall priority was safety, and I was very satisfied!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

This was my second stay at the YWCA, and I honestly think that always when I get a chance to go back to Vancouver, I’ll stay here! I won’t even bother to search for another Hotel. My husband and I stayed for ten nights there ate the room 1215.

This Hotel has everything you need at a very reasonable price considering its excellent location and other Hotel prices! We had a double room with two double beds. I requested a high floor bedroom on my reservation, and We’ve got the highest floor possible! Fifteenth floor excellent room with comfortable beds, small fridge, good private bathroom and TV.
There was a small shared kitchen on our floor, but every time I went there to use it I was actually the only one sharing it. Therefore I think it’s not busy at all.
Also in the lobby you’ve got internet access, small coffee shop, vending machines, and all sorts of pamphlets with tourist information and discounts.

The location is great, close to everything, including the Stadium Skytrain Station which provides access to pretty much everything in the city.
The check-in was better than expected so I also have to mention the excellent staff there!
Thank you YWCA!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to YWCA Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA Hotel Vancouver

Address: 733 Beatty Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2M4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — YWCA Hotel Vancouver 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YWCA Hotel Vancouver offers a warm welcome to all travellers and is a comfortable, safe and affordable place to stay at the heart of downtown's arts and entertainment scene. All rooms are private and there’s a choice to suit your needs and budget - from single rooms to quints. The modern 155 room facility has air-conditioning, mini-fridges, telephones, TVs, guest area kitchens, wireless Internet access, laundry rooms, a coffee bar in our lobby and meeting rooms! The YWCA Hotel is just a stroll away from Robson Street, the city's shopping and restaurant mecca. Other nearby neighbourhoods worth exploring include Historic Gastown, Chinatown and trendy Yaletown. The YWCA Hotel was the recipient of the Best Bargain hotel in the 2009 TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Awards and recently received TripAdvisor 2011 Certificate of Excellence. Come and discover for yourself why YWCA Hotel is worth checking into! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your YWCA Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Ywca Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YWCA Hotel Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.