We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great attention to detail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Sunset Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P4, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great attention to detail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

Friendly & helpful staff. Clean rooms, hallways & lobby. Pleasant colors throughout. Furniture is reasonable quality and the bed was comfortable. Free secured underground parking. Central location. All rooms have kitchen units with cutlery etc. Wholesome continental breakfast & free WiFi. I’ve stayed in many hotels over the years. In my experience, this represents the best value ever.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    363
    50
    13
    6
See reviews for
378
489
72
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

This was a great place to stay while our son was in the ST Pauls Hospital , for surgery.It is a great location with everything we needed as far as restaurants ,groceries, pharmacy's ,as well as anything else you can think of.The staff was the the best we have encounterd in all our stays over the past 10yrs all over the area.They were friendly, helpfull,kind and sinsere. This is a very clean, comfortable,afforodable home away from home.We will be back! Thank you Sunset Inn for the great stay!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

From the moment the desk clerk at check in took a look at my partner's "Tabasco" baseball cap and claimed that chipotle Tabasco had changed his life, we knew that this hotel was going to be pleasantly different. They upgraded us to an executive suite for free and we were glad they did. There's a full kitchen (stove, microwave, medium sized fridge, sink, pots/pans utensils), a comfy sofa and easy chair, dining table, two TV's, balcony with view over the Fraser, nice fluffy bathrobes, etc. This is an older building--may be converted from apartments, so don't expect anything trendy. But the suite we had is nicely appointed and very, very comfortable, the staff is warm, friendly, and helpful. Close to Yale Town. We'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

We recently spent 3 weeks at the Sunset Inn& Suites and enjoyed every minute. Welcomed with warm smiles from all Front Desk employees who always made us feel more like friends than hotel guests. From the ample breakfast to the lovely warm & quiet suite we felt cared for. Great location on quiet street but close to all attractions. We hope to return many times.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whistler
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights on our way to whistler in December. Very friendly, helpful staff. Large, comfortable rooms and beds with plenty of kitchen equipment. Reasonable breakfast which can be taken up to your room and a morning newspaper delivered daily. In a great location to see the sights and for shopping. Quiet residential area. We would recommend this to anyone and everyone, the suites are large and spacious so can easily house a family

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Chose this hotel because of the location. When I arrived was greated by Dave who was extremely helpful and friendly. I was so surprised and happy with how clean & nice our suite was. This hotel was walking distance to restaurants and sights so never had to drive. This was a wonderful experience and would definitely stay here again. :)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

We needed to be at St Paul's hospital so we added a week before that and an extra week after. Thats 3 weeks and it was comfortable enough to stay much longer. The building was originally built in the 1970s as an apartment. The hotel has the feel of the size of a boutique hotel, the friendliness of a B&B between the staff and other guests, and the privacy of an apartment. The location couldn't be better - we walked everywhere. We cooked 1/2 our meals in the room quite comfortably. The breakfast was continental with the coffee being great. We did however buy our own fresh squeezed OJ.
The big thing though was that they went the extra distance: free parking (every other hotel charges $15- 25/n), free loaner umbrellas, DVD in the room and a selection of loaner DVDs at the desk.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn and Suites

Address: 1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family-owned Sunset Inn & Suites hotel in Vancouver located on a quiet, tree-lined residential street in the charming West End. Our residential-style Vancouver suites offer all the comforts of home with separate bedrooms, living rooms, fully-equipped kitchens, dining areas and private balconies. Whether your Vancouver travels are for leisure or business, our spacious suites at affordable rates are ideal for memorable family vacations, productive business trips and extended stays in Vancouver. Find numerous amenities at our Vancouver hotel including free gated parking, wireless Internet and breakfast. Then explore the endless Vancouver attractions within walking distance including the English Bay, Robson Street, and more. Our friendly staff looks forward to going above and beyond to make your stay at our Vancouver hotel unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.