We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You cant go wrong with this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Save Saved
You added Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
Fort St. John, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“You cant go wrong with this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the Met in November and was an excellent experience! To start the location is excellent - you are minutes away from a mall, all kinds of shops, restaurants, bars, whatever your looking for is near by! Excellent service is provided as soon as the front door is opened for you. The hotel is clean and rooms are nice. We took an upgrade to a Jr. suite and we were glad we did! A large seperate living room with a lot of storage, a wall that's mostly a glass window (ours faced the pool and gym of the Four Seasons) with a large full size mirror. Tinted sliding french doors seperate a large bed room that was equiped with plush white bedding, an ipod docker and 2 complimentary bottles of water were replenished each evening at turndown. The bathroom was very spaceous had a bathtub and seperate marble shower with a built in chair... I heard the onsite restaurant 'Diva at the Met' is excellent however we wanted to try the YEW restaurant at the Four Seasons. Gas Town is a short walk away as well as Robson and Granville Street. My boyfriend and I travel to Vancouver frequently and like to try new places each time but I will be hard to go elsewhere after staying at The Met!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    677
    291
    60
    17
    9
See reviews for
128
473
81
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, B.C.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

For a tourist, the location of this hotel is perfect. It is positioned between two skytrain stations within easy walking distance. Their dining options are somewhat limited but the area is surrounded by reasonably priced restaurants as well as a number of pubs that serve relatively low cost pub fare. The hotel itself is reasonably well updated and includes the essentials such as free Internet and has an indoor spa and swimming pool. Of course none of this comes free and there is any dollar charge for the use of their facilities where do you use them or not. I object to this fee and feel it is just a way of increasing the room rate in a clandestine fashion. Parking a car is also rather expensive although probably in line with other hotels at $40 a night including taxes. Door and counter staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and reasonably quiet for a downtown location.

Room Tip: Rooms fronting on Howe street are likely noisier than the rest of the hotel. Higher up is obviously...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The lobby might need a little update, but the room seemed a little bit more modern, the heat in the room was a little hard to adjust because the control is still "analog". The bathroom is very elegant (shower and bathtub). There is a minibar with several snacks a lot of beverages in the mini-fridge.
I would say this hotel is a very good choice for price and location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is absolutely a First Class hotel in the center of Vancouver. All staff were very couteous and helpful, the rooms and facilities were impeccable and the atmosphere was warm and relaxing. The hotel's restaurant (Diva's), with its professional staff and remarkable food, is truly a fitting complement to this 'home away from home'. All it takes is one stay amd you will be back.

Room Tip: Just ask - there is no 'bad room'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We got our night at the Metropolitan off of Hotwire. I was nervous because once I found out the hotel name, I found their cheapest room had twin beds. This was going to be an anniversary stay for us and twin beds would not have worked. I called the hotel to confirm the reservation and was nicely surprised to find that we had been upgraded to a room with a King sized bed. We headed down to the hotel and was met by the doorman and concierge who were very kind and helpful. This was the pattern of everyone we met with the hotel. The seemed to want to go out of their way for us to have a good, no a great stay. Check-in was quick and painless, and then we headed to our room. What a great room. The bathroom was HUGE. Had a separate shower and bathtub, and the mirrors stay clear no matter how long you shower. Great amenities in the room, flat screen TV, cordless phone, robe. Everything we needed. The hotel also has an indoor pool and hot tub, but we never did make it down. Oh, one last thing, the internet was great and free. We had a fantastic stay and would go again in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

First impressions were good but through the night the room air seemed dry and it was difficult to adjust the heat because the controls have not gone digital yet. The linens and marble bathroom were lovely, but other than the built-ins in the entranceway, the room decor seemed tired and not really worthy of a 4* designation. The smoke detector was one of those old yellowing plastic ones, the lighting was not soft or adjustable, it was difficult to read by, and it was not possible to adjust the lighting in a low ambient romantic way. The headboard was red tufted fabric which i find outdated and a little unsanitary and the tiny chaise lounge was pretty to look at but not so good for seating two. The cabinetry in the room did not match the wood built in at the entrance, so the tiny room looked like it needed a designer. Instead of a typical one piece modern entertainment unit, the flat screen tv was on an awkward and unattractive black wheeled stand which looked out of place. Because this is a somewhat tony hotel I expected better art but it was dull and unimaginative and much too small for the walls and the contemporary feel they should be trying to achieve. Small things, but it didn't feel as top notch as the lobby and photos would have you think. The perks are the excellent location, warm lap pool, small balcony, fine linens and pillows, free wifi, friendly staff and good customer service at reception. although the bonus is the Diva At the Met food service which was truly wonderful! It was simply outstanding affordable, and available 24 hours a day. I'd return for the food alone at the price we paid through Hotwire but the 'luxury' King room was an upgrade and quite disappointing for the reputation the Metropolitan has.

Room Tip: We were on the busy Howe St side and it was quiet with the windows/doors closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

As usual, my experience at the Met Hotel was perfect. From the front desk reception, to the rooms, the Diva Restaurant and the Concierge. I stay there every time I am in Vancouver and have no reason to change. Its great location to great restaurants and bars are another feature of this location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Address: 645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver - a luxury Vancouver hotel with a superb downtown location and yet at the same time positioned against a serene mountain backdrop. The hotel’s convenient downtown Vancouver location is surrounded by all the pleasures and excitement that one of Canada’s finest cities has to offer, whether you come for business or pleasure. Make yourself at home in one of the Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver's 197 luxurious, elegantly appointed hotel rooms and suites, complete with spacious marble washrooms, separate glass showers and soaker tubs. The Vancouver hotel also offers 7,600 sq. ft. of conference and banquet facilities designed to accommodate 10 to 250. And, of course, nothing will satiate your appetite better than Diva at the Met restaurant, featuring Vancouver's finest cuisine, celebrated Chef's Table and distinguished wine cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Metropolitan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.