We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value - some problems” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Victorian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Victorian Hotel to your Saves list
Victorian Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   514 Homer Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2V6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #54 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Great value - some problems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2007

Was a bit worried about booking this hotel after seeing all the mixed reviews. However pleasantly surprised. The hotel is situated close to most of the places we wanted to go to.
The ladies at the front desk were very helpful in giving advice and we were lucky to get a really nice room (no 10), which looks out on the street and has a little kitchenette. This was very helpful as I was traveling with my 5 year old and we preferred to eat in at night. The drawback – no cutlery or crockery in the room (but we are seasoned travelers and arrived with our own!!!). Our room was very clean – except for the glasses not being washed or replaced by clean ones for 3 days. The one day when the glasses were replaced with clean ones, the cleaning lady forgot to finish up with the room and we ended up making our own beds! There was no continental breakfast during our stay, as this is seasonal.
The only drawback, was having to pay for our first night accommodation which we missed because of our American Airline flight that was delayed. We were on a booked itinerary and missed the first night of our tour because of this delay. All the other hotels we were booked at moved our booking forward without any cancellation fee – except for the Victorian Hotel, where we ended up staying our full booking, but still had to pay for the additional night we could not make (guess it is what happens when booking any small establishment!). Overall, great room, nice beds and no bed bugs!

Restaurant :
We love the sushi selection at Tsunami Sushi Restaurant (the choice of my 5 year old).
Things to see : (Bearing in mind that I had to entertain this 5 year old!).
Stanley Park Aquarium (don’t think if you have seen one, you have seen all. This aquarium has all the strange fish you don’t normally see in the warm waters of the Caribbean!).
Science Museum – hours of entertainment!
Granville Island – especially the kids shopping area!
Maritime Museum – for young boys
Bad experience:
The Hop on Hop off bus. Started off very well, but later in the afternoon we waited for 45 minutes for a bus (supposed to arrive every 15 minutes). Eventually ended up on the bus of the opposition (by accident!).

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — No understanding for travel delays
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    137
    71
    24
    17
See reviews for
47
176
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2007

I stayed at this place for 3 nights and found it very good value for money. I booked and paid for a single room but was put in a double. The room was well decorated, comfortable, and spacious. There was no ensuite but the hall bathroom was clean and attractive so I didn't find this a problem at all. Plus there was free internet access.
The staff were ok - not super-friendly but helpful when they were asked. The breakfast was nothing special but I thought that given the price of the rooms, it was certainly adequate. And yes, it's served in a very little room, but the place was quite homely and attractive, so I kind of found this part of its charm.
As for the area of town, I'm female and was travelling on my own and I didn't find it a problem at all. There's homeless people throughout a lot of downtown Vancouver and I didn't notice that the street that this hotel is on was any worse than the other main areas (and probably better than some). It's very close to everything too.
All in all, I had a very good stay here and wouldn't hesitate to return if I was back in town.

  • Liked — Inviting decor, convenient location, nice room
  • Disliked — Staff could be slightly friendlier
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2007

We like the place and have stayed there 3 times - but this time I discovered bites on my back and upper arm when I got home. I phoned the desk clerk, who was unsurprised, unapologetic, and didn't offer a refund. I'll be writing to the management. A charming place, if you get one of the bug-free rooms

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, wa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2007

This hotel looked interesting and I thought I would try. Unfortunately, I never got a chance. I used the website to book a room and found the following problems.
1. Website sends unsecure mails using credit card number.
2. Since mail is sent, booking is not guaranteed until you got confirmation from them over the phone.

Suggestion: Call for your booking. Don't submit your room requests via email.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2006

This is the 2nd time we've stayed at the Victorian. To be honest, for the money we paid it was fine. However, the position (opposite a Salvation Army Hostel) and in an area "awaiting development" will put some off.

The room was fine but on this visit we couldn't help but notice that the hallways and public areas really do need sorting out, to be honest, they were scruffy.

The real downside was the breakfast, which, in all honesty, is shocking. They'd have been better off losing a ground floor bedroom and gaining a breakfast room.

Overall we feel the standard had declined since our last visit and on our next trip to vancouver we will be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2006

We stayed 3 nights. We were a little surprised at the condition of the hotel and some of the immediate surrounding area. From the website photos and such, we expected it would be a little bit nicer. Although in retrospect, I guess the very affordable prices should have been more of an indication. It is an old building in an area that seems to be up and coming, but is kind of 'on the edge'. It appears that the owners are in the process of rehabbing the hotel. Some areas, such as our bathroom, are completely rehabbed and top notch, but other areas, such as the hallways, display holes in the drywall, exposed wiring and other signs of incomplete construction work. The overall effect is kind of "funky, charming"- the furniture is old and kind of a mixed bag. The cleanliness was below average, there were stains on some of the furniture and the bathroom seemed to be only partially cleaned each day. The room was fairly noisy from both the street noises and the hall noises. But a floor fan was provided and we used that at night to drown out the noise. The curtains did almost nothing to block out the manmade light at night or the morning sun. The beds were not great, but adequate. The continental breakfast provided was ok, not great. (Coffee, tea, juice, yogurt and breads). We were surprised by the parking situation. The only parking was behind the building in a locked lot. It was very tight quarters and cost an extra $10 per night which we hadn't anticipated. The best part of staying here was really the location and the price. It was within easy walking distance (or bus ride) to pretty much everything. In general we felt safe, the security seemed good.

  • Liked — location in city
  • Disliked — housekeeping
  • Tips/Secrets — bring earplugs and an eyeshade
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2006

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel so much. Reasonable price, clean rooms, continental breakfast of a variety of breads, Danishes, peanut butter, jams and more. Very friendly staff. This charming little hotel is located in the Gastown area, is being refurbished so one should expect that it is not completely finished. The areas that are done are marvelous. Period furniture, hardwood in hallways. The rooms are large with very comfortable beds, large bathroom with comfortable tub.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone. It is reasonably priced, centrally located and totally charming.

  • Liked — Its charm
  • Disliked — that we had to leave to return home
  • Tips/Secrets — SteamWorks in Gastown has great food and beer
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Hotel

Address: 514 Homer Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Victorian Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver, discover the Victorian Hotel-a newly renovated boutique-style property housed in a beautiful brick Victorian era building dating back to 1898. Once inside,guests are transported to the 21st century with 47 beautifully appointed guest rooms designed to create a truly alternative hotel experience.The location is at the nexus of 3 distinct neighborhoods. Historic Gastown,trendy Yaletown and the brand new development of Coal Harbour next to the Convention Centre, are all within walking distance.The shopping district of Robson street and the entertainment sector of Granville are also just minutes away. Waterfront Sky Train station and Roger's Arena are both approximately 5 minute walks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victorian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.