We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, I'll visit again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Sunset Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P4, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice, I'll visit again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

First night was in a room on the 4th floor which was a bit dated: huge, old, clunky TV. The next day I was upgraded to the 7th floor and the room and furnishings were of a better quality. The room was clean, the kitchen was well-equipped, and the location is great. There are many restaurants in the area and you're only a few minutes walk from the beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    674
    323
    43
    13
    5
See reviews for
317
426
64
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stay here whenever we are in Vancouver because the people -- GM Michael, Dave, Elvis, Brian, Arabella and all the other staff, including the friendly housekeepers -- are the best we have ever encountered in the hospitality industry (and we travel a lot). No request is too much trouble for them; they are great problem solvers; and they are beyond friendly, taking a genuine interest in the guests.
Combine that with the terrific location (close to a variety of interesting restaurants with good food, and an easy walk to Robson Street, home of the big-name boutique stores), with the very comfortable rooms, and you've got the perfect hotel for any type of travel.
Parking and WiFi are all covered by the price, unlike the "deal" offered by many other hotels.
You have to experience it to believe it. This sets the standard for the hospitality industry.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing to the water -- you get great sun, and an interesting view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I originally booked this hotel because it was near the beach. It's so nice to not be completely surrounded by huge business towers. One half faces the city, the other half a residential neighbourhood. Tons of food places were in walking distance. The free breakfast was good with it's bagels, toast, english muffins, cereals, fruit, juices, coffee, and tea, although it lacked protein...

The room I was in was arranged similiar to a small apartment. It was comfortable and had nice hardwood floors. I didn't expect there to be a kitchenette loaded with cutlery and plates, along with a 4 seater table. That's way better than eating food on the couch. I also got a king sized bed. The only thing that bugged me was the cramped bathroom. Everything in the room was very clean, though.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in early April, 2013. The hotel is ideally situated in the West End of Vancouver, just 5 minutes from Stanley Park and 10 minutes to Granville Island by car. The room was clean, very well stocked and exceptionally convenient for us and our toddler son who is nearly 3, and a seasoned hotel traveler already. The check in staff were courteous, explained that there was free guest parking in the back (that is a big deal considering the location!), and explained the free wifi password to me, which was also printed on the key holder. Our rate included the continental breakfast, which offered cold cereals, some fruit and bagels/toast. Not quite enough for me - but we easily supplemented this breakfast with eggs and cheese that we bought at the market a block away. Every type of take-out food is available in Davies Street one block over - we tried Indian at Judge's (very good) and pizza at Nicks NY style (forgettable). ONLY PROBLEM with our stay may be beyond the control of management: a loud club is nearby that played incessant bass-heavy dance music all night, starting around 11pm. I did everything I could do to muffle it - white noise, a/c fan - you name it. I just couldn't shake this constant drum beat that permeated our walls up to the 11th floor - the very top of the hotel - every night including Sunday! My advice to Sunset Inn Management: formally complain to the owners of this club, get them to turn it off after 11. We can't be the only guests whose otherwise flawless experience was marred by the loud club music that carried on until 4-5am.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The location, in the West End, is very convenient, within walking distance of most everything, and the staff was very friendly and most helpful. However, the room itself left something to be desired. The beds were quite narrow and uncomfortable to sleep in, the bathtub drain was clogged and the windows let in the outside noise, which was a bit bothersome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest US
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our visit with our 18 yo daughter began with a surprise of an unexpected upgrade to a Executive suite with more room and opportunity to relax, hang out and check out the views of the city.
As noted the front office staff were OUTSTANDING - always unfailingly polite, helpful and always gave specific information. We used their recommendations and directions for everything from costs of bus and routes to UBC or Rogers arena to determining which was the best local coffee shop or nearest bookstore.
Yes the parking lot was difficult to get in and out of and it is indeed a boutique hotel but that is part of the charm of staying downtown.
The hotel is in a great location- walking distance to Sunset beach, ferry to Granville Island, and north to English Beach and Stanley Park either by seaside stroll or a walk down Davie st.
We will recommend this to our friends and look forward to a return trip!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Richland, Washington, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

It is a suite hotel located in downtown, so street is narrow, and it is difficult to park even for checking in. After check in, we were able to get in the gated parking area for hotel guests.

The building is somewhat old. The mattress is not the newest nor the most comfortable. We had a large suite with two sofa bed in the living room, but the sofa beds are somewhat sagging, so while it worked OK for kids, definitely not able to support adults.

But the rooms are clean, with wi-fi, large flat screen TV (which we didn't use during stay), and equipped kitchen. It also has a safe for us to keep our passport in.

What they may lack is made up for by the great location. We ate at restaurants of different cuisine every time, and they were all reasonably priced with great food. It is very close to Stanley Park.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. They gave advise on restaurants, directions, and also had umbrella for us to use in case of rain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn and Suites

Address: 1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn and Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family-owned Sunset Inn & Suites hotel in Vancouver located on a quiet, tree-lined residential street in the charming West End. Our residential-style Vancouver suites offer all the comforts of home with separate bedrooms, living rooms, fully-equipped kitchens, dining areas and private balconies. Whether your Vancouver travels are for leisure or business, our spacious suites at affordable rates are ideal for memorable family vacations, productive business trips and extended stays in Vancouver. Find numerous amenities at our Vancouver hotel including free gated parking, wireless Internet and breakfast. Then explore the endless Vancouver attractions within walking distance including the English Bay, Robson Street, and more. Our friendly staff looks forward to going above and beyond to make your stay at our Vancouver hotel unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sunset Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.