We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to hang your hat.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of YWCA Hotel Vancouver

Save Saved
You added YWCA Hotel Vancouver to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   733 Beatty Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2M4, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great place to hang your hat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had a great stay at the YWCA on Beatty Street. Wonderful people behind the counter - they couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. Best rates in town for a clean, safe room within walking distance of Robson street shopping, autoboat ferries, & Rogers stadium to name just a few spots. The room was basic, as expected, but very clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    167
    38
    3
    3
See reviews for
56
90
102
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have stayed here often when I come to Vancouver for good value and if you are not too concerned about extra non used amenities. Book easily online with credit card. Though own bathroom is an option the shared bathroom with press button lock out is very good. Myself and my adult daughter stayed here in a twin shared bathroom for $88 including taxes. The location is easy to get to by Skytrain (2 block walk) and then two Sky train stops with a little walk to the bus station for bus/ferry to Victoria when we left. Rooms are like any hotel room nice big screen TV and comfortable beds. Location downtown is nice for waking around (right next to hockey arena). Not for everyone but good value, but definitely not your mother's YWCA rental rooms.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and you must use your key tag to access elevator. Means no others can use elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed for one night in a room with a double bed and private bath. Choose this hotel for the central location and low rate and wasn't disappointed.

The check in and check out were very quick and the desk personal was very friendly and helpful.

The room was basic, as expected, but very clean. I asked for a quiet room on my reservation and was happy with the room we got - 702. Had the window open during the night and it was quiet.

The location is very good. We pretty much walked everywhere: all over downtown, Canada Place, Gastown and Granville Island. It's also a walk away from a few light rail / SkyTrain stations, bus stops and pretty close to one of the ferry / SeaBus stations.

I'll be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and i stayed here on April 9,10,2013.
It was my second time here and my husbands first and it was perfect!
Beds were comfortable and clean,as was the suite,
We occupied 2 double beds with our own private bathroom.
The tub was nice and deep and the water pressure strong.
We found the room very noisy with the windows open...but that was traffic, not the hotels fault and closing the window blocked out the sound. The cooling system worked well.
The Staff were very helpful and friendly,we were able to check in early.
We noticed the parking lot underneath being regularly checked and it is secure. Fee was 13.00/day which is less than many lots.
The hotel is within walking distance of many amenities..Queen Elizabeth Theatre, Bc Place,Orpheum theatre.
Yes it is dated...but so are my husband and I and that is ok.!
I love the fact that one can be self sufficient whilst staying...Laundry rooms are provided,,fully equipped kitchens...the front desk people gives you a tote of cooking utensils to use when there.
And much of the money obtained from staying at the hotel is given back to women's programs in Vancouver.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed there for 10 days to attend a congress and visit the city. On the first days I was by myself on a single bed room and then changed to a double bed room to share with a friend that came to meet me. Both rooms were with shared bathroom. Since I don't really like hall washrooms and showers, I liked the way those shared bathrooms were. We shared with only another room and didn't have to leave the room to get to the bathroom.
Staff was friendly and helpful everytime we needed. The hotel has a good location as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have stayed at the Y on a couple of occasions. The first time was for a weekend last year and a couple of months ago, I finished a 4 month stay there while attending school. On the weekend stay, I and my mother stayed in the double double room and loved it. During the 4 months, I had a single room with a hall washroom and shower.

Hall Washroom: Usually, using the hall washroom wasn’t a problem, however on my floor; one of the showers was located in the only washroom. People chose to use that shower which tied up it up. While your washroom key works on all the floors, the time needed to get to another washroom could be a problem for some people.
Kitchen: I did use the kitchen to cook and had brought my own dishes. I met some wonderful people there, however at times it could get very crowded in there with everyone trying to use the stove/oven/microwaves at the same time. There are additional microwaves on other floors.

Rooms: My room was small, but very functional and there was room on the desk for me to use my laptop to do my assignments. Having a sink and small bar fridge in my room was very helpful. The walls between the rooms are not that thick and soundproof. Most of the time it wasn’t a problem, however I did hear loud people on occasion. When this happened, the front desk staff were more than willing to deal with the issue.

The front desk staff were so friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make my stay great.

Yes, the Y décor is older, but they are in the process of updating it.

I look at it this way: if you want a 5 star hotel with all the amenities, then the Y is not the place for you. If you are looking for a clean, reasonably priced, safe place in downtown Vancouver, with 5 star front desk staff, then this is the place for you. And the best part? Your money goes back into the community helping women and their families.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed her about 5 weeks due to having to find a new apartment in a hurry, we got a monthly rate which was great.
The staff when we checked in were a great help and the manager really helped us out, all the staff are really friendly. Great Location dowtown, close to library, bc place, rogers, Chinatown and just round the cornerfrom robson street.
The decor is a bit dated but there in the process of updating it now which is great, the communal kitchens are great and theres plenty of them on the different florrs.
I will reccomend family and friends to stay there.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet the ones at the front face BC place
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to YWCA Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA Hotel Vancouver

Address: 733 Beatty Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2M4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#37 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — YWCA Hotel Vancouver 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YWCA Hotel Vancouver offers a warm welcome to all travellers and is a comfortable, safe and affordable place to stay at the heart of downtown's arts and entertainment scene. All rooms are private and there’s a choice to suit your needs and budget - from single rooms to quints. The modern 155 room facility has air-conditioning, mini-fridges, telephones, TVs, guest area kitchens, wireless Internet access, laundry rooms, a coffee bar in our lobby and meeting rooms! The YWCA Hotel is just a stroll away from Robson Street, the city's shopping and restaurant mecca. Other nearby neighbourhoods worth exploring include Historic Gastown, Chinatown and trendy Yaletown. The YWCA Hotel was the recipient of the Best Bargain hotel in the 2009 TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Awards and recently received TripAdvisor 2011 Certificate of Excellence. Come and discover for yourself why YWCA Hotel is worth checking into! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your YWCA Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Ywca Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YWCA Hotel Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.