We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Sunset Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P4, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights here in June and three in July. The rooms were very comfortable, complete with kitchen and dining area. As the publicity states, it really did feel more like 'home from home' than a conventional hotel. It was handy to be able to take breakfast up to our room on a tray and a coffee making machine was available 24 hours in the reception lobby. A nice touch was the DVD library for those evenings when it can be wet. All of the staff were very welcoming and helpful. Sunset is very convenient for walking to Downtown and nearby Davie Street has plenty of places to eat and a couple of food stores. Two minor points: The service road between Davie Street and Sunset can be noisy with delivery trucks from about 6am - we wore earplugs at night. We hired a Ford Fusion car which was long and we had to take particular care when accessing the car park - but parking was free!
When we go back to Vancouver, we would certainly choose Sunset Inn and Suites and would recommend it to others too.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    648
    313
    45
    12
    5
See reviews for
293
408
63
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. We had a suite at the back of the hotel, so the view was ok, overlooking a street and the back of the shops and restaurants.

The room was large, with a well equipped kitchen. The only strange thing that we had not come across before was that breakfast was self service from a area in the corridor between the reception and the lifts, and taken back to the room.

The hotel was clean and we found the staff very helpful, even giving us discount vouchers, to the suspension bridge.

One way to see Stanley Park is to rent a cycle from one of the many outlets around the area. This was a great way to see the park and some of the water front.

If we ever visit Vancouver again we would book this Hotel without any hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We were walking distance from several restaurants n bakeries. Also walking distance to sunset beach n ferry. Loved the leafy neighborhood n the super friendly staff. The suite is well equipped. I loved the view of Vancouver downtown at night from the bedroom window. Will reconsider staying here on next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel. The location is excellent. (In downtown) the people are very helpful in planning your visit to the different sightseeing places.We had to leave our luggage at the hotel when we went to Victoria. They accommodated us. Eating is no problem as there are plenty of restaurants around. Surely recommend to my friends and if I come again will surely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Check in is 16.00 but our room was ready so we were able to get in at 15.30. Room is a bit dated but a good size with a dining area next to the full kitchen which has four hotplates an oven, microwave, kettle, toaster, coffee maker and large fridge freezer. The bathroom is on the small side but OK. Lots of very hot water and storage space for clothes and luggage. The room was very clean and kept that way throughout our stay. We had one of the cheapest rooms at the back so there is a view of the garbage cans at the rear of the restaurants on Davie Street. It was noisy on occasions (especially at 06.00 when the garbage was collected) but I left the air con running at night to blot out some of the noise. Unfortunately the air con is a bit noisy too. Breakfast has to be collected on a tray from the area near reception from 07.00 till 10.00 and taken back to your room to eat. There are croissants, bread, English muffins, cereal and some fruit as well as orange juice and coffee (although there was no orange juice on day 3 as the machine was broken?). Only slight drawback is that you need to take the cereal bowl and cup from your room. There is free WiFi in the room and it is reliable and fast. We couldn't get the safe to work and reported it twice to reception but it was never fixed during our 3 night stay. We travelled to the hotel from the airport by train to Yaletown Roundhouse and then caught the c23 bus which takes you to within a block. Buy a day pass at the 7/11 at the airport for $9.75 and you can use it on the train and all buses. The ticket system is soon to be replaced by a smart card system. Guest laundry is $2 for a wash and $2 for a dry. No tea was ever provided in suite for our 3 days and 1 bag of coffee per day so a bit mean on the refreshments. It was difficult to draw curtains in our room for a blackout as they don't meet. There is no sitting area in this cheaper room. The towels were fine.
The location (handy for public transport from the airport, near to supermarket, and close to Hetz for us to pick up our hire car at the end) and cooking facilities sold this hotel to us but it is not cheap at over $170 per night including tax. If you intend to eat out I would look for something a bit more luxurious for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors at the front will be quieter and have a better outlook but cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset1111, General Manager at Sunset Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Sorry to hear that you felt room felt dated. All of our rooms in hotel have been fully renovated in 2009, with fresh updates done every year since through the building. Our standard rooms on lower floors,(floors 2-6) we kept the look simple, to keep them an affordable option. Our executive rooms,(floors 7-11) we did extensive redesign and upgraded features and top of line furniture and amenities,

Noise in the standard suites that are located on the lower floors is a minor problem with traffic in back alley, which is out of our control, and we are working on a solution for this fall, but sounds like you found the solution with air conditioner this time. Our juice machine is brand new and staff on shift did not know how to change it yet, but now do, so this should not happen again. And we have also now just added a waffle station Monday to Friday 8am till 10am, to enhance breakfast options. Sorry tea not added.

Blackout blinds: All our rooms do have black out blinds on all the windows, however many guests sometimes miss seeing them, as they are located behind the sheers, right at window (The coloured curtains the you see on windows are just decoration, and do not cover the windows as designed) Sorry you did not see them.
Thank you for taking the time for comments as we strive to ensure our guests enjoy their stay and what we need to try and improve on for next time

Michael Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here after our Alaskan Cruise in May. We stayed for three days and it was wonderful. We came in really early and they let us check in early. The front desk was very helpful as they gave us recommendations for places to eat for lunch. The location is close to many restaurants, markets, banks and the bus stop. We were able to visit Stanley Park which was close by. We will be coming back here again when we celebrate our anniversary. This was a pleasant place to stay after an amazing cruise.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have a better view rather than the back which is an alleyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stay at the Sunset frequently. It is an apartment style hotel with each suite having kitchen and dining facilities, as well most suite have a small balcony which offers nice views over False Creek, and English Bay.
we have found the suites universally clean, quiet, well stocked or meal preparation
The front desk people are friendly, helpful, knowledgaebale about the immedoiate area restaurants, and other local Vancouver attractions.
It is easy an easy, pleasnt 10 minute walk to downtown Vancouver
in the neighbourhood around the Sunset are a wonderful selection of good restaurants, offering a wide variety of foods
it is always a treat to return and be recognized by the long term managemnt and staff.

Room Tip: upper floors are their "executive" range, offer better views, may be a bit quieter as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn and Suites

Address: 1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn and Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family-owned Sunset Inn & Suites hotel in Vancouver located on a quiet, tree-lined residential street in the charming West End. Our residential-style Vancouver suites offer all the comforts of home with separate bedrooms, living rooms, fully-equipped kitchens, dining areas and private balconies. Whether your Vancouver travels are for leisure or business, our spacious suites at affordable rates are ideal for memorable family vacations, productive business trips and extended stays in Vancouver. Find numerous amenities at our Vancouver hotel including free gated parking, wireless Internet and breakfast. Then explore the endless Vancouver attractions within walking distance including the English Bay, Robson Street, and more. Our friendly staff looks forward to going above and beyond to make your stay at our Vancouver hotel unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sunset Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.