We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent reception, great location, lovely room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Sunset Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P4, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent reception, great location, lovely room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed one night. The staff were very friendly and helpful, with a warm sense of humour. The location was fantastic. It was great to have free parking. The suite was very clean, modern, well designed and comfortable, with an excellent bathroom. Lots of space for hanging out as well as for cooking. Kitchen had most of what we needed. The only downside was that it's not quite as soundproof as I would like given the location - it was a bit noisy from the street and possibly neighbouring suites. Would definitely go back, though!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    677
    325
    44
    13
    5
See reviews for
322
427
64
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McDonough, GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel was a delight in every way! The staff (especially the lady with red hair) was wonderful! Very helpful with recommendations for things to do, dining, etc and providing directions. The room was fabulous! I could not believe we could have a 1 bedroom apartment in such a good location for such a low price! We were on the 3rd floor and really enjoyed the full kitchen and seperate bedroom. I loved having morning coffee on the balcony. The bathroom is small, but very nice.

You can walk easily to whever you need to go. There are some good restaurants right behind the hotel. The Greek ones were quite tasty. Denny's is across the street is you want a big breakfast. Also lots of Asians restaurants.

If you have a car the hotel has free secure parking. I recommend walking about 3 blocks on Davie to the 7-11 and purchasing a 9 CAD day pass for the excellent public transportation system. It included buses, ferry to N Vancouver and the trains. Bus drivers are very helpful.

There are washers and dryers off the lobby which was very handy. A load is 2 CAD each. Laundry soap is free!

Free conteniental breakfast and coffee is included and there is a small fitness center.

I would recommend this comfy, pleasant hotel to everyone!

Room Tip: If you want a view ask for a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed four nights and really liked this inn! The staff have fun personalities and are very helpful. The size of the suites are amazing. We took advantage of having a kitchen and cooked two dinners which saved us money. We explored the city each day in wet and dreary weather, but our room was such a nice and comfortable place to retreat to. Newspapers at your door each morning, nice breakfasts which you can enjoy in your room, private and convenient parking, balconies, and a great selection of free movies to check out to name a few of our favorite things about this place. We highly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I want to say that this is a great hotel that truly feels like home. It was my first time and from booking the hotel to checking out it was fabulous. The staff are all truly amazing! I was laughing and having a great time when talking on the phone to book my room and very pleasantly surprised when I checked in and was upgraded to a top floor room with a wonderful soaker tub and an amazing view! Cannot say THANK YOU enough to all of the staff!!! Staff were very helpful in guiding me to a store to get bubble bath, the very close liquor store for a bottle of wine and good restaurants to order food for dinner. I highly recommend this hotel for people that want to relax, enjoy a great hotel and wonderful location. I was there to be close to work for the next day but if I get to stay longer it is a great place to walk around and just explore, so central to anything you want to do in Vancouver. Cannot wait to come back! Warning to people that like to complain, yes the elevator is slow and some areas of the hotel are a bit dated but really people, the staff and room are so worth it. You also get free parking and the free breakfast and coffee in the morning were perfect for me. Thanks again for an incredible evening I will definitely be back :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Excellent place. Great location. Extremely friendly staff. Brilliant kitchen and living room. Massive wide screen TV. Comfortable large bed and nice balcony.

The only thing I didn't like was the couch. There were two small couches, one larger, more comfortable one would have been better.

The breakfast included was a continental breakfast which you bring up to the apartment. It consisted of bagels, OJ, coffee, croissants and fruit. The kitchen was well equipt and extremely clean.


Staying there gave us a good feeling and helped us relax, it was good value for money and
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at the Sunset Inn and Suites for one night. It was quite comfortable. Upon arrival I was a bit confused as there wasn't a great area for parking my vehicle so I could check in. I actually had to call the front desk to find out where I could park. I was told there is a loading zone in the front so I could park there and then once checked in I could move my vehicle around back to the parkade. Check in was easy. Staff was friendly. Everything for the evening was good. In the morning there was a small area with some breakfast items (fruit, bread, cereal, bagels, etc) and all the food was fresh and tasted good. Check out was easy. The only issue I really had was I had about 6 inches of water in the bottom of the tub while taking a shower. It drained extremely slow but that's really the only issue. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Thank you to all the trip advisors reviews we read. You were so right. Great hotel, location, staff. We stayed for 3 nights. The staff were so helpful. The room was clean, comfortable, quiet and big. We could walk everywhere we wanted to go. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone. If we ever go to Vancouver again, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn and Suites

Address: 1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn and Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family-owned Sunset Inn & Suites hotel in Vancouver located on a quiet, tree-lined residential street in the charming West End. Our residential-style Vancouver suites offer all the comforts of home with separate bedrooms, living rooms, fully-equipped kitchens, dining areas and private balconies. Whether your Vancouver travels are for leisure or business, our spacious suites at affordable rates are ideal for memorable family vacations, productive business trips and extended stays in Vancouver. Find numerous amenities at our Vancouver hotel including free gated parking, wireless Internet and breakfast. Then explore the endless Vancouver attractions within walking distance including the English Bay, Robson Street, and more. Our friendly staff looks forward to going above and beyond to make your stay at our Vancouver hotel unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sunset Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.