We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great gem of a hotel, right along the waterfront” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Waterfront to your Saves list
Fairmont Waterfront
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Canada Place Way, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 3L5, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 10% on Room & Dining
Ranked #11 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“a great gem of a hotel, right along the waterfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

My wife and I went to Vancouver in mid March to get some sun and escape the dreary weather back home in Alberta. We normally stay at the Pacific Rim but because of the TED conference, the Pacific Rim was booked so we settled on the Fairmont Waterfront instead. We're really glad that we did! We stayed on the Fairmont Gold Floor and really enjoyed our stay. Like the Pacific Rim this hotel is just as opulent, also along the waterfront and has excellent service. Unlike the Pacific Rim, this hotel is better organized and not as loud or busy, it was also a bit less expensive. After staying here I think this will always be 'our hotel' in Vancouver. The staff were great, very attentive and the rooms were really clean and well appointed. This hotel was recently renovated and it certainly shows. If you are looking for a great experience you can't go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Hearing what a spectacular stay you had at The Fairmont Waterfront absolutely made my day! Thank you so much for your review. I invite you to contact me at indu.brar@fairmont.com when your travels bring you back to Vancouver. I would be thrilled to assist with your travel plans.
Warm Regards,
Indu Brar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,277
    456
    100
    42
    18
See reviews for
322
697
100
520
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I really enjoyed the fairmont, everything was perfect from A to z. The service provided is excellent, the concierge is always there answering all your questions and making some really good suggestions for place to eat.
The harbour view room are surpisingly quiet, standard room offer a good size and the beds are comfortable.
The spa area has a outside heated pool, a Jacuzzi, steam room and a gym area. You can see the "coloured medusa" from the pool and it is beautiful at evening time. It is a very relaxing place to go after a day at work.
I also like the fact that the fairmont make it's own honey from the room, it is a good initiative.

Room Tip: Harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
I'm thrilled that each portion of your stay was so exceptional! I can't wait to share your feedback with my team so they know that their efforts are so appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Warm Regards,
Indu Brar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at Fairmont Waterfront many times and I seem to like it more each time I get out here. Fairmont Gold floor is very warm and welcoming and you can really enjoy your breakfast and morning paper. Staff are attentive. Same for Gold Floor reception when you check in - and my room is always well stocked with water and free gifts of candy or chocolates (I'm in Fairmont's guest program). Can't say enough about this gem - and very well located for business meetings downtown.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Fairmont Gold is truly a hotel within a hotel, providing exceptional service that makes our guests feel valued. I'm so pleased you had a great stay and look forward to your return!
Warm Regards,
Indu Brar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Over the past year, I have been fortunate enough to stay at the Fairmont Waterfront several times during business trips to Vancouver. I have also been lucky that I have stayed in rooms with water views (two unique views of the harbour), which are truly breathtaking. Waking up to a stunning view of water and mountains in a room with floor to ceiling windows is a great way to start your day!

The hotel is centrally located in downtown Vancouver, close to high end shopping, the funky Gastown district and Stanley Park (you can actually hear the Stanley Park Cannon "9 O'Clock Gun" fire from your room every night). It a great spot for tourists and people watching as well.

The staff at this hotel are very friendly and focused on providing top notch customer service. As a busy professional who usually eats room service every night whilst working on a laptop, the in-room dining team was prompt on delivery and follow up on any request. They were professional yet friendly and always made sure not to interrupt if I was in the middle of a phone call (staff went about setting up and left once job was completed).

While I have not stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms at this hotel, I can state that the "old rooms" that I have stayed in have a great charm and the high comfort level that is usually found at a Fairmont.

I have enjoyed my stays at this hotel and have always felt comfortable and safe. I will be back in 2014 for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your fantastic review of The Fairmont Waterfront. I'm so pleased that your guest rooms and the service you received have been so exceptional. Please let me know when you return at indu.brar@fairmont.com; I would be pleased to see if we have a renovated room available for you!
Sincerely,
Indu Brar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Fairmont Waterfront has extremely comfortable rooms on the post-renovation floors. The view over the harbor was very nice. Room service prompt with very good service. Bathrooms well appointed, although older blow dryer. Room very quiet except ferry's foghorn does pierce even through the soundproofed glass.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for not only choosing to stay with us, but also for posting your review. I'm thrilled you enjoyed the guest room renovations we have recently undergone and that your in-room dining experience was exceptional. I hope we can welcome you again soon!
Sincerely,
Indu Brar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is a very comfortable hotel with excellent customer service from all of the staff. They know how to look after guests and the perks of the President's Club are a bonus. I love the location and ease of arricing/departing from YVR via the Skytrain. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Knowing that you consider us your home away from home is wonderful. We do our best to provide our guests with amazing service in an atmosphere of relaxed luxury and I'm so glad that's what you're experiencing. I look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Sincerely,
Indu Brar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I have been staying in these five star Fairmont Hotels all over the USA and Canada and then we stayed at the Fairmont Waterfront in Vancouver and I must say this was the crème de la crème!
The hotel location and décor and superlative appointment was impeccable but the service from the wonderful and friendly staff was the most memorable !! Will definitely call in again next time I am in your neck of the woods .
DR ANDREW E ONG ( I was travelling with APT )

Room Tip: The higher floors have the greater and grander views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
I am thrilled to hear what an exceptional stay you had at The Fairmont Waterfront. We do our utmost to provide our guests with the best experience possible and knowing that we delivered means a lot. I invite you to contact me at indu.brar@fairmont.com when your travels bring you back to Vancouver; it will be my pleasure to assist you with your plans.
Sincerely,
Indu Brar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Waterfront

Address: 900 Canada Place Way, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 3L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#6 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Waterfront luxury hotel showcases the best of Vancouver. Conveniently situated beside the Canada Place Cruise Ship Terminal and adjacent to the Vancouver Convention Centre, this luxury Vancouver hotel has a central harbour location, ideal for any stay. Guests can enjoy shopping, trendy restaurants, art galleries, Gastown, Chinatown and famous Stanley Park all within steps of our doors. This Four Diamond urban retreat is world renowned for its warm and welcoming service and truly showcases the best of Vancouver. The 489 newly renovated Vancouver Waterfront hotel rooms are spacious, elegantly appointed with distinctive amenities and showcase spectacular city, mountain and harbour views through floor-to-ceiling windows. The Fairmont Gold floor is an exclusive hotel within a hotel, featuring complimentary breakfast and evening canapes, personal concierge service and an exclusive lounge and terrace with harbour-views. Visit the on-site restaurant ARC. The culinary team embraces fresh, local and sustainable ingredients complemented by hotel-grown herbs from the 2,100 square foot rooftop garden and honey from the on-site honeybee colony. Expect simple, flavor focused cuisine, cooked with flawless execution appealing to discerning or emerging palates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com and Splendia so you can book your Fairmont Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Waterfront Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Waterfront
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont
Fairmont Waterfront Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.