We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very well appointed suites - great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Sunset Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P4, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very well appointed suites - great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

This is a no frills, but in all respects very adequate hotel. We stayed 1 night on our way from Rockies to Vancouver Island and a further 5 nights on our return to the City. The front desk staff, though there seemed to be frequent personnel changes, were at all times very helpful and responded to all requests for service and information with courtesy. They know that their guests are interested in value for money and went out of their way to point out alternative means of transport to taxis.
The executive suite we stayed in on the upper floor appeared to have been recently re-furbished with wood floors which the standard suite we used for one night had not.
The real win here is the location, in the West End (which is primarily residential, but within a 10 minute walk to Robson and the City centre and 20 minutes to Stanley Park which you reach by strolling up English Bay and Sunset Beach which is just two blocks away from the hotel. A short stroll and hop on the little bay ferry takes you to magical Granville Island which can feed any culinary desire you want. Admittedly we lucked out with the weather - 5 days of unbroken sunshine and 28 degrees is not typical Vancouver even in August, but it meant we caught some spectacular sunsets over the bay before going out to eat.
Altogether Sunset Inn and Suites delivers what it advertises and I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    642
    305
    45
    12
    5
See reviews for
287
404
63
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Very nice rooms, with full kitchens, but reception staff was very cold and bad-mooded.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We have stayed at the Sunset Inn with Michael and his fabulous staff many times in the past when we were en route to our jobs in northern Alberta. But this time we were there strictly for pleasure purposes and we were not disappointed. The hotel has done extensive renovations since our last stay and the suites were so lovely and spacious. A nice touch was the bottles of water in the frig on our arrival. The breakfast was always fresh and the coffee superb and the staff so friendly and never rushed or too busy for a chat when we were coming and going during the day. One marvelous perk for a downtown hotel is the free parking. What a bonus!! We can hardly wait to come back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

My brother and I stayed six nights in this hotel. It was all it was advertised as, and more. Free parking (enclosed) was a real treat, and free wifi a real nice addition.

Very clean, fully-stocked kitchen, comfortable beds, balcony, attractive neighborhood, many restaurants and shops in walking distance. Staff was very congenial and accommodating.

I think I had one minor complaint when I checked out, but I can't remember it now, so it must not have been much of one. Would definitely check in again.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelowna
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Close to everything....lots of great food near by...make use of the suggestions in the in-suite binder( for more than just good eats). Parking is included in the room price and this a huge plus in Vancouver. We stay here whenever we are in metro Van.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Based on the reviews I read here, I booked three nights at Sunset Suites. Perhaps my expectations were too high for a two-star establishment, but I fail to see why this hotel receives such rave reviews. The suites may be big and clean enough, but virtually everything else was a disappointment. The furnishings were dated with one small, old TV outside the bedroom. The weak toilet in our tiny bathroom got plugged twice during our stay, and since there is no dedicated maintenance person on call, we were forced to go downstairs to the lobby to use the facilities throughout the evening until the next morning. Like the toilet, the one AC unit in the bedroom was barely functional. Fortunately, the heat wave in Vancouver did not hit until after we had checked out. The room we were given was on a low floor with no view and was surprisingly noisy from passing delivery trucks, despite the hotel being in a supposedly quiet residential neighborhood. The meager continental breakfast, which had to be brought up to one’s room on trays, consisted of corn flakes, frosted cheerios, mini bagels (no cream cheese), English muffins (none on our second day), sliced bread, and artificial tasting croissants.. At least apples, oranges, and bananas were offered on most days. As for service, I didn’t find the front desk particularly helpful. We were directed to English Bay Bike Rentals and told to mention the hotel there, presumably for a discount, but no discount was offered.

Given the rate we paid including an extra charge for children staying in the same room, there are definitely better hotel options in Vancouver. If you appreciate a good breakfast like my family does, not to mention better facilities, book instead at the nearby Cascadia Suites, where we enjoyed a huge free hot breakfast buffet, good AC, and a working toilet, all for less than we paid at Sunset Suites!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset1111, General Manager at Sunset Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2010
Dear Guest

I am truly sorry that your stay at the Sunset Inn & Suites was not up to your standards.

As per the toilet problem, all staff are trained to deal with most problems, or have a maintenance person on call 24 hours a day to fix any problems like this. I will look into what happened
Most of the window air conditioner units in our standard one bedroom suites are being replaced, and we now have many portable ac units to be used in living rooms of these rooms. Our executive suites all have separate ac unit in both bedroom and living rooms
Noise from our back alley, is beyond our control, as we are located near a major street and our backside rooms are located facing this. Our south side rooms have rooms facing a quiet residential area, or executive rooms are higher up and have better views and less noise
As we have a limited amount of space within our lobby, we do not have enough room to include a hot breakfast buffet, and try to give as much as we can for space allowed and have fully kitchen in room to enjoy. We try to keep stocked at all times. Thank you for comment about cream cheese. We will now be stocking this item with breakfast
Once again, sorry you stay at the Sunset Inn & Suites was not enjoyable for you, and hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Vancouver

Michael Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

I would stay here again. I think they might have been a condo turned into a hotel. Full kitchen, dining area, living room and balcony. Continental breakfast was extremely small. Small fitness center. Washer and dryer on main floor.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn and Suites

Address: 1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#10 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn and Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family-owned Sunset Inn & Suites hotel in Vancouver located on a quiet, tree-lined residential street in the charming West End. Our residential-style Vancouver suites offer all the comforts of home with separate bedrooms, living rooms, fully-equipped kitchens, dining areas and private balconies. Whether your Vancouver travels are for leisure or business, our spacious suites at affordable rates are ideal for memorable family vacations, productive business trips and extended stays in Vancouver. Find numerous amenities at our Vancouver hotel including free gated parking, wireless Internet and breakfast. Then explore the endless Vancouver attractions within walking distance including the English Bay, Robson Street, and more. Our friendly staff looks forward to going above and beyond to make your stay at our Vancouver hotel unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sunset Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.