We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average, but could be refreshed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pinnacle Hotel Vancouver Harbourfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pinnacle Hotel Vancouver Harbourfront to your Saves list
Pinnacle Hotel Vancouver Harbourfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1133 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E3T3, Canada (Formerly Renaissance Vancouver Harbourside Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cars Eat & Stay for Free!
Ranked #43 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Dublin, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Above average, but could be refreshed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2007

First, the view was extraordinary. There is construction blocking part of the view, but staying in one of the western-most rooms still gives you a terrific field of view. Rooms -41 and -39 are in the western corner. Enhancing the view, is the fact that there is an enclosed balcony with a couple chairs. You can even open the window and get fresh air. Very nice.

Downtown location is great. It's a nice part of town and it's not too far to walk to Robson street, Stanley Park, or along the waterfront. Not too many restaurants in the immediate area, so plan on going somewhere else if you want to eat other than in the hotel.

There are nice ammenities to the room, such as the heated bathroom tiles and very comfortable beds. However, the decor is aging somewhat and I expected something fresher. It didn't take away too much from the week-long experience, but kept it from being an excellent room.

The new construction does block the Canada Day fireworks completely, which are a little further up Coal Harbour. (Take note for 2008!)

Ultimately, I would stay here again. I would hope that the rooms are rennovated before my next visit, but it wouldn't stop me.

  • Liked — The view (even if it was partially obstructed)
  • Disliked — Rooms were getting a little outdated
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    339
    147
    47
    15
See reviews for
127
297
53
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
las vegas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

The Renaissance Hotel in Vancouver is wonderful!
front Desk do a great jo in welcoming you and guiding you around this lovely city!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harlow essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2007

This hotel is on the waterfront facing the seaplane terminal. Get a harbor view room and the view is good. Stanley park a short distance away and close to cruise terminal.The rooms are a good size. food is very good.Staff very helpful.The only down is if you haveyour own car it costs$19 every time you go in and out the car park.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — car park prices
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

Did ask for early check in, but hotel was full so not able to check in until 3PM, although they did look after our bags for us. Late check out was 1PM, and again they looked after our bags.

Location was really good, 15 minute walk to Robson Street and great views of Stanley Park and the harbour.

Nice clean rooms, really spacious and very comfortable beds.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

I have stayed at this hotel about 6 times over the last three years, and stay at Marriott family properties 150 nights a year, so I'm well-versed in what to expect when I arrive.

I have become increasingly frustrated with this hotel over the course of my visits.

The view is terrific (although high rise condo construction in front of the hotel is rapidly changing the harbour view forever) and the beds are some of the most comfortable around.

What has bothered me on recent stays are little details that a quality hotel should not overlook. For example, my last room was one of the most disgusting, moldy smelling rooms I have ever stayed in, anywhere. And, of course, they had no other rooms to move me into. My colleagues are I went to breakfast, and coincidentally, we were served toast that also had mold growing on it. The hotel's decor is becoming dated, and tired and needs to be refreshed with the new "hip" style they are rolling out at newer Renaissance properties. One morning I was leaving before the valet started, and after waiting 15 minutes at the front desk, the clerk finally was able to find my keys while I was running to the airport, exacerbated by the fact that his English did not seem particularly good.

It's little stuff like this that's frustrating. As a business traveler I value quality and consistency, and I feel the sister Marriott Pinnacle property across the street does a better job of delivering this.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2007

We spent 4 nights here in March 2007, and were delighted with the accommodation.

The hotel was located near the harbour and was within walking distance to Pacific Centre (one of the main shopping centres) and Robson Street. The front desk staff and doormen were polite and helpful, and the Concierge lady was excellent. She helped us organise tours, find places to eat and made us feel most welcome. The hotel also provided free internet access in the lobby.

Our rooms on the 14th floor were immaculate. Complete with a small balcony, the room provided a fantastic view of the harbour (included a snow covered mountain and sea planes), heated bathroom tiles and one of the most comfortable beds I’ve ever slept in.

The Renaissance was one of the best hotels we have stayed in, and we will definitely stay here again.


  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2007

If business or vacation takes you to the heart of Vancouver the Renaissance Vancouver Hotel Harbourside certainly is a great choice. I got to play tourist for 2 days while my wife attended business meetings.

Book a waterside room for a nice view of the north shore of Burrard Inlet, Coal Harbour, mountians, ship traffic, float planes, Stanley Park, etc. Parking garage was $19 a day (ouch).

The staff we encountered generally displayed excellent customer service skills (okay, a couple of them registered low in the smile catagory). I am fairly certain that Alexandra at the concierge desk speaks spanish, portuguese & Italian in addition to english. They graciously pointed me to the best bus to Chinatown (it's the #19), the nearest Skytrain station and the Steam Clock in Gastown...yes I said Steam Clock. Oh, just go see it. Public transit is great.

Didn't dine at the hotel restaurant. Found breakfast and lunch at cafe's in Chinatown, downtown and Granville Island. Had dinner one night at Joe Fortes on Thurlow St. and the next night at Cardero's Restaurant & Marine Pub on Coal Harbour Quay. Both an easy walk from the hotel. Joe Fortes ain't no Outback Steakhouse, it's a very pleasant restaurant and, dining solo, my dinner bill came to about $40. Life's too short for bad food. Cardero's is a bit noisy but great atmosphere with very good pub-style food.

If you're driving into Vancouver remember that there is no expressway
to whisk you quickly and effortlessly to downtown. Finding your way should be easy, but you are on surface streets and they can be slow.

If you are feeling "touristy" go ahead and see Granville island. Plenty of shops, stores, galleries and food stands, plus the public market to entertain you. The parking there is limited...and that was on a Tuesday morning.

Next trip I'm hitting the aquarium in Stanley Park and some of the museums.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pinnacle Hotel Vancouver Harbourfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinnacle Hotel Vancouver Harbourfront

Address: 1133 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E3T3, Canada (Formerly Renaissance Vancouver Harbourside Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#34 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#37 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#42 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinnacle Hotel Vancouver Harbourfront 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Defining Vancouver flare with opulent accommodations, exceptional service and breathtaking harbour views, the Pinnacle Vancouver Harbourfront Hotel welcomes travelers to discover the vibrant atmosphere of Downtown Vancouver. Our 442 guestroom Coal Harbour location provides a well-designed harbourfront escape, with locally inspired full-service amenities and personalized services your stay in Vancouver will be one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Pinnacle Hotel Vancouver Harbourfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vancouver
Vancouver Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinnacle Hotel Vancouver Harbourfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.