We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Covered in English Ivy - Killer Location and Great Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sylvia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sylvia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sylvia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1154 Gilford St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book direct for savings
Ranked #34 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Covered in English Ivy - Killer Location and Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have stayed at the Sylvia Hotel numerous times now. What it lacks in amenities, it makes up for in terms of friendly service and an incredible location. This is an older apartment style hotel that still contains many of it's quirky charms of yesteryear. Situated near the corner of Denman and Davie St, and right across the road from English Bay this hotel is in a prime location. Quick access to the hustle and bustle of the city and great places to eat, and right on the walking/cycling paths that lead to the sea-wall and Stanley Park. It's also dog-friendly which is a great bonus! I can't imagina wanting to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank-you for your great review. I know how much pet lovers like our location for the easy access to Stanley Park and the beach. Plus we do not charge extra for pets. Our location is often mentioned by other guests and they like the fact that we are in a residential area and close enough to the downtown core if needed. Hope to see you back again this time with your dog.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    310
    63
    34
    24
See reviews for
143
296
66
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Saanich, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel is a great place to stay. Located across a pleasant, tree-lined street from English Bay, the beach is literally at your doorstep, with the vibrancy of the West End just around the corner, and the beauty of Stanley Park a couple of blocks away. We stayed in a double room on the side of the building, yet even this room had a view of English Bay (front rooms of course have the full view out onto English Bay). It was most pleasant to sit at the table in the morning with our delicious room service Eggs Beni and tea, looking out at the view of ocean and residential street scene.
Rooms are clean (no bed bugs, which some hotels do have), beds are comfy, building is quiet, staff helpful and polite. A note for those who dislike air conditioning (as I do) - windows do open for fresh air.
Although not a fancy, fancy hotel, I much prefer the well-kept, old heritage aspect of this hotel, the location, and value. This is not an expensive hotel, even though they offer alot. Check out is a comfortable noon, or special request for 1pm.
I'd look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Side rooms are cheaper, yet still have a small view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
I enjoyed reading your review, lots of good information for the readers about your experience at the Sylvia. Thank-you for your scores and room tip. I will pass along your comments about the cleanliness of the hotel as my crew work very hard to ensure that everything is perfect for your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Last week i had the pleasre to stay at the Sylvia. Although I had often met people in the bar as it was central to many other attractions this time I stayed. On very short notice they found me a small but very nice room. Rates were very good (2 different rooms $70-$90/night plus tax). Very clean-good internet-quiet-and with very friendly and helpful staff. Also I noticed that people are allowed dogs which although I didn't have one with me is always a favourable point in my eyes. The bar/restaurant is very relaxing with big windows looking across the street and over the water. Stanley Park is within short walking distance and very good for walking-biking-photography-birdwatching-or a visit to the aquarium (avoid weekends if possible). There are a variety of bars and restaurants immediately adjent along Denman. Also good underground parking in an area with parking very restricted parkingon the streets. All in all-highly reccomended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
I am always very interested in reading the reviews for first time guests. So happy that you enjoyed your stay. Yes we are a pet friendly hotel and I believe that we are the only hotel that does not charge extra for pets. Thank-you for the great comments that I know future guests will enjoy reading.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Utah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

If location, location, location is what you are looking for the Sylvia is for you. On a recent trip to Vancouver my wife and I took some advice from a local friend in town and stayed at the Sylvia.

It was a good place to stay if you understand what you are getting. Is it a 4 star hotel, no. Is it a new updated hotel, no. Is it a historic place to stay within walking distance of Stanley Park and the great food on Denman Street, YEP!!

The hotel itself is old and historic. It's well kept and clean, but has an older feel to it. If you know what to expect before hand you will have a great experience here. The staff was also extremely helpful especially the front desk. All questions we had about the surrounding area were answered with a smile.

Overall our experience at the Sylvia was good and we will not hesitate to stay here again. The location is unbeatable if you are planning on spending a lot of time in Stanley Park and we grew to love the historic feel of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Our location is first class, Please thank your friends for the recommendation. I am proud of my front desk crew as well as all the others for the hard work they do to keep all of our guests happy and informed. Thank-you for your comments and good scores. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We just spent four days at the Sylvia. If you are interested in a modest, but character filled experience in an incredible location, this is the place for you. It is an old heritage building that has been preserved and updated, but not so much that you lose the sense of history. At first it feels kind of like an upscale hostel, but the clientele proves that it appeals to a wide range of folks. Our room was quite small, but very clean. English Bay is steps away and Stanley Park is just around the corner. We will most definitely be back :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Great scores, thank-you, happy to read that you will be returning. We are 100 years old and very proud of the fact that we are a heritage site and plan to keep the charm and feel of days long past. We hope always provide superior service to keep Guests coming back year over year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

What is more romantic than a trellis twined around a window of a hotel window built in the
1800's? Add to it the intense autumn colours of red and yellow and you are not transported
back in time but feel at home and at peace with the world. Such is the setting of the Sylvia
Hotel this autumn. It has the best view of English Bay, bar and restaurant with the same
view and a good mixture of locals and travellers. Even when it is busy, it is still the most
relaxing place to stay. A bit disappointinng is that not a the suites have coffee makers, or
hair dryers. However, there are ample restaurants, and some of the best--the Boathouse
Cactus Club and Milestones nearby.And to top it off; it is low season. Treat yourself!

Room Tip: Some suites do have coffee makers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. The hotel was built in 1911-12 and had the grand opening in May of 1913. The fall is my favorite time as the rates are lower and you are still in the great location, plus when the leaves start to turn; you could cross the street and when the wind blows, looks like the entire hotel is on fire. We do offer a relaxing environment, thanks for mentioning it. On a side note, (all rooms have hair dryers) and we hope to add coffee markers in the rooms in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We hesitated long and hard before we made our reservation. We knew we wanted a bayside view but were unsure whether the extra cost would be worthwhile.
When we compared prices to the Best Western just a few blocks away, the difference would have bought the evening meal with the wine. But in the end we decided to pay the premium.
We are so glad that we did, at our arrival the receptionist was wonderful, superbly efficient and aslo upgraded us to a suite on the 2nd floor.
And then began 3 fabulous October days in a sunny and warm Vancouver. And the best part was always walking back across the bayside knowing we were staying in the beautiful building in front of of us.
The building is old, the corridors have seen many feet over the hundred years but to us it had more charm at every level than some enormous glass and stainless steel edifice on the other side of town. All the staff we met were truly excellent and we will return.

Room Tip: To get the full experience you really have to splurge for a bayside view and our corner suite was wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Love your title; I am so happy that you did decide to stay with us. By the sounds of your comments you feel that you made a good choice as well. I am always happy to read when guests see the value in the Sylvia Hotel with some of its quirks. You do pay more for rooms with a view and they are not always available but we do our best to give clients what they want. Thank-you for mentioning the staff. They are values by Management and Guests alike for the hard work and service they offer. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sylvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Address: 1154 Gilford St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#39 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvia Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sylvia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.