We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, I don't want to go home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Save Saved
You added Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #16 of 97 Hotels in Vancouver
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent, I don't want to go home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Check in was quick and simple, my room (1603) spacious and clean with spacious bathroom and a large comfy bed. I like the touch of the iPod docking station in the room and the Molton Brown toiletries. I used the Gym and the pool, the gym had ample equipment (cardio & free weights)and the pool water was nice and warm.
The location is perfect, right opposite the Pacific centre and only minutes walk from Robson shopping and good restaurants. The Metropolitan will now be my hotel of choice when I'm in Vancouver

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen L, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much! It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    304
    62
    17
    9
See reviews for
133
494
83
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Metropolitan is in a great spot close to the waterfront. It was pricey but worth it, even down to the Molten Brown bathroom miniatures, a nice touch. The only thing that I was surprised about was that breakfast wasn't included but there are lots of places to eat down town anyway.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel in the past - great location in downtown Vancouver. Older hotel but they have updated. I traveled with a friend and we had a room with twin beds, for twin beds they were very comfortable! Nice clean big bathroom - perfect for two women. Staff is very friendly, valet, etc.... It's a good hotel in a great location. You can walk to everything. We were there for a game at BC Place and we walked.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days (July 1-3, 2013) The location here is PERFECT for getting around all of Vancouver without having to do any driving yourself. Park your car and forget about it! Close to all bus routes and walking distance to Canada Place, Gastown, Chinatown etc. When we arrived, the hotel had a box of gourmet chocolate cookies awaiting us in our room ( Very delish) The room was very clean with a nice bed and roomy washroom. The pool/spa, workout room is very nice and clean, the fitness/locker room was impressive. Very nice doorman and hotel staff!! Highly recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: Hot tub is awesome and has a great view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here for two nights before joining our cruise trip for Alaska. We received a very warm welcome on arrival at reception. The check in was quick. We had some disappointed after looking at the small reception as we had some other expectations
But after a short while we started enjoying the place. The staff was very helpful.
The bathroom was very large . It had a separate shower.
We enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We only stayed here one night before getting on a cruise ship but we enjoyed our stay. The lobby is very chic with a stunning Asian panel/sculpture. The front desk personnel were very nice and the concierge was helpful with restaurant recommendations. The Metropolitan is in a great location -we walked to restaurants the day we arrived and it's near Robson Street. If you don't have too much luggage and the weather is nice, you can walk to the cruise terminal.

The room was nicely decorated - modern - and had quite a large bathroom with both a tub and separate shower. We had room for suitcases in the bed/living area and we had a small table with chairs and a settee to sit on. The room also had a tiny balcony to stand on. We were three in the room so a fold out bed had to be brought in for our daughter. It took up any spare room. There is an in-room coffee maker with fake creamer available. The hotel does not include breakfast so you have to dine out.

Even though we only stayed one night, it was a pleasant experience and we would recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend and found the location to be perfect. Our room was never too far from anywhere we wanted to walk to. The bathroom was one of the best I've seen in city hotels. Huge counter space that allows you to easily spread out. They even fixed the water pressure problem we noticed the first night. Wow! The only ding is the bed was squeaky... I'd be happy to stay here again on pleasure or business.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Address: 645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#18 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver - a luxury Vancouver hotel with a superb downtown location and yet at the same time positioned against a serene mountain backdrop. The hotel’s convenient downtown Vancouver location is surrounded by all the pleasures and excitement that one of Canada’s finest cities has to offer, whether you come for business or pleasure. Make yourself at home in one of the Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver's 197 luxurious, elegantly appointed hotel rooms and suites, complete with spacious marble washrooms, separate glass showers and soaker tubs. The Vancouver hotel also offers 7,600 sq. ft. of conference and banquet facilities designed to accommodate 10 to 250. And, of course, nothing will satiate your appetite better than Diva at the Met restaurant, featuring Vancouver's finest cuisine, celebrated Chef's Table and distinguished wine cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Metropolitan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.