We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time and Rest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Waterfront to your Saves list
Fairmont Waterfront
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Canada Place Way, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 3L5, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #9 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
White Rock
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Time and Rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We decided to be tourists in our own town and to stay at the Fairmont Waterfront. We liked its ambience over its newer sister, the Pacific Rim. A little homier and less minimalist. Everything was great: location, service, friendly staff. For example, we needed some extra cutlery and it arrived within 10 minutes. Beds are great. And even on New Year's Eve, there was additional staff and our floor was quiet.

The one suggestion we have is that the room could use an additional comfortable chair or settee especially if you want to watch a movie. Also, we thought that $16.49 for a recent movie, in the room, was excessive.

We would stay there again and it's great to see Gastown coming back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank want2seemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest, I would like to thank your recent Trip Advisor review and for choosing to stay with us at The Fairmont Waterfront during your recent ‘staycation’ - I too am excited by the revitalized Gastown scene. I truly appreciate your comments with regards to movie rentals and guestroom seating and will be sure to share your feedback with the team at our next operations meeting. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, I hope to welcome you back on your next weekend get away! Warm regards, Ian Pullan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our room at the Fairmont Waterfront was fantastic- we stayed over New Years so it was the perfect location for restaurants and sightseeing around Gastown. The hotel was very clean and well maintained, housekeeping was excellent and room service attentive, the concierges were great, particularly Brent . Our breakfasts were fine and thankfully included in our package. I certainly wouldn't pay $20 for their continental breakfast if it wasn't included. We weren't allowed to choose our own bakery assortment and were strictly told by the staff we were to tell them what we wanted and they would get it for us rather than us selecting ourselves, it seemed a little ridiculous.... Like they thought we were going to steal an extra piece of toast!
When we checked out, we were charged for every breakfast and were charged $6 for 2 champagne glasses delivered to us on New Year's Eve. The charges were reversed when we queried them but not without arguing our case with the woman on reception who you would have thought was personally compensating the charges from her own salary. It was unnecessary and left a bad taste in our mouth. Not sure we would stay at the Fairmont again because of the front desk staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pacloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest, I am disappointed to read your review and learn of the issues experienced while staying with us. This is certainly not the service or lastly impression we wish to provide our guests and I apologize profusely for your experience. We would love to speak with you further regarding your stay and I will review your comments with our team here as your comments certainly identify the need for improvement. Please contact Robert Sedore, our Director of Operations at 604-691-1819 or by email at robert.sedore@fairmont.com or do not hesitate to contact me directly at ian.pullan@fairmont.com as your feedback is greatly appreciated. Given the circumstances, I am very pleased to hear that you found your guest room to be lovely and clean. As well, it is nice to see you truly appreciated our treasured hotel location. Sincerely, Ian Pullan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Room on the 21st floor -- high up, quiet, and out of the way exactly as requested. Well appointed, nice view, spacious. Concierge, desk, and bar service were all great. My only complaint is that the business center (like other Fairmonts) requires you to swipe a credit card in a reader to use a computer. Don't mind being charged a few bucks, but feel like I'm signing up for theft swiping my card at a semi-public terminal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The room was nice, updated. The floor to ceiling windows provide a gorgeous night time view of the downtown area. Great shopping nearby. A bit strange that wifi is not included at that price when most holiday inn, ramada etc provides wifi for free.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sptravelfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review of The Fairmont Waterfront, I was glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. You may be interested to know that among other benefits, high-speed internet is complimentary for all members of the Fairmont President’s Club and that membership in FPC is also complimentary. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Vancouver, I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the near future! Kind regards, Ian Pullan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

always get treated like royalty. as a working stiff, this kind of spoiling is incredible. the staff and services have always been spot on. even when i brought my dog, he was spoiled more than i was. thank you again for everything

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Having many times gone skiing to Whistler, we had never stayed in Vancouver,so decided on our way home to stay one night in Vancouver.Having done some research and comparisons settled on The Fairmont Waterfront. The staff we encountered were all very good,when we got to our room we were short of some towels, rang Housekeeping and they were delivered in minutes. Decided to have a bath felt water not too hot, again called and handyman came and sorted out. Having stayed all over the world with work and pleasure we always feel sometimes things are not ideal but it is the way that it is sorted out, ideally promptly and without fuss,this is exactly what we had at the Waterfront.
We had breakfast in Herons and our server Darren was excellent as well, his enthusiasm,helpfullness and interaction were very good.The food was also very good.

We were very lucky I know because the hotel was not too busy, we also had use of the health club to change as we had an evening flight home,after them looking after our bags in the afternoon.

We would without hesitation recommend this hotel after our stay there,it was our first time staying in a Fairmount,definitely will try another. Forgot to say that when we first rang the hotel regarding WiFi they were so helpful in advising us to join the President's club and you get free WiFi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OpenSkies4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a wonderful stay. My family is in the tourism field and my daughter and I were in Vancouver for the Hospitality/ Tourism Association of BC joint conference. We were treated so well from making our reservation right through-friendly,welcoming staff. Lovely, lovely room-great food in the lounge(especially dessert!). We come over from Victoria often and this is our favourite hotel in Vancouver.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk folk-they know their hotel well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us – I do hope you enjoyed the conference. It is truly rewarding to know that we are your favorite Vancouver hotel and I will enjoy sharing your feedback with the entire team. Thank you again for choosing to stay at The Fairmont Waterfront - we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our beautiful city and if I can ever be of assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 604-691-1892 or ian.pullan@fairmont.com. Sincerely, Ian Pullan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#1 of 96 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 2,077 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 96 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 2,814 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#3 of 96 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#20 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 2,492 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 96 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Waterfront

Address: 900 Canada Place Way, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 3L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Waterfront luxury hotel showcases the best of Vancouver. Conveniently situated beside the Canada Place Cruise Ship Terminal and adjacent to the Vancouver Convention Centre, this luxury Vancouver hotel has a central harbour location, ideal for any stay. Guests can enjoy shopping, trendy restaurants, art galleries, Gastown, Chinatown and famous Stanley Park all within steps of our doors. This Four Diamond urban retreat is world renowned for its warm and welcoming service and truly showcases the best of Vancouver. The 489 newly renovated Vancouver Waterfront hotel rooms are spacious, elegantly appointed with distinctive amenities and showcase spectacular city, mountain and harbour views through floor-to-ceiling windows. The Fairmont Gold floor is an exclusive hotel within a hotel, featuring complimentary breakfast and evening canapes, personal concierge service and an exclusive lounge and terrace with harbour-views. Visit the on-site restaurant ARC. The culinary team embraces fresh, local and sustainable ingredients complemented by hotel-grown herbs from the 2,100 square foot rooftop garden and honey from the on-site honeybee colony. Expect simple, flavor focused cuisine, cooked with flawless execution appealing to discerning or emerging palates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Waterfront Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Waterfront
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont
Fairmont Waterfront Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing