We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver to your Saves list
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Mother's Day!
Ranked #22 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2006

I stayed at the Metropolitan Hotel for 5 nights at the beginning of October.

It was my first trip to Vancouver and I found this hotel to be perfectly located for exploring the city.

The room was very clean, spacious and very quiet (although my room faced the back of the building which probably helped) - the bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was huge with a separate bath and walk-in shower (and Molton Brown shampoo!).

The hotel had great facilities - I ate dinner at Diva at the Met and found the food to be very good. Breakfast was also good - I would highly recommend the French Toast.

All staff were very helpful and welcoming each time I arrived back at the end of the day.

  • Liked — Location, comfort, breakfast, welcoming staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Walk around Stanley Park, visit the Aquarium, Grouse Mountain and the Capilano Suspension Bridge. Travel to Vancouver Island (and in particular Butchart Gardens) if you can
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    339
    71
    18
    11
See reviews for
148
530
88
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2006

Excellent in every way. modern spacious room, big bed, big bathroom , molton brown toileteries in bathroom.
If you want a good cheap breakfast then go to the Hudson Bay Trading company for a fresh cooked breakfast cooked while u wait(top floor restaurant). They even have a hot water geyser for a proper cup of tea

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2006

Stayed for 8 nights in mid September and loved the Met.
The room was large enough for such a long stay, was clean and well decorated. It also featured the biggest bed I have ever slept in. Contrary to a recent reviewer our bed was very firm - I slept very well!
The real thing about the Met though was the friendliness of the staff. All the staff we encountered were friendly, polite and helpful, often going out of their way to help you - reception staff for instance making sure that we knew that we could reclaim our GST once back in the UK.
We ate at the hotel restaurant: Diva on a Tuesday night. Both the restaurant manager and our waiter (Michel) were courteous and friendly, whilst still maintaining the ambiance of a fine-dinging experience. I have to admit that after reading the 'Time-Out' review of Diva I wasn't expecting that much - but the food was fantastic, one of the best meals I have ever had! - I strongly recommend the lamb if you go.
The bar is not particularly large, but it is well-stocked and the bar staff are (once again) friendly, and know their stuff. Simon in particular was a star. They have a great stout at the moment called 'Back-hand of God'. We found the wine quite expensive, but that may be a Vancouver rather than a Met thing.
All in all, next time I'm in Vancouver, I will stay at the Met.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — 'Scoozies' about 2 blocks down Howe St does a good breakfast
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2006

I stayed at this hotel for two nights at the beginning of October 2006 after reading some positive reviews. Overall, I was very pleased with my stay at the Metropolitan. The hotel is located directly across from the Four Seasons on Howe Street and is very close to the Vancouver Art Museum and the Robson Street shops. The staff was very professional and warm from the moment I checked-in (very late at night). Upon arriving at my Executive King room, I noticed it was very clean and modern. The room included such amenities as an LCD TV, wired high-speed Internet connection, Molton Brown toiletries, small balcony, and light controls at each bedside. My only gripes with the room were both telephones in the room had operational problems: one phone did not work at all and the preset buttons to call the front desk, etc. did not work on the other phone. Also, the alarm clock in the room was difficult to set but on a positive note did include a CD player.

I ordered room service for lunch one afternoon and the quality, presentation, speed of delivery, and professionalism were all excellent. The price for room service, well, as typical, was very high. Also, if you need to use a computer with an Internet connection, you can go to the business center downstairs during operating hours and use a modern computer at no charge. The next time I visit Vancouver, I am definitely going to come back to this hotel because of its cleanliness, professional and warm staff, and location.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Unintuitive alarm clock
  • Tips/Secrets — Business center did not charge for use of computers with Internet connection
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2006

Our family just finished a 5-night stay at The Met. Our 2 kids and we have adjoining rooms (2 twins/1queen configuration).

The location of the hotel just can't be beat. We're only 2 blocks from Robson St. and just across from the Vancouver Art Gallery (if you're in the city the Raven show on Native arts is a must see). Because we have our car with us everywhere we go is only a 10-15 min ride (Granville Island, Grouse Mtn., Kits area). If you're into shopping then the Pacific Centre Mall is just across the street.

The staff was one of the friendliest we've ever encountered. From the bell person, front desk to the concierge, everyone was very sincere and so helpful.

One note about the garage though - it can be quite challenging to manouver up/down depending on your size of vehicle. If you don't mind paying the valet it would not be a problem.

We had dinner at Diva and it was definitely fine dining there; we also tried Cin Cin on Robson and all of us preferred it over Diva for the food and ambiance (the staff at both are equally professional). We highly recommend the sablefish and tiramisu at Cin Cin.

About the bed in the room. The kids loved their twin beds and slept very very well. Our queen mattress was creaky and sagging once you sit on the edge and we are definitely not big people! After the 1st night sleep my back felt like someone had stepped all over it the whole night. After the 2nd night I knew I had to phone management about it. Natasha (front desk) was very nice and helpful and sent someone up in about 2 mins. Then an 'engineer' was sent up as well to see about the problem. We left for our day's activity but can tell they had replaced the mattress by the time we returned to our room in the evening. The replacement was a nice firm one and we had no problem after that.

If you're a shower person then you would really like the walk-in shower in the bathroom. The living/bed part of the room is not that spacious but the larger than most marble-tiled bathroom more than make up for it.

All in all, staying at The Met would definitely enhance your trip in Vancouver.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2006

This hotel is in a great location, easy to get to the harbour and the shopping area.

The staff were very friendly and even gave us an upgrade on the room without us asking and without being charged.

The room was newly decorated and felt very modern and warm. The bathroom was gorgeous.

I would definately recommend this hotel and we got a good price on the hotels own website.

If you are in Vancouver a good restaurant at a cheap price is the Steamworks company just at the beginning of gastown.

  • Liked — The location and the rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2006

Had an excellent couple of nights at the Metropolitan Hotel, we were looked after to the very highest of standards. The Hotel is ideally located in Vancouver downtown and the staff ensured that our every need was catered for. Canadian hsopitality at its very best!

  • Liked — Brilliant presentation, excellent staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Tips/Secrets — Pool is open at 0530 for the jet lagged!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Address: 645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#22 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver - a luxury Vancouver hotel with a superb downtown location and yet at the same time positioned against a serene mountain backdrop. The hotel’s convenient downtown Vancouver location is surrounded by all the pleasures and excitement that one of Canada’s finest cities has to offer, whether you come for business or pleasure. Make yourself at home in one of the Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver's 197 luxurious, elegantly appointed hotel rooms and suites, complete with spacious marble washrooms, separate glass showers and soaker tubs. The Vancouver hotel also offers 7,600 sq. ft. of conference and banquet facilities designed to accommodate 10 to 250. And, of course, nothing will satiate your appetite better than Diva at the Met restaurant, featuring Vancouver's finest cuisine, celebrated Chef's Table and distinguished wine cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Metropolitan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.