We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not like the Holiday Inn Expresses we're used to” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Atrium Inn Vancouver

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Atrium Inn Vancouver to your Saves list
Atrium Inn Vancouver
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 East Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V5K 2A1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not like the Holiday Inn Expresses we're used to”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2006

This was our first visit to Canada and since we like the HI Express Inns, we decided to stay at this location since the rate per night was reasonable. The lobby of the hotel was very impressionable. We arrived a bit early and inquired if we could check in. The front desk person, bald white male, was very rude and abruptly told us that he was very busy and that the hotel was booked. It was understandable, although we felt that his rudeness was unwarranted. The rooms looked "ok," nothing special, and felt dirty and dusty. The walls are not too thick, we could hear the people in the room nextdoor talking and snoring. One night we called the front desk and asked for wash towels since housekeeping had not left any. None was ever delivered. The complimentary breakfast had a good selection and the seating was very crowded.The hotel is located next to a dirty downtown area where there are a lot of bums and prostitutes, and where we witnessed drug deals going on. The free parking garage provides security with rolling gates which is great considering the part of town the hotel is located.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    172
    70
    27
    12
See reviews for
127
118
25
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2005

i stayed with my family during august, so they gave us our rooms, so i saw the sheets on the bed weren't changed from the last guest. I called room service they came to change it and dumped the sheets (clean) on the floor. i was shocked and very grossed out. then afterwards when i got the bill they charged me too many times because i cancelled one room and they stilled charged me. the accoutants there stink!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham Maritime
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
280 helpful votes 280 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2005

Other reviewers note that this hotel is quite out of the centre - it's a fifteen minute bus ride (take the 10 or 16) into the centre of Vancouver ($2.25 CAD), which seems fine given the excellent rates and free parking.

The hotel's rooms are above-spec for Holiday Inn Express - presumably because the place used to be the Atrium Inn, and was relatively recently converted to the HIE format. Beds are comfy, linens etc are of excellent quality. In short, a bargain!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2005

My family and I made a visit to the PNE and spent 1 night in this hotel. We choose the Holiday Inn on Hastings as it was the closest hotel to the PNE. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the hotel itself had all the ammenitites of your usual Holiday Inn. It was very handy to be so close to the PNE fair grounds and not have to worry about parking. Our room was clean and well-equipped. However, it did show signs of age (e.g. stains on the carpet and loose door handles). For being on a busy street our room was not too noisy. If you are planning a visit to the PNE, this Holiday Inn is worth considering.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2005

I was thrilled with our stay at the Holiday Inn Express this past week. I took my children for a quick three day trip to Vancouver to Playland and chose this hotel because of its proximity to exhibition park. We were slightly concerned because of it's location on Hastings street, as we know Vancouver well, but we had no problems at all. The underground parking was very handy and the breakfast provided every morning had something for all my picky eaters. As we travelled to different destinations around the city it was handy to have a hotel in such a central location. It was a very quick and direct trip to Stanley Park for example.

The front desk staff was great and very friendly and the hotel was beautifully clean. The only problem we had was when we tried to access the in room movies and the system was down. This was NOT the fault of the hotel but they did their best to fix the problem and took no time in contacting us once the problem had been fixed so that the kids could see their movie.
We would surely stay at this location again

Stayed August 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2005

We just got back from a great weekend mini getaway to our most favourite big city - Vancouver!!! We decided to stay at the Express to give it a try and our wallet a break from the more expensive hotels in downtown.

The hotel is in the eastern portion of Vancouver City. You will definitely need a car, as it is too far to walk to the Skytrain metro/subway. Not a bad part of town, just a couple of km away from downtown and all of the action.

The front desk was nice and courteous. The room was very nice and we were very impressed with the toilettries (sp) as they were prettu upscale for an express/budget oriented hotel. The towels and linens were clean and plentiful and the movie selection (not that we used it at all) was also very plentiful and current.

All in all, a great hotel just a bit too far from downtown!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birch Bay, Washington
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2005

We just completed a stay here. Two infant grandchildren and their parents stayed on another floor. We all know Vancouver quite well and were pleasantly surprised to find this place. It is within walking distance of the old Pacific National Exhibition site and its Playland and up to a 10-15 minute drive to downtown. The staff throughout were pleasant and professional. We found the rooms modern and clean. We had brought our laptop and were pleased to discover complimentary in-room high-speed wireless. The parking is free, and in a well-lit basement garage that you have to swipe with your room card to open. The complimentary continental breakfast buffet was well above average.

Don't stay here for the location (unless you want to be in Vancouver's East End for a specific reason), but it's not a bad drive into downtown and for an all-included total price of less than $100 Canadian we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atrium Inn Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium Inn Vancouver

Address: 2889 East Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V5K 2A1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#49 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atrium Inn Vancouver 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'You'll Love It In Here' at our Vancouver Hotel. The Atrium Inn Vancouver is located minutes from downtown Vancouver. Our boutique-style hotel is close to everything in Vancouver. Are you searching for a pet friendly, Vancouver hotel near fun and exciting attractions? When you stay at the Atrium Inn Vancouver you can catch a game at the Pacific Coliseum, venture to PNE and Playland, or explore Stanley Park. Smart business travelers enjoy staying in our Vancouver hotel suites or executive rooms. Our location off Trans Canada Highway 1 makes it easy to get to meetings. Rogers Sugar, ECOMM, Metrotown, BCIT and other businesses are nearby. Make your event a success with our meeting rooms and A/V rental equipment. With free high-speed, wireless Internet access, you'll have a productive stay in Vancouver. You can burn calories at our fitness centre, get a good night's rest on our triple-sheeted beds, and start the morning with a free continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atrium Inn Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atrium Inn Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.