We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in downtown with a Panoramic view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Waterfront

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Waterfront
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Canada Place Way, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 3L5, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Delta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Perfect location in downtown with a Panoramic view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Perfect location in Downtown Vancouver...right in front of Canada Place and near beautiful shops. A walk away to different tourist attractions...Olympic Couldron, Vancouver Conference Centre....If you are hungry and want to explore good eats outside the hotel you can try different restaurants or better yet go to a fast food gallery within the area (Waterfront Mall). We attended a conference in downtown and finishes late and had to walk back to the hotel...we had a great time walking...Staff were really friendly and very courteous...Express Checkout was great...plenty of parking spaces within the hotel and connects to the shops too.

Room Tip: Our room had a fantastic view and we were in the 17th floor...facing Vancouver convention Center...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to submit a TripAdvisor review of The Fairmont Waterfront. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and our great location for exploring – Vancouver is such a walkable city. Thank you again for choosing to stay at The Fairmont Waterfront and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future. Warm regards, Indu Brar, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    987
    376
    85
    39
    16
See reviews for
258
562
89
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

During June 2013, we stayed 3 times at the Waterfront, 4 nights in all. One before heading for Vancouver Island, second on our return and before joining our cruise ship to Alasksa and, finally, 2 nights on our return. First 2 rooms (2122 and 1922) had views over the city - very good, and the third (1003) had views over the harbour and bay area - great (ok, it came at extra cost, but worth it). The location, for us, was superb, eg we could walk to just about everywhere - and they even took our suitcases to the ship terminal. Also, getting to the ferry terminal included the bus company coming to the hotel. For our time in Vancouver, Stanley Park, Gastown and China Town are all closeby. For nights out, plenty of places in Downtown or on the Waterfront. Also had a meal at the hotel which was very good. All staff went out of their way to be as helpful as possible. Stayed at 2 other Fairmonts - this was the best.

Room Tip: When we stayed, rooms to floor 10 had been upgraded. That said, we had 2 rooms above that level an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review of The Fairmont Waterfront for TripAdvisor, your comments are very much appreciated. I was thrilled to read that you had stayed with us on several occasions and enjoyed our location and views. There is so much to do and see along the seawall! I do hope you enjoyed your cruise to Alaska and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to our beautiful city. Warm regards, Indu Brar, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Luxurious hotel - room very big and had everything you could want. Comfort and cleanliness could not be faulted. Fabulous views. Only slight negative was lack of receptionists - had to wait too long for checkin and checkout.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for your lovely review of The Fairmont Waterfront for TripAdvisor. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback with regards to reception, I will be sure to share your comments with the Front Office team personally. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and I hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the near future. Warm regards, Indu Brar, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at the Waterfront for 4 nights recently following a trip through the Rockies, during which we had a slightly disappointing stay at another Fairmont hotel. As a result, I did not have high hopes. However, I was proved wrong; the hotel was fantastic in many different ways. The location, the facilities and most of all the service. Every member of staff that we encountered was friendly, polite and could not do enough to help. Also, the location is ideal for exploring Vancouver, being located so close to Canada Place.
There are many hotels in Vancouver and I am sure that competition is high, consequently, hotels need to be able to offer something special in order to attract your custom. From what I could see, the staff are that something special at the Waterfront.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review of The Fairmont Waterfront for TripAdvisor, your feedback is very much appreciated. I was sorry to read that you had had a disappointing experience prior to staying with us, but I was very glad to see that we were able to turn that around. I am very proud of our colleagues and the level of warm and engaging service they strive to provide, please know I will take great pleasure in sharing your kind words with the team. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future. Warm regards, Indu Brar, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Recently stayed here with my wife for 4 nights in June. The hotel location is excellent, only a short walk to Downtown Vancouver as well as being minutes from Stanley Park. It was also easily accessed from the airport via the sky train. Had a harbour view room which was well proportioned and extremely comfortable. Staff were excellent throughout our stay and couldn't do enough for us especially as it was my wife's birthday the day after we arrived. The concierge desk were also very accommodating booking us tickets for the theatre, whale watching and the capilano suspension bridge. Liked the touch of water infused with fresh fruit just outside the lifts every day. Very refreshing !! Also would recommend the Whistler honey brown lager they serve made from the honey harvested from their own bees !!

