We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to describe in a title” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sylvia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sylvia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sylvia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1154 Gilford St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Great summer packages
Ranked #33 of 96 hotels in Vancouver
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hard to describe in a title”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We just spent four days at the Sylvia. If you are interested in a modest, but character filled experience in an incredible location, this is the place for you. It is an old heritage building that has been preserved and updated, but not so much that you lose the sense of history. At first it feels kind of like an upscale hostel, but the clientele proves that it appeals to a wide range of folks. Our room was quite small, but very clean. English Bay is steps away and Stanley Park is just around the corner. We will most definitely be back :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Great scores, thank-you, happy to read that you will be returning. We are 100 years old and very proud of the fact that we are a heritage site and plan to keep the charm and feel of days long past. We hope always provide superior service to keep Guests coming back year over year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    285
    58
    33
    24
See reviews for
130
269
64
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

What is more romantic than a trellis twined around a window of a hotel window built in the
1800's? Add to it the intense autumn colours of red and yellow and you are not transported
back in time but feel at home and at peace with the world. Such is the setting of the Sylvia
Hotel this autumn. It has the best view of English Bay, bar and restaurant with the same
view and a good mixture of locals and travellers. Even when it is busy, it is still the most
relaxing place to stay. A bit disappointinng is that not a the suites have coffee makers, or
hair dryers. However, there are ample restaurants, and some of the best--the Boathouse
Cactus Club and Milestones nearby.And to top it off; it is low season. Treat yourself!

Room Tip: Some suites do have coffee makers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. The hotel was built in 1911-12 and had the grand opening in May of 1913. The fall is my favorite time as the rates are lower and you are still in the great location, plus when the leaves start to turn; you could cross the street and when the wind blows, looks like the entire hotel is on fire. We do offer a relaxing environment, thanks for mentioning it. On a side note, (all rooms have hair dryers) and we hope to add coffee markers in the rooms in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We hesitated long and hard before we made our reservation. We knew we wanted a bayside view but were unsure whether the extra cost would be worthwhile.
When we compared prices to the Best Western just a few blocks away, the difference would have bought the evening meal with the wine. But in the end we decided to pay the premium.
We are so glad that we did, at our arrival the receptionist was wonderful, superbly efficient and aslo upgraded us to a suite on the 2nd floor.
And then began 3 fabulous October days in a sunny and warm Vancouver. And the best part was always walking back across the bayside knowing we were staying in the beautiful building in front of of us.
The building is old, the corridors have seen many feet over the hundred years but to us it had more charm at every level than some enormous glass and stainless steel edifice on the other side of town. All the staff we met were truly excellent and we will return.

Room Tip: To get the full experience you really have to splurge for a bayside view and our corner suite was wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Love your title; I am so happy that you did decide to stay with us. By the sounds of your comments you feel that you made a good choice as well. I am always happy to read when guests see the value in the Sylvia Hotel with some of its quirks. You do pay more for rooms with a view and they are not always available but we do our best to give clients what they want. Thank-you for mentioning the staff. They are values by Management and Guests alike for the hard work and service they offer. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Sylvia is a lovely hotel with great service and location. You are right at English Bay and walking distance to Stanley Park. You literally cross the street and you are at the bay. Close to all amenities. The rooms are clean and quiet and they have quite a variety of rooms. They also have a patio to eat/drink and people watch. I have stayed several times and are always pleased we chose this hotel and location. Would stay again.

Room Tip: ask the staff what they offer for your needs. they are very helpful. We took a one and half bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Welcome back, nice review. Good room tip offered to the other readers. We always try to offer guests the room location and type as often as we can; however, being so busy it is sometimes impossible. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Alberta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Sylvia Hotel is a 99-year-old building that was originally a luxurious apartment building on English Bay in Vancouver's West End. Now a very popular hotel, it sits just next to Vancouver's high rise jungle to the east and the world-famous Stanley Park starting just a couple of blocks west. The vine-covered eight-storey hotel has wonderful views of the bay, the beach, and the edge of the high rise condo/apartment district. It is a easy walk to Denman and Davie Streets with their unique shops, cafes, and street life, and not far from the upscale shopping and entertainment attractions of Robson Street.

We paid thirty dollars extra per night for a water view, and what we got was a large corner room with a city view as well. There were four large, double-hung windows which could be opened to let in the sounds of the city as well as fresh air. When closed, the room was extremely quiet. The bed was very comfortable, and there were ample chairs for relaxing in. The bathroom was very basic: sufficient, but if one expects spa-like facilities, one would be disappointed! The room was very clean, and housekeeping did a fine job of making up the room during our stay. One convenience I missed was an in-room coffee maker: a quick trip down to the restaurant for a $3.00 takeout, or a short and refreshing walk to a nearby Starbucks provided my caffeine fix!

We had eaten at Sylvia's Restaurant before, so we were more than ready to enjoy their excellent breakfasts and good service again. The view from the restaurant is great. A late-evening drink in the comfortable lounge was just the way to end a day in the city.

We would recommend the Sylvia for anyone who appreciates an historic building with a great staff in a wonderful city.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and comfortable; suites with kitchenettes are available for long-term stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
A well written review. I am sure other readers will gain some good information from your comments, Thank-you for posting some of your photos and informing our future guests about the great location and service you enjoyed during your stay at the Sylvia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

A train trip from Seattle to Vancouver, BC with an overnight at the Sylvia Hotel was a perfect tranquilizer for us. The Sylvia's room was large and quiet. The trees across the street in Stanley Park were beautiful autumn golds and reds. We ordered room service and hibernated for 24hrs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank-you for making the Sylvia Hotel a part of your Romantic weekend away. We love the convenience of Vancouver to the people of Seattle and I agree a perfect place to "hibernate" even if for only 24 hours. We all need a break every once in a while. So happy that we could be a part of your down time. Great scores, hope to see you again when you need more time away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Sylvia Hotel is in a good location and within walking distance to the city centre at Vancouver. The staff are not particularly friendly but, alas, we found most people in this rather depressing city rather aloof. The room in the Hotel was very small and the bathroom was tiny. We found Vancouver cold, wet and filled with homeless people wandering the streets. The harbour does not have the beauty nor the sparkle of Sydney Harbour .. in fact, it isn't even in the same class as Sydney (sorry!). Whereas Sydney is an exciting, buzzing multicultural city with a lively harbour full of party boats, yachts and ferries, Vancouver has this "depressing" feel about it and a rather "dead" harbour ... it was very disappointing. Victoria, on the other hand, is gorgeous!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach are OK but can rather noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank-you for your review, however most of your comments might be better directed at the City of Vancouver as we do not have any influence on English Bay or the Harbour... Hope to see you again on your next trip to our area. As for the people, I have lived in Vancouver all my life and find my experience with the people in Vancouver has been much more enjoyable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sylvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Vancouver
Address: 1154 Gilford St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvia Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sylvia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.