We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, dire service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Vancouver Harbourside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Vancouver Harbourside Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Vancouver Harbourside Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1133 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E3T3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #42 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Helensburgh, Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great rooms, dire service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2006

Arrived at this hotel as a group on a geology study-tour. Travel-agent had suggested a luxurious hotel for the final night before we flew back to Scotland..

Despite arriving well after 3 p.m. (check-in time) three of the group's rooms were not ready. We were left hanging about the lobby beside the very posh front door - then were shooed out of the way, as we were told we were blocking the door. We could not leave our luggage as there was a great heap of suitcases, obviously from another group about to depart. After twenty minutes two of us went to see if they would at least offer us a drink and somewhere to sit down. At this point, the young man at the desk phoned someone, and then told us that our rooms were ready. No-one apologised for the delay.

The next morning a buffet breakfast has been booked for us in a private room - we were due to go on a tour of Vancouver for the rest of the morning, before headng off to the airport.

There were thirty-two people in our group. There were chairs and place-settings for only twenty-four. The one and only waitress was hurtling around like a banshee, trying to fill up the buffet dishes, supply people with tea and coffee, find more dishes and cutlery, not to mention chairs. Two young male managers did appear, and stood around looking concerned - but didn't actually DO anything. It was the most frustrating and unsatisfactory meal.

We then went up to our rooms to collect our suitcases and got into the lift. One of the older members of our group tried to keep the doors open for another member, but presumably hit the alarm button by mistake.The alarm went off and the lift continued down to the ground floor - and no member of staff came to investigate if there was a problem. When the last member of our party came down, ten minutes later, the alarm was still going off!

  • Liked — View from the balcony - aside from all the building work!
  • Disliked — Atrocious management, really poor customer service
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay somewhere smaller
  • Stayed August 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    288
    132
    43
    14
See reviews for
115
274
52
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandhurst, UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2006

We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of a touring holiday in Canada. The sole reason for choosing this hotel is that my husband travels frequently on business and we paid for the room using loyalty points. But we were delighted with our choice.

We arrived mid afternoon and the welcome was the most friendly and sincere one I've ever known in a large, corporate hotel. Because my husband is a Marriott Elite customer, we were upgraded to the Elite rooms and we had a harbour view. OK, so the stunning view is somewhat marred by the building site outside, and the large crane but you can't blame the hotel for that. We couldn't hear any noise from the building site.

The room was clean and comfortable, and the bed had a really thick mattress protector which made it extremely snuggly and comfortable. We were entitled to use the members room which included complimentary continental breakfast. This was very good and the room was kept well stocked. Because they don't provide breakfast here at weekends, we ate in the restaurant downstairs. It's the usual big hotel buffet. Good quality food but as always with these, I feel you have a eat a BIG breakfast to get your money's worth.

There is a swimming pool and gym which was adequately equipped although if the gym is busy, you might have to wait for a particular piece of equipment.

Hotel is well located, an easy walk from Gastown and the beautiful Stanley Park. I'd have no hesitation in recommending this hotel if you want one in this price bracket. We couldn't fault them.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Loved everything
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2006

Apon arrival we received a room with a cityview. There was an air conditioning on the other side of the street that was quite disturbing. We complained the next day asking for a more quiet room and got the most perfect room facing the habour. It is absolutely worth it to book a room with habour view. You can see the sea planes take off and land and have a beatiful view on the ocean and Stanley Park. The beds are just great, you sleep like on a cloud. There is construction work going on but this is not disturbing at all. I can totally recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Vancouver!

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanFrancisco
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2006

I've stayed at this property several times and have received excellent service from 'most' of the staff. On Monday morning as I was walking up to the desk and placed my briefcase on top of the counter, the lady decided to pick up the phone and not even acknowledge me!! I arrived first before the phone even rang!! I stood there for 5 minutes listening to what sounded like another staff member about her day off!! When she finally hung up she kept me there for over 20 minutes trying to push a sightseeing tour on me and found out the room was not ready. I normally do not complain about appearance too much but I felt repulsed by the amount of dandruff she brushed onto my confirmation papers. As a business traveller, I do not have time for this kind of nonsense.
Mind you, the rest of the hotel's staff is good and the location is excellent but I will have to give them a failing grade this time.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — staff
  • Tips/Secrets — avoid desk clerk with bad dandruff problem
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2006

We stayed at this property for two nights and requested a harbour view room. The view was worth every extra cent as it was gorgeous day and night. The decor was a little dated but the room was very clean and comfortable. The bed could not be more comfortable and the heated tiles in the bathroom were a welcome treat after walking the streets of Gastown in the rain.

If you are looking for a great downtown hotel with a bit of luxury, then look no further!

  • Liked — View, security, location and the pool/exercise area
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

We left booking a hotel in Vancouver to the last minute, and so kinda rushed our booking into this hotel. It turned out to be a great choice - nr downtown, an ocean view room, nr the float planes (essential for that trip to Victoria!) and with the most helpful staff! The construction work didn't bother us too much, although I do wonder what will happen to the great views!

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2006

We booked a trip to Vancouver at the last minute and could not get into the hotels that had been recommended as the "top" hotels in Vancouver. The picture of the hotel on the hotel web site was not very attractive. We were also concerned about the construction noise mentioned in other postings. We were a little apprehensive about this hotel.

We went with this hotel because they guaranteed a waterview room/king bed/nonsmoking and the price was reasonable. The hotel was fantastic!! By far the best view and location I can imagine. After days of walking around the city I think its overall location is the best. We looked out our large windows and saw the harbor, seaplanes taking off and landing, boats, and mountains beyond. Incredible views and a very comfortable bed.

The room was extremely quiet. The construction, mentioned in other postings, is past the pile driving phase and so noise was not an issue at all.

All hotel personnel were kind and helpful.

I recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Vancouver Harbourside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Vancouver Harbourside Hotel

Address: 1133 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E3T3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#38 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#39 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Vancouver Harbourside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Vancouver Hotel Harbourside offers newly renovated guest rooms, hip décor and Plug-in technology. This Vancouver wedding hotel and meeting facility features flexible event space and the services of a world-class Vancouver waterfront hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Vancouver Harbourside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vancouver
Vancouver Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Vancouver Harbourside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.