Overall a great start to the holiday and would definitely stay here again should the need arise.

Room Tip: We had a harbour view deluxe room which had air con and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of The Fairmont Waterfront for TripAdvisor. I was so glad to read that you and your wife both enjoyed your stay with us. I was also happy to read that you had the opportunity to try our Fairmont Waterfront ‘Stinger’ Honey Lager, you may be interested to know that we host half a million bees on our roof each summer and that is where the honey for the beer comes from. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to our beautiful city. Warm regards, Drew Fisher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

What can I say, I love Fairmont hotels! This particular Fairmont is one that I use when in Vancouver for business or fun. It is so convenient to the float planes which is how I usually get to Vancouver. The experience of the Fairmont Waterfront is one that will make you feel very special. So take it in and appreciate the location and the beauty of this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the water and one of the upper floors for great ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your TripAdvisor review of The Fairmont Waterfront. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that our colleagues made you feel special – I too frequently fly to Victoria and the view from the floatplanes is phenomenal. Thank you again for choosing to stay at The Fairmont Waterfront, and if I can ever be of assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 604-691-1892 or by email at drew.fisher@fairmont.com. Warm regards, Drew Fisher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The location is excellent for this hotel. From the Canada line you can access this hotel from inside the station. Walking to distance to many of the downtown amenities. Hotel also provides free bike rentals.

For the price you pay for the rooms you will be disappointed. Rooms are old and it shows. Certainly not worth the price they charge. I would rather stay at the Shangril la. Not including Internet in the room rate is a rip off.

The concierge lineup was always long and you waited a long time to speak to someone's. If calling concierge from the room expect to be in hold for 20 mins.

I wouldn't stay here again. There are many other better options in the area

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent experience with us here at The Fairmont Waterfront. Guest feedback is very important to us as we consistently review our practices to ensure we offer our guests the service and products they deserve. I was concerned to read your review and hear of your disappointment in a few areas. You may be interested to know that we offer complimentary WiFi for all Fairmont President Club members and that membership is also complimentary. I was very sorry to hear of your disappointment with the guestroom, we are very committed to providing fresh and contemporary product for our guests and have just completed a multi-million dollar renovation of our 4th through 10th floors and we are very excited about these modern new rooms. Being on hold for 20 minutes is certainly not an acceptable practice; please know I intend to follow up with the Concierge team personally to see if there are opportunities to improve on this. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and disappointment you experienced and I would love the chance to speak with you further about your stay, please contact me directly at 604-691-1892 or by email at drew.fisher@fairmont.com. Warm regards, Drew Fisher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Waterfront

Address: 900 Canada Place Way, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 3L5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Waterfront 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Waterfront provides relaxed luxury on the West Coast coupled with a world-class Vancouver experience. This hotel is an urban retreat with elegant accommodation, state-of-the-art (and recently renovated) meeting facilities and breathtaking views of Vancouver’s harbour, North Shore Mountains and the sparkling city skyline. Guests can enjoy a taste of local flavour in Herons West Coast Kitchen + Bar, visit the hotel's rooftop garden and honeybee apiary to discover where the restaurant's fresh herbs and honey are sourced from, and then take advantage of the complimentary health club and outdoor heated pool overlooking the harbour. This modern hotel boasts the best location in the city, nestled on Vancouver’s harbour and directly connected to the onsite Vancouver Convention Centre and Canada Place Cruiseship terminal and offers delegates door to door service to the airport via Skytrain (rapid transit). Guests can enjoy shopping, trendy restaurants, art galleries, Gastown, Chinatown and famous Stanley Park all within steps of our doors. This Four Diamond urban retreat is world renowned for its warm and welcoming service and truly showcases the best of Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Fairmont Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Waterfront Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Waterfront
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont
Fairmont Waterfront Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.