We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, excellent service! Umbrellas included!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Save Saved
You added Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
Alberta
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Perfect location, excellent service! Umbrellas included!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in December for business as a single female traveler. The hotel is perfectly located across the street from shopping, SkyTrain, Art Gallery and steps from the ocean. I enjoyed an upgrade to a King Luxury room, which I highly recommend. The room was lovely,clean, nice amenities (Molton Brown, Frette linens and robe) and even had a tiny balcony!
The onsite Dining Room was perfect - beautiful breakfasts every morning in a quiet, elegant room. I recommend the steel cut oatmeal. For drinks, appies and dinner, the Diva dining room again did not disappoint. Foodies will love what the chef is doing there.
The concierge was a knowledgable, lovely lady who knew about every restaurant and guided me wisely.
Thank you Metropolitan Hotel for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Luxury room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    673
    285
    61
    17
    9
See reviews for
125
466
81
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here New Years Eve 2013. We arrived just after 12:00 pm wanting to park and go do some shopping before checking in. We were delighted to find that our rooms (two couples) were ready for us! The location is fantastic! $6.00 cab ride to Yaletown, and walking distance to shopping, restaurants, the waterfront...everything. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Our rooms were very nicely appointed, bathrooms large with separate shower and tub. They even have a balcony! Highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay right downtown in a nice hotel for a reasonable price!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed five nights at the Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, at a special negotiated "event rate", in order to attend a wedding. This hotel is in a superb location for visiting Vancouver. Within two blocks of the hotel are drugstores, restaurants, coffee shops, and stores of all kinds, from reasonable to exclusive, including a large underground shopping mall, and stations for two main transit lines which will connect you to the airport and most places in Vancouver area. We loved walking to the waterfront and gaslight areas, home of still more restaurants, brewpubs, and shops. The hotel has a full-service restaurant and bar, which are both quite good, but we ate most breakfasts from nearby coffee shops, and sampled many of the other restaurants in the area. The bed were very comfortable, our bathroom was very large, with both shower and separate soaking tub (not jacuzzi), and there was plenty of closet and drawer space to unpack and settle in. Our room included, also, a nice desk, and a small sitting area set in front of the windows, with 2 chairs and round table. In December, the whole city of Vancouver really enters into the Christmas spirit, with decorations and lights everywhere, a Santa parade on the first Sunday, and other festivals. As has been mentioned, parking is about $30.00 per day, and a car is not really necessary for most activities. We did rent a car for one day, to go to an evening event at Grouse Mountain, a ski resort north of Vancouver. Budget and Avis both have downtown locations, and I made the reservation for Avis through their website, then walked two blocks from the Metropolitan Hotel to the Avis site, next to the Fairmont Hotel, for pickup and return. We loved Vancouver, and would definitely stay at the Metropolitan Hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I booked the room for 2 adults and a 10 year old using HotWire. The poor kid had to sleep on some flimsy cod that kept falling down all the time - it also barely fit inside the room. It didn't help that the room was extremely tiny and really dated. Also, the parking is a complete rip off, at $40 a day it's double the rate in the buildings nearby. If you have a car and you're travelling with a child you're better off staying in one of the 5* hotels in downtown than at the Met.

Room Tip: small, dated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Mango-Limes,
Thank you for taking the time to send us your thoughts regarding your recent experience at the Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver. I am sorry to hear your stay was less than stellar.
I truly regret that your child's cot was not functioning properly and I have followed up with my team to ensure that such a situation does not recur. Our pricing on our parking is comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good value given our central location and free valet. We regret that this was not your impression and offer our apologies.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write to us.

Sincerely,
Joe Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Metropolitan's location is perfect; downtown, close to everything! The service was excellent from the doorman, to the front desk, housekeeping & room service! The room is a nice size and has iPod player/charger, good internet and a deep tub. I will be back!

Room Tip: Love their 1 bedroom suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Arrived late morning after 21 hrs flying from Australia. Took the air train from Vancouver airport and arrived pretty tired. Greeted by friendly and welcoming staff and into bedroom very quickly. Room was clean with nice view from 15th floor over city. Looking forward to rest of stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We spent an evening in town and stayed the night. I found the service to be excellent. When we came down from our room to head out, it was raining. I asked to borrow an umbrella - but they were out. However, without hesitation the Concierge told me to wait, ran up to my room, and grabbed the umbrella from my closet. To me this was a distinct service difference that sets the Met above other hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Address: 645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#18 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#18 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver - a luxury Vancouver hotel with a superb downtown location and yet at the same time positioned against a serene mountain backdrop. The hotel’s convenient downtown Vancouver location is surrounded by all the pleasures and excitement that one of Canada’s finest cities has to offer, whether you come for business or pleasure. Make yourself at home in one of the Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver's 197 luxurious, elegantly appointed hotel rooms and suites, complete with spacious marble washrooms, separate glass showers and soaker tubs. The Vancouver hotel also offers 7,600 sq. ft. of conference and banquet facilities designed to accommodate 10 to 250. And, of course, nothing will satiate your appetite better than Diva at the Met restaurant, featuring Vancouver's finest cuisine, celebrated Chef's Table and distinguished wine cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Metropolitan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.