We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Construction work at the Sylvia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sylvia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sylvia Hotel to your Saves list
Sylvia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1154 Gilford St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
BC Residence pakage
Ranked #35 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Construction work at the Sylvia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The Sylvia was built somewhere around 1900 and, understandably, sometimes requires work. We have stayed at the Sylvia for over 20 years and will continue to do so. The Sylvia is doing fairly extensive repair work on the brickwork on the SW side of the building - facing toward Denman. We were in a room where the workers were about 30 feet from our window and continued working, fairly noisily, until after 8 p.m. in the evening. The staff at the Sylvia were concerned, hadn't been told by the contractor they would be working that late, however...... it affected our enjoyment of the stay. They moved us the next day to a much nicer room higher up on the northeast corner. Unfortunately, someone started tapping with a hammer somewhere nearby in the building at about 7:30 the next morning. We are planning on staying there late in February, but, be forewarned, they are doing construction. I love staying there but wouldn't advise eating there. We had nachos in the evening during the live music - most of the cheese wasn't even melted and we had a light breakfast - wouldn't do that again - go to Starbucks. The service was very slow and the toast and scone were marginal at best. Oh, and the fire alarm in our first room started beeping at about 8 in the morning - apparently low battery plus dust!

Room Tip: The suites on the front over the 4th floor have a wonderful view of English Bay and have kitchens if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Yes we are doing some renovations which had to be done because as you mentioned the building is over 100 year old and needs some improvements to be able to stay around for another 100 years. I am sorry that it affected your stay. The construction has been ongoing for months now and we have had very little disturbances and guests don't seem to mind as the work is done during the day when most people are out. Go over the comments over the past two months and the Reno's are barely mentioned. The night they worked until 8 was an exception as they ran into so some unforeseen issues that could not wait until the next day. I was happy to read the staff listened to your concerns and did their best and moved you to another room. There is no good time of year to do the work required but I can assure you we are all working hard to keep our guests informed and the construction crews have been very accommodating in keeping the noise, dirt and understanding that we are still open and guests comfort is OUR HIGHEST PRIORITY. The work is only being done on the outside of the east wall and most of our guests do not even know that work is being done unless they go outside and see the shrink wrap. We appreciate your 20 years of staying with us and we hope that we will see you again soon. I am concerned about your comments on the food, we have improved the menus since our new chef was hired and I have been getting great reviews and other guests have written comments on this site to verify that. I would be interested in hearing more about why you feel that why and I will forward your concerns to the food and beverage manager and chef as I know they would be very interested in why your experience was so different than others, so call or write me if you would like to talk. Thank-you for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    375
    79
    35
    27
See reviews for
182
362
78
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garden Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We almost always stay at the Sylvia when we go to Vancouver. It's old world charm,comfortable rooms, great food and ambience, and excellent service all recommend it. And let's not forget the great location - right on English Bay, easy walking distance to Stanley Park or downtown - why would you stay anywhere else? There are lots of shops and excellent restaurants nearby as well.
We have an additional reason to be very happy with the Sylvia. Recently we were in Vancouver due to a serious medical emergency with a close family member. When I mentioned this while booking the room, they said they would give us a special rate for the night - greatly reduced. And then they upgraded us to a suite. That was above and beyond any concept of good customer service.
We HIGHLY recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old section - they have more character and often a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank-you for your great comments about your stay with us. I was sorry to hear that the reason you had to stay with us was for medical reason. Maybe next time it will be a pleasure trip. Thank-you for mentioning the service offered by my crew, they all work hard to exceed guest’s expectations. Thank-you for the recommendation and hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The Sylvia Hotel is a very special place, which we return to time and again because of its charm, friendly and helpful staff and great views from the bay side rooms.

We have enjoyed staying in various configurations of suites in the hotel and, recently, in a room on the 8th floor, overlooking English Bay on a truly splendid day.

We will be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank-you for taking time to write a review about your stay at the Sylvia hotel. By reading your comments it looks like you had a great time and enjoyed the service from the staff. Our location is great and being a heritage site does offer a pace from days gone by and still offers the charm of the past. Great scores and rating and we hope to see you again soon. Remember to book directly with the hotel for the best rates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I recently had to be in Vancouver for medical reasons. A reservation was made well in advance to feel organized and calm. A day trip was even undertaken ahead to check out which accommodation would work best for myself and a friend.. So, I looked forward to a quiet, calm, stress-free stay in accommodation with two beds and a kitchen, prepared ahead for a guest with scent/chemical allergies.

Instead, the Sylvia Hotel felt it appropriate to first, before arriving, argue about my reservation (blaming a reservation agent) - before agreeing to honour as I thought I had booked. Then, and only on arrival, inform that construction was ongoing since December with scaffolding, noise, and with workers walking in front of the accommodation windows. On viewing our booked accommodation this was indeed the case, with the windows filthy too.

As another quiet room with two beds and a kitchen had not been set aside, accommodation with only one bed and a pull-out sofa (full of food crumbs when opened) in a small sitting area plus kitchen, and which had not been cleaned ahead for scent/chemical avoidance, had to be accepted. A water view (with our plans - mostly only seen at night) was a plus, but came with busy street noise.

Very poor customer service under normal circumstances, but given the reason for visiting Vancouver, particularly concerning !!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
I am sorry that you felt that you did not get great customer service that we are known for. Guests are told when booking that we do not guarantee room locations only room types. This is because we have so many guests extend their stays so with limited room types are in high demand and rooms with a view are often requested but only a limited number of rooms have views. We do our best to match requests with the room types available each day, sometimes we are just not able to meet all requests. The renovations are being done at this time of year (because we have less guests at this time of year) and we are doing our best to keep the guests interruptions to a minimum, so far we have not had guests even comment on the construction. I am sorry that it affected your stay. We hope that we will see you again (maybe after the Reno's have been completed)?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The Sylvia Hotel is a great little hotel. It has a fabulous location -- near Stanley Park, view of English Bay, a short walk to great restaurants and shops. It is a quiet spot and offered a good night's sleep. We had a lovely time in the lounge having a nightcap and overlooking the lights of English Bay. It is very charming! We stayed as part of Dine Out Vancouver -- highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank-you for the kind words about your stay. The dine out package is very popular at this time of year. The views from the lounge at night are great even on raining or foggy nights. I would suggest that you join us on Wednesday or Thursday nights for the live entertainment. The location is great for so many reasons, thank-you for mentioning it. We will look forward to your return visit to the Sylvia; we have been here for 100 years and hope to be here for the next 100 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Perfect location, old world charm,lots of history, all the modern amenities, staff very helpful and engaging. Restaurant and Bar were 10 out of 10 great food and excellent service - best desert ever "Hot Lemon Meringue pie and Ice Cream!!!" we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
10 OUT OF 10, CAN NOT GET ANY BETTER THAN THAT! Thank-you for your comments and scores, your comments will be posted in the lunch room for the crew to read. I know that the chef and food and beverage team will love to read what you had to say. I was happy to read that you will be back, remember to always book directly with the hotel for the best rates and room types as we do not always put all room types on the 3rd party sites like Expedia and Travel-o-city. We will heat up the pie for when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Charming Hotel !! check in was very quick after a long day of travelling ! Staff were friendly and informative. A great location close to Stanley Park and able to walk to beach and many restaurants . I would go back and highly recommend it to anyone !!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Great hotel, nice header, thank-you for staying with us and taking the time to write a few words about your stay. We that we will see you again soon and if you book again please remember to call the hotel directly for the best rates and room types and we do not always put all the room types on other sites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sylvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Address: 1154 Gilford St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#34 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#44 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sylvia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